General Employment Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

General Employment Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Employment CEO Derek Dewan (no image)
Derek Dewan
1 Ratings
  1. "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Employment full-time

    Pros

    I've had nothing but a positive work environment since starting at general employment. The managers have done anything and everything to help me advance and achieve my goals while being understanding of me having a young child. They are considerate and really care about you at the end of the day. You do not find many places anymore who truly care about their employees.

    Cons

    I seriously have nothing negative to say concerning GEE Group!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the engaging attitudes and doing the best you can to make the office as great as possible!

    General Employment2018-05-31
  2. "Recuiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at General Employment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management support for staff.

    Cons

    poor pay, low co-missions to start.

    General Employment2018-12-14
  3. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Employment

    Pros

    Trusted, ethical firm with a long history and broad reach covering engineering and business related recruiting.

    Cons

    Centrally managed from IL, Old school,

    Advice to Management

    Modernize recruiter training!

    General Employment2018-02-28
  4. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Employment full-time

    Pros

    close to where I live

    Cons

    no sense of team culture

    General Employment2017-05-25
  5. "My Second Time Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Columbus, OH

    I have been working at General Employment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The training that is provided here is excellent and is the best basic and ongoing training that I have seen in over 25 years as a Recruiter.. The earnings potential is unlimited and the benefits are very good. . The atmosphere in the office is very positive and everyone on the team contributes to the Office's success.. This is my second time around with the Company and I am glad I came back.

    Cons

    This is a job that rewards you if you follow the basics and can handle rejection..

    General Employment2017-03-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "I should've followed my instincts when reading the other bad reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Employment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I do not feel this company has any pros to offer.

    Cons

    This company (Columbus, OH office), is a pure example of a Management/Employee situation, & management controlling every situation because of a TITLE! You are told up front that this is a "team", & it is anything but that! You are told when to send to emails, how to word things on the phone during "Power Hour" (which management doesn't even partake in), & you are expected to act as a robot & a liar to clients that... come through the door. I was also not compensated with my commissions earned, even after payment had already been received by the company for my placement. The training was an absolute joke!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ACT as a team player, don't just manage!

    General Employment2017-03-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personnel Consultant in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Employment for more than a year

    Pros

    General Employment provides ongoing training and support. You are given a framework for success and the freedom to develop your own personal style. Commissions are uncapped, and while they start low they rise quickly the more you produce. There is no cost for access to databases, clients, or candidates, and no overhead costs. All you have to do is work hard and good things will happen.

    Cons

    This is a sales job and requires hard work. You have to be able to deal with setbacks. You will be expected to function as part of a team. And you will be expected to produce. But this is a sales job and that's what we're there for.

    General Employment2016-06-08
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible Company, with NO values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Employment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is potential to make good money.

    Cons

    A tumultuous work environment, where you are constantly told to "run this like it's your own business", but you are NOT allowed to do anything without permission, or having someone look over your shoulder. A revolving door of recruiters, and clients that do not want to come back. You receive a week of vacation after one year of employment.

    Advice to Management

    Follow your own employment agreement and pay out commissions that are rightfully earned to your recruiters!

    General Employment2016-05-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at General Employment full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyable work environment, other than that there was not much else

    Cons

    Lack of stability, little to no training provided, constant upper management shifting, each branch is like a revolving door.

    General Employment2016-03-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Consultant/Job Recruiter in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Employment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential opportunity to make money

    Cons

    Terrible work environment. Afraid to even talk to other employees without being reprimanded. Unachievable expectations and many clients they have worked with in the past refuse to do business with them again.

    Advice to Management

    Change your ways.

    General Employment2016-04-03
Found 16 reviews