General Dynamics Mission Systems Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

General Dynamics Mission Systems Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 21 de Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
2 Ratings
  1. "Systems Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Systems Engineer Intern in Pittsfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive Environment Encourage Growth Opportunities to Make a Difference

    Cons

    Surrounding Town of Pittsfield Rainy Weather Housing Availability

    Advice to Management

    Support more recreational facilities in the surrounding area. Keep up the supportive culture.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-10-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "really bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in Pittsfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    commute, clean air, 1-2 nice people.

    Cons

    managers are idiots, everybody is related.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is competitive and the benefits are great

    Cons

    Being a remote site, you tend to be forgotten.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and continually communicate with employees.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-06-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Pittsfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and secure job

    Cons

    Boring with no real engineering work

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people more

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-05-24
  5. "Not a bad company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Advanced Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits, good start out pay

    Cons

    Raises not great, no bonus

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-07
  6. "Systems Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Systems Engineer in Pittsfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    People at the company were really great to be around. The work was challenging and rewarding.

    Cons

    Not a lot of mentorship, yet very strict culture.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Only gig in town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advanced Systems Engineer in Pittsfield, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fairly large employer for such a small town

    Cons

    Senior management doesn't seem to notice that the economy has recovered. Salaries have stayed stagnant and talent is leaving for opportunities in other locales.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-10-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Systems Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems

    Pros

    Flexible, decent benefits, lateral movement is possible to explore what you are interested in. If you show you are interested, they will see it and you will be given opportunities.

    Cons

    I don’t see many cons. Benefits could be a little better. Really it’s a great company. Will be interesting to see how it looks once the rollover of military defense comes.

    Advice to Management

    None

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-03-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Systems Engineer II in Pittsfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The money - that's it

    Cons

    Poor communication of what you will be evaluated for in the performance review Lack of appreciation of talent and hard work Lack of diversity Lack of trust between management and employee Poor workforce planning Work can change depending on contract

    Advice to Management

    So much potential yet so wasted... Mend your ways while you can. You're going to loose out on top talent if you don't treat them well.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-01-31
  10. "Amazing Internship with Brilliant Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Systems Engineering in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    The engineers I worked with were absolutely brilliant. The internship program throws students right into real work. I was given a project that allowed me to learn a great deal and become the subject matter expert for that project; not an opportunity I have seen at any of my other internships. My manager was flexible, a coach, and overall a great guy. While the company is technical and fast-paced, they prioritize... family and take sustainable measures to make sure their employees don't burn out.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is clearance involved and obviously you need to be comfortable working with the government.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome. Also, reach out to schools a little more so more students know about the opportunities.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-10-28
Found 113 reviews