General Mills Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1824 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
199 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No Work life balance due to work shifts(in 93 reviews)

  • "Decision making tension between region & local markets hasn't been fully resolved yet(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Go for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Job inside nice temperatures

    Cons

    Late days all the time

    General Mills2019-06-03
  2. "Great culture, poor outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager 

    I worked at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Smart and dedicated people Good benefits/perks

    Cons

    Leadership team not doing what it takes to save the business

    General Mills2019-06-12
  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at General Mills full-time

      Pros

      Great community and benefits

      Cons

      Currently don’t have anything

      General Mills2019-05-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "great company to learn from then move on"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Customer Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good, not great benefits. Opportunity for different roles.

      Cons

      slow to make changes to evolving consumer trends.

      General Mills2019-05-14
    • "Great Company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      They do a lot for their employees! Expanded maternity/paternity leave for employees. Great 401k program. A lot of opportunity for advancement.

      Cons

      Packaged food industry is extremely competitive so hard to max out bonus.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work. Focus on innovation and getting the right people in the right jobs. Makes a huge difference!

      General Mills2019-05-12
    • "Great place with great place and plenty of opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Marketing Associate in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Hard working culture, growing mindset, work with fun brands, can develop a career here

      Cons

      Very competitive in some areas, can be political in some spots

      General Mills2019-05-02
    • "Great place to work but not perfect."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Forklift Operator in Wellston, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I have worked there for 4 years and have enjoyed my time there. It seems like the workers try to.make everything seem worse than it is then if something bad does happen they act like its the end of the world. Company had been constantly improving and with the exception of equipment in certain areas needing updated. The job is very good and easy. Add in pay and benefits and you cant lose going here.

      Cons

      Some stuff needs updated

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to employees complaints about equipment. We use it daily. You do not. We know when something isnt performing properly.

      General Mills2019-04-28
    • "Good experience, suboptimal work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Opportunity to run big businesses and brands

      Cons

      Under-titled based on scope of responsibility

      General Mills2019-04-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Challenging environment changing values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      People Competitive benefits Stable business (even with challenging environment)

      Cons

      Employees seen as overhead vs. resource Chasing quarterly targets Culture in slow steady decline

      General Mills2019-05-02
    • "Rapid Career Movement in first 5 years, slows down after that"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trade Planning Lead in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      career path structure, double-digit % pay bumps in first three years

      Cons

      location constricted, old school at times

      Advice to Management

      flexibility in remote roles

      General Mills2019-04-19
    Found 1824 reviews