General Mills Retail Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Retail Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
1 Rating
  1. "Really wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known products, respected company and enthusiastic, fun, fair coworkers.

    Cons

    Higher salary & quarterly bonuses would motivate the sales force.

    General Mills2017-10-26
  2. "Good Company, bad timing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, great benefits, good work life balance, company car

    Cons

    Reduction of sales force, got laid off from a job I truly enjoyed

    Continue reading
    General Mills2018-08-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "No loyalty to employees that have years in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work- Life balance, company car. Vacation and holidays are great. Seasoned employees help eachother. Health benefits are ok. Cell and dsl allowance.

    Cons

    Young kids in management positions that know nothing. The company is headed down a very shaky path and I can see more job losses soon. Stop worrying about timing your reps in stores and let us manage our territories and sell. Walmart Team has taken all the selling opportunities away.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-09-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Gen Mills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Good benefit with a stable company. Low stress.

    Cons

    Low salaries, low bonus. NO promotion opportunities. NOW on in store timer/GPS.

    General Mills2016-09-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary, benefits; medical/dental, perks

    Cons

    no promotional advancement opportunity for Sales Reps

    General Mills2015-08-11
  6. "Retail Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Flexible, great working environment, company car, fuel card, great people

    Cons

    Low pay but great benefits

    General Mills2015-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nationally known and ranked company.

    Cons

    Field sales can seemed isolated from the headquarter's culture. No advancement opportunities unless you are at HQ or willing to relocate.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2013-11-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Some good some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Less benefits in the past but still better than most

    Cons

    Low pay for amount of work. Not much chance for advancement. Work load keeps going up but salary doesn't keep pace

    Continue reading
    General Mills2013-05-19
  9. "I work hard for my money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great - medical, 401k, company vehicle. Flexibility of field location - work from home office. Company is well respected.

    Cons

    Poorly designed and ever changing sales territories. Lack of opportunity to advance or even make a lateral change within company with this position. IDP is a waste of time.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2013-02-25
  10. "General Mills is an outstanding organization with great business values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    General Mills has great values & ethics.

    Cons

    Work at retail is fast paced with a constant flow of new products.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2009-01-02
Found 13 reviews