General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
23 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth, work balance, life balance, people

    Cons

    Location, not many cons to report

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-29
  2. "Normal corporate work schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNC Machinist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, lots of time off, flexible working schedule.

    Cons

    You’re just a number.... each day feels the exact same. Nothing exciting is going to happen. Very repetitive and standers corporate job

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-09-02
  3. "Billing Spec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist 

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Experience has been a benefit.

    Cons

    Pay has been a negative

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great tech, better culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work on truly cutting edge technology in defense of the nation, good ideas rise to the top, comparatively low internal corporate bureaucracy.

    Cons

    Still more bureaucratic than purely commercial endeavors, workforce diversity (age, gender, and race) is improving but needs to be better.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing new... hire young, hungry engineers, deliberately find/create unclassified programs for them to work while waiting for security clearance approval.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-06-05
  5. "Base engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and very competitive benefits.

    Cons

    Regulations regarding some of the projects.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-05-25
  6. "Se. Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, encourages innovation and listens to other opinions.

    Cons

    Salary on low side and some managers lacking understanding of U.S. military, not having served themselves.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-05-14
  7. "Depends Entirely on the Federal Program on Which You Are Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good big company benefits, PTO accrual is standard for the industry, reasonably flexible working hours accommodating to individual circumstances. Technically, the work is entirely dependent on the program/project you're working on. Could be cutting edge, could be maintaining legacy code.

    Cons

    This is a big defense contractor and the wheels turn slowly. Although GDMS often touts Agile there is still quite a bit of top-down, waterfall methodology around. Sometimes the culture is very risk averse and stodgy. Although I would not dissuade a recent college grad from working here, keep in mind the development environment is very process oriented, lots of overhead. (These are complex systems for the military... and intelligence communities, after all.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up with the R&D, shake up middle managers with some Agile training, let the engineers talk to the customers (Agile!) and buy some more modern office furniture.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Forever grateful for my time at GDMS Viz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I really can't imagine a better place to start out my career and was with the Viz office for almost 11 years. I was surrounded by incredibly talented and friendly people who were more than happy to share their knowledge with me. On top of that I was faced with complex problems that challenged me, got to work with some of the latest web technologies and distributed systems before they were common place, and was... provided with leadership and recruiting opportunities. Additionally, with there being many projects in the office I had the chance to move around, try new things, and gain new experiences. Office management does a great job of looking out for you as well and truly cared about my well being. They only ask that you work hard and are open and honest with them in return. The work life balance and office culture are great as well. It is probably worth noting that the only reason I left the company is to pursue a once in a lifetime opportunity that I simply couldn't pass up and would absolutely consider coming back if things don't work out.

    Show More

    Cons

    GDMS is a defense contractor, and with that comes some annoyances that are just part of government contracts. That said office management does an excellent job of shielding their employees from as much of that as they can. Also, over the years salary compensation has fallen a little behind other top notch jobs in Pittsburgh, but I know office management is working hard to change that and I suspect they will be back... ahead of the curve in the not too distant future. Even still, compensation is fairly competitive, if not ahead of most software development companies in the area.

    Show More
    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-07
  9. "First year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Lot of experience. Great first job and hands on.

    Cons

    Not a fast paced environment.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-11
  10. "Good benefits, good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-I in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health and dental insurance. Decent PTO. Above average pay.

    Cons

    There is a lot of bureaucracy. It can help but often harms productivity.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-28
Found 1042 reviews