General Mills Business Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Business Analyst

General Mills Business Analyst Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
5 Ratings
  1. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very supportive, collaborative environment. They have a strong focus on developing employees to continuously improve throughout their career.

    Cons

    Minneapolis is cold in the winter. Recently the company has gone through several transformations which included layoffs.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-08-09
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Equal pay, Great for working mothers, Flexible work arrangement, Competitive Benefits

    Cons

    I am a current employee

    General Mills2019-01-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best people I have worked with, General Mills hires some of the best and brightest employees and most everyone is willing to do the extra to help each other.

    Cons

    Budgets are so tight they nickel dime every decision. Management is focused mostly on protecting their turf and jobs that the individual contributor gets stuck trying to make up for bad decisions.

    General Mills2018-05-08
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Losing faith - starting to look elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was one of the best companies in the world before tough times and poor leadership damaged its legacy. Wonderful people, smart, challenging. Great ethics.

    Cons

    It's hard to keep the faith at General Mills, especially after this week. The company announced it is ending the pension plan they stopped offering new employees four years ago. In 10 years, you can no longer accrue more benefits. They will switch to enhanced 401k for portability. This makes little sense if you are older and a bit of extra 401k matching would never come near what they have cut. It's a hard pill to swallow having not gone job hunting through several rounds of layoffs and a year where leadership admitted the made some mistakes. If they are willing to cut benefits every few years, along with people, approach cautiously. They just targeted staff with 4-20 years of experience and you may be next. Yes I was blessed to have a pension at all, but that is the compensation we agreed to. And yes, I have time to change plans and save more, but I would have preferred a no raise year for everyone instead of just us experienced staff having to put more away. I would certainly worry about working at a company that keeps increasing its dividends, but not profit or volume. Additionally the new performance policy forces managers to fit you into a curve. Awesome if you are the guaranteed small percentage of winners. Less so if you fall to the mandatory low-performers.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are caring, creative, efficient and great to work with.

    Cons

    Management seems to have no idea what people do and why resources spend time on support vs projects. No work life balance, with lots of weekend work.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-02-08
  6. "Great Culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at General Mills for less than a year

    Pros

    Very stable and management seems very approchable

    Cons

    Contracts jobs are for short period of time

    General Mills2014-05-20
  7. "A company of professional, productive optimists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fearless "producer" mentality without a "boiler room" environment Very respectful of work style Sharp focus on getting things done through sustainable relationships Incredible facilities and benefits

    Cons

    "Kool Aid" culture; try to fit in or you won't be happy Entrepenurial: very little training Relationship-based: must build a network quickly Very rigid HR paths and new employee pipelines

    Continue reading
    General Mills2012-08-08
  8. "A family for 9-5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers are your friend and well wishers they make sure your Individual Development Plan is taken in consideration with seriousness as they take business. You are expected to make mistakes and learn from them, not everything can be learned unless you failed at first. Always ask if in doubt

    Cons

    Pay less as compared to competitors in Industry

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-05-23
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. USP of the place is the worklife balance it offers.

    Cons

    Could not think of any for now

    General Mills2019-05-04
  10. "Good place and great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career Growth guaranteed and better worklife balance

    Cons

    None that i know of

    General Mills2019-02-19
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews