KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

General Dynamics

Engaged Employer

General Dynamics

Add a Review

General Dynamics Employee Reviews about "general dynamics"

Updated Oct 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 714 reviews

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics CEO Phebe N. Novakovic
Phebe N. Novakovic
181 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits with an excellent PTO offering(in 66 reviews)
  • "Great people and work you can be proud of.(in 51 reviews)
  • "pay is good for the job(in 40 reviews)
  • "Great work environment and boss(in 12 reviews)
  • "Large company with some security and good salaries(in 11 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of General Dynamics and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "general dynamics"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    work with the latest technology and contribute to our national defense while at the same time making a decent salary

    Jun 13, 2008 - Lead Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics can provide one with the opportunity to work with the latest technology and contribute to our national defense while at the same time making a decent salary. The work can be fascinating at times.

    Cons

    The upper management (at least in GD-AIS) were mostly promoted from within. Their level of accomplishment was at best average during their years in middle management and program management yet some of them display a remarkable degree of arrogance now that they are in senior positions. It can be hard to tolerate at times...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Aug 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics is a great place to work the environment is welcoming and the managers are friendly. They hire like crazy!

    Cons

    You move up too fast! It is a nice place to work at only bad thing is over time is limited

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Aug 10, 2016 - Semi Retired in Westminster, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics looks for contracts that provide great working environments and the work teams are all really dedicated, from my experience. If you like Teamwork environments, GDIT is a great employer. They also attempt to assist with re-positioning if the contract ends.

    Cons

    Since GDIT contracts out employees to other companies, there is no guarantee how long you will be employed, and no severance or pay for lost leave time is provided if you are laid off.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Review of General Dynamics

    Nov 7, 2009 - Project Analyst in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros to working at General Dynamics include the following: competitive salary, generous benefits, flexible work hours, and casual work dress code.

    Cons

    The culture is very engineering centric. The ability for advancement is somewhat limited if you are not from an engineering background.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Missions Operations Engineer at General Dynamics

    Apr 11, 2016 - Systems Engineer in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics is a well known defense contractor and a publicly traded company on NYSE.

    Cons

    I was treated terribly by General Dynamics. The managers were demeaning and unsupportative. Engineers were given huge responsibilities with little rewards. My work my first year at General Dynamics was top notch and I was given no raise. Management was top heavy and the real work was being done by employees and engineers. Overtime was expected with no compensation. The office was considered a 'sweat shop.' Women were treated unequally while African American engineers were absent from the workplace. A 'good old boy' atmosphere was persistent. Managers were not poor and lacked leadership skills. Overall I would.not recommend working here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    General Dynamics, 10 years behind the work place cultural times.

    Jun 11, 2008 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics has good job security. Being a defense contractor means there will be jobs until we have world peace. The benefits aren't too bad.

    Cons

    General Dynamics and the other military subcontractors can be a magnetic industry. That is, once you're in you can't get out and it can be difficult to get jobs elsewhere. What people do at GD often doesn't translate to corporate work due to cultural and technology differences. There are exceptions to this and some pockets where amazing stuff happens. In many parts of the company it's not fun to be at work and most of the employees I've spoken with don't really want to work there. They are there because they have nothing else going on or are comfortable.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Mechanial Engineer

    Jun 21, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics has great management that tries hard to be honest and supportive.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, there is little opportunity for telecommuting.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company to start out with.

    May 11, 2014 - Risk Coordinator in California, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people employed by General Dynamics are great, and always willing to share their knowledge. Every employee I met was one of the most knowledgeable in their field if not the best.

    Cons

    Management wasn't the strongest, several of them didn't seem happy to be there or didn't want management jobs in the first place. Some folks who were management and wanted to be there left me mystified with their decisions. Heard stories about team leads hired on after I left running things into the ground. Gentleman who became my director shortly before I left changed his attitude completely after announcing I was leaving for another company. What surprised me was months earlier he told me to move up in the industry, I'd have to get experience on different projects and I wouldn't be able to get that at General Dynamics. Raises were pretty small as well, that was part of why I left.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to work

    Dec 6, 2010 - Electrical Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    General Dynamics takes care of its employees. At GD you will be able to work on some of the most complex projects in the world.

    Cons

    Working at such a large company, you tend to get lost in the woodwork. If you want to make it you need to speak out and stick up for yourself.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews

Popular Careers with General Dynamics Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at General Dynamics? Share Your Experiences

or

General Dynamics Photos

+ Add Photo
General Dynamics photo of: General Dynamics NASSCO shipyard
General Dynamics photo of: GDIT 2019 Interns