General Dynamics Mission Systems Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

General Dynamics Mission Systems Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
5 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Really important work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Taunton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A committed, patriotic workforce. Lots of locations and varied projects, if you’re inclined to roam. Adopting Agile on most new projects. 9/80 schedule. 100% 401k match.

    Cons

    Not much to speak of other than it’s a large defense contractor with a lot of rules such as timekeeping.

    Advice to Management

    Try to flatten out the management structure a bit. Too many layers drives too many meetings and wasted time.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-09-07
  2. "Depends Entirely on the Federal Program on Which You Are Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good big company benefits, PTO accrual is standard for the industry, reasonably flexible working hours accommodating to individual circumstances. Technically, the work is entirely dependent on the program/project you're working on. Could be cutting edge, could be maintaining legacy code.

    Cons

    This is a big defense contractor and the wheels turn slowly. Although GDMS often touts Agile there is still quite a bit of top-down, waterfall methodology around. Sometimes the culture is very risk averse and stodgy. Although I would not dissuade a recent college grad from working here, keep in mind the development environment is very process oriented, lots of overhead. (These are complex systems for the military and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up with the R&D, shake up middle managers with some Agile training, let the engineers talk to the customers (Agile!) and buy some more modern office furniture.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-11
  3. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with cool technology Good Salary Good PTO

    Cons

    Poor employee investment Work life culture

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-22
  4. "Software Test Engineer at GD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    They use the 9/80 system which gives you every other Friday off.

    Cons

    Management lies about converting contract workers to permanent positions. Project management is horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your fingers on the pulse and know what your subordinates are doing. Don't rely on team leads or project managers to do your job for you.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-06-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Some projects are great, but most are dull"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Startup culture, flexible hours, great people

    Cons

    Dull work a lot of times

    Advice to Management

    Bring in better projects

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-05-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Forever grateful for my time at GDMS Viz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I really can't imagine a better place to start out my career and was with the Viz office for almost 11 years. I was surrounded by incredibly talented and friendly people who were more than happy to share their knowledge with me. On top of that I was faced with complex problems that challenged me, got to work with some of the latest web technologies and distributed systems before they were common place, and was provided...

    Show More

    Cons

    GDMS is a defense contractor, and with that comes some annoyances that are just part of government contracts. That said office management does an excellent job of shielding their employees from as much of that as they can. Also, over the years salary compensation has fallen a little behind other top notch jobs in Pittsburgh, but I know office management is working hard to change that and I suspect they will be back ahead...

    Show More
    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-07
  7. "Good benefits, good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-I in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health and dental insurance. Decent PTO. Above average pay.

    Cons

    There is a lot of bureaucracy. It can help but often harms productivity.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Adequate First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people. Big company with some options if you've got the desire. Good work/life balance with many people putting in 40.0 hours per week. Flexible time-off.

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy. Things don't get done very fast and the communication with management can be slow. Lots of older engineers using older technologies that were deemed safe and reliable years many years ago.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-04
  9. "software engineer review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems

    Pros

    teamwork, close knit, good environment, well paid, easy to learn, great experience

    Cons

    sometimes unclear what they wanted from us, not enough oversight from full time employees, sometimes neglected, not enough mentors

    Advice to Management

    make sure there are more mentors

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-18
  10. "Work is Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Upper Management is pretty good Engineering Management is moving toward Agile

    Cons

    Often get switched from project to project

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-27
Found 160 reviews