General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
22 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth, work balance, life balance, people

    Cons

    Location, not many cons to report

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-29
  2. "Solid company, great people, lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to try new roles and learn new things. Solid company with great job security.

    Cons

    No down sides worth mentioning

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lower than average wages."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems

    Pros

    Pretty good benefits & some great people to work with.

    Cons

    Way less than average pay & hard to get a job promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all people in each location the same.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-10-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hard place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed the work and the people I worked with.

    Cons

    A lot of layoffs. Coming to work was hard not knowing if you were next.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-10-08
  5. "outgoing review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Systems Administrator 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional and friendly staff, flexible work hours

    Cons

    behind on using up to date technologies and software, but security was good

    Advice to Management

    invest more in staff and technology

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-10-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Caution: Lobotomizing Underway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some smart people and some decent benefits

    Cons

    New company president is getting rid of anyone who doesn't think like him. Lots of very good people are being shown the door, creating fear and angst among those who remain. Survival means averting eye contact, keeping your head down and mouth shut, and bobbing your head up and down in agreement. Cronyism and passive-egressive behavior abound.

    Advice to Management

    Rise up and lead GDMS employees out of this repressive regime. We had a great company once.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-09-25
  7. "Great place to work, great benefits, slow growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, supportive leadership, ability to work from home whenever I want, top of the line technology. Will pay for almost any certification I would want to get to enhance my skills.

    Cons

    Room for growth in this company requires you stay for 10+ years and then get the big bump up. Raises are minimal yearly no more than 3%.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-09-23
  8. "Normal corporate work schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNC Machinist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, lots of time off, flexible working schedule.

    Cons

    You’re just a number.... each day feels the exact same. Nothing exciting is going to happen. Very repetitive and standers corporate job

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-09-02
  9. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and flex working

    Cons

    Coffee machines increased to 20p

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-08-21
  10. "Good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work Life balance is good depending on managment

    Cons

    Advancement is difficult. HR seems to prevent promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on performance not policy

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-08-20
Found 1040 reviews