General Mills Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

General Mills Team Leader Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
36%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "General Mills Team Leader II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader II in West Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    There is a high level of competency amongst the peer group, which I believe can be attributable to the tests taken during the interview process. Management was free to give you the reigns on projects or daily tactical responses, showing a high level of trust. The company size yields greater development opportunities.

    Cons

    We all worked a lot of hours 50+ per week. The work day was designed at 9 hours, then you may have to work an additional 5+ to accomplish other things you are working on, or hold meetings with different shifts.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2010-08-04
  2. "Covington has lost sight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Team Leader in Covington, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Simply put, the other technicians on the floor. Their the only bright spot on an otherwise dismal company.

    Cons

    Leadership has lost sight of what has always made Covington great. Our people and culture. Too many chiefs that seem to know it all straight out of college or other locations. Taking way too much away and trying to remain “competitive” in the local market as far as pay and benefits go, yet trying to claim a “World Class” title. Far from it.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-12-18
  3. "Good place to work if you’re an operator or upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are above average

    Cons

    Policies are not consistently enforced. Tenured operators run to upper management to moan and groan.

    General Mills2019-07-01
  4. "Great Company to work for, great benefits, healthcare is ok and I am salary so my 401k is matched 6 percent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Wellston, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The personal relationships are great, work is fast paced.

    Cons

    Too political, you have to show boat yourself and wave a flag to show you are something. When its time for performance reviews it is unfairly ranked

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-04-08
  5. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Wellston, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, hours, fellow team leaders and union employees

    Cons

    Some employees were set in their ways as they have been working there for so long and had problems with change.

    General Mills2019-04-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "General Mills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Team Leader in Belvidere, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They have a lot of good people working there. Safety and GMP were a focus.

    Cons

    Wages were a bit low. Upper management was disconnected from the reality on the plant floor but a new plant manager coming in may have changed that. High turnover in Team Leader roles.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-02-28
  7. "Overall Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Belvidere, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of leadership development.

    Cons

    Working nights over the weekends puts a big dent in your social life.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-05-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Hannibal, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with. People under and at the same pay grade as you are really.

    Cons

    Poor leadership. No direction for new employees. Upper management is only looking for what they can get out of you.

    General Mills2016-10-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Vineland, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Amazing development opportunities, valued work/life balance

    Cons

    A lot of plant leadership/managers are engineers and not formerly or informally trained in management. Upper management struggle with business and people leadership.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-09-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Organized Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader II in Murfreesboro, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Good benefits including payed time off.

    Cons

    Plant management team is very young and don't have the people skills to enforce accountability. Way too many meetings which leaves little time to do the actual job. Health care benefits offered to salary/exempt aren't as good and cost more than what they offer wage personnel.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-05-26
Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews