General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems President  Chris Brady
Chris Brady
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work with cutting edge technology, great benefits, flexible 9/80 schedule(in 82 reviews)

  • "Very understanding of work/life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management drama and backstabbing(in 42 reviews)

  • "Senior management poor relationship with employees(in 31 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of General Dynamics Mission Systems and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      GDMS is a Top Notch Company to Work For!

      Apr 24, 2021 - Security Analyst in Chantilly, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential for Advancement, Benefits, Pay, Great management

      Cons

      Limited number of job openings, Few Bonuses given.

      1 person found this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      WOW! We’re very fortunate to have a wonderful team. Thank you for being a part of our ongoing success and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We have an ongoing commitment to review every aspect of our company including our compensation structure and career progression. If you have specific ideas, please contact us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Feb 2, 2021 - Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing work/life balance with flexible schedule

      Cons

      Program constraints can be hard to navigate

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Wow! We are dedicated to making General Dynamics Mission Systems a great place to work and appreciate your recognition of our continued efforts. Thank you!

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not the best, but it's a decent place to work

      Apr 20, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer I in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good health care benefits - Fairly generous PTO - Clear salary ranges - Quarterly check-ins to ensure you're on track to meet goals - Clear system for promotions and raises (ask your manager and/or check the hub)

      Cons

      - Time tracking to 6 minutes, everything needs a charge code. - Promotions are limited to one level per year. If you start at the bottom this doesn't work that well. - Must fill out goals and tasks throughout the year for a promotion or decent raise. Not everyone knows this. - People who were rated "strong" given low raises (below inflation).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you for your detailed feedback. We’re very fortunate to have a wonderful team. Paying competitive salaries and bonuses – not to mention offering competitive benefits – is critical for any organization. Rest assured, we are listening and we annually review our compensation. We are committed to making sure our people are promoted and compensated for being the very best… because that’s what they are. If you have specific ideas, please contact us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com. We wish you the best of luck in future endeavors.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Nice but unexciting

      May 3, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I always felt like I was compensated fairly for my work and there were seldom demands for overtime. PTO and other benefits were good and in line with what I'd expect for the industry. Work also felt very reliable; seemed you could often just move between projects there as they reached their conclusion so job security was nice.

      Cons

      Development practices are (in some cases by necessity) pretty old fashioned. This extends to management and corporate policies too. Hourly time tracking was required which was tedious and annoying for a salaried position. There was no real flexibility from a 40 hour work week.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Thanks for your feedback. We’re always looking for ways to improve our career environment. The fact is, finding new ways to keep everyone engaged and motivated is just as important to us as it is to you. We have ongoing efforts to enhance our culture and your ideas are more than welcome. Reach out to us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Continuous Improvement

      Apr 25, 2021 - Senior Systems Engineer/Project Manager in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Desire across the company to improve at all levels and angles

      Cons

      Sometimes takes a mountain's worth of effort to change or improve something when it should take a mustard seed worth of effort

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Wow! Thank you for your review and your loyalty to General Dynamics Mission Systems. Working together, we can make a great company even better and appreciate the ideas you provided for our management team. We will share these internally and if you have any other thoughts please reach out to us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great culture and environment

      Apr 19, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people are very friendly and easy to work with. There are great perks like 9/80 and flex schedules. It is pretty stable so losing jobs is not a fear. You will transferred to a new project if one looses funding.

      Cons

      Choice of project is limited due to staffing requirements. Software tools and packages are limited due to security requirements. It is also annoying to charge time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you for your review and your loyalty. We are dedicated to making General Dynamics Mission Systems a great place to work, which includes annually reviewing our technology platforms. Working together, we can make a great company even better.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid all around. Excellent for work-life balance

      Apr 17, 2021 - Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Impeccable work-life balance. Work always felt reasonable and I liked my coworkers. Overall a pleasant place to work.

      Cons

      If you're not into the ethics of the defense industry then work might not feel good. Culture feels a little old-man white-bread. There isn't a lot of room for a high-performing worker to move up quickly in the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Thanks for your feedback. Our 9/80 schedule enables our teams to have a better work/life balance and we are glad you enjoyed it. We’re always looking for ways to improve our career environment, including our focus on professional development and career progression. Your ideas are more than welcome. Reach out to us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hidden Gem

      May 3, 2021 - Strategy 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture, especially through Covid, has been incredibly respectful.

      Cons

      None that i can think of!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Enjoyed working there.

      Apr 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with a group of great folks always ready to work to get the job done. Good benefits, and supportive and positive management team.

      Cons

      Matrix organization could be bureaucratic, and frustrating at times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you for the kind words. We value feedback to ensure we are continuing to grow and evolve. If you have any additional feedback regarding your experience, please email TalentSupply@gd-ms.com.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      GDMS Tech Manager

      Apr 22, 2021 - Technical Manager in Pittsfield, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Innovative solutions for DOD customers. People genuinely believe in the mission and want to make the customer successful. Balanced between tenured, mid career and new hire workforce.

      Cons

      Insular culture that does not reach to the industry for best practices. Lack of visionary leadership at the senior leadership level. A lot of strong managers but not a lot of true leaders. Organization relies on a handful of technical leaders to establish process, execution and development. This strains those few critical employees and does not create a strong network around them to support them.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      Thanks for your review and your thoughts. Developing mission-critical systems that help keep people safe is what we do and as you know, our team takes this seriously. But, we also know we have areas for improvement and we have committed to building the skills of each employee, including our leaders by offering a number of professional development programs. If you have specific ideas, please contact us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,235 Reviews

    Popular Careers with General Dynamics Mission Systems Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Entry Level Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Entry Level Mechanical Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Advanced Systems Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineering Project Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at General Dynamics Mission Systems? Share Your Experiences

    or