General Mills "decision making" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Employee Reviews about "decision making"

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
286 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in our digital age(in 97 reviews)

  • "The only con I can think of is that decision making company wide takes a long time for things to be implemented(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "decision making"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company with Priorities on Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    General Mills is a company with integrity and values, and they put the right amount of emphasis on work/life balance. Depending on your role, General Mills is very open to flexible work arrangements and understands the need for progressive work flex offerings in today's world. They also offer excellent benefits and development opportunities.

    Cons

    General Mills fosters an extremely collaborative environment, but that can sometimes slow down the decision-making process.

    General Mills2016-11-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work but shrinking and becoming like any other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great brands Great potential even with loss of many benefits, it is still very good

    Cons

    slow decision making short term vision unfortunately loss of innovation capabilities

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-10-10
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Culture, Management, and Business Environment are a Toxic Mix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Half day Fridays and you get to work with very smart people.

    Cons

    Culture and Values - The relationship based culture is talked about internally as a great competitive advantage and differentiator to new hires. The truth is this results in decision making being overly-political and moves at a snails pace. It’s not about doing the right thing; it’s about what is in that person’s career interest. There is no balance of risk-taking vs. accountability to results. Therefore decision making become very risk-averse. Similarly smart employees do not take on challenging roles; instead opting for roles that offer the most exposure, e.g. check-in meetings and coffee chats. Processes and Change - Company thinking is dominated by internal thinking and processes largely established in the 90s. External viewpoints and challenging the status quo are seen as negatives and are summarily dismissed. Change Management across board is the most common issue in the organization with many talented people and ideas wasted. The challenge of transitioning to act as more Global organization is exhibit #1. Offshoring of work while necessary to compete is not always thought through. For example complex work is not rationalized or worse yet given to non-qualified individuals often resulting in shadow work by US counterparts. Management – For the most part management and keys SMEs are dominated by people who have only worked at General Mills. That being said there are great leaders but they are minority and typically come from outside and struggle to bring positive change forward. Overall Managers are passive-aggressive, manage upwards/coddled, and are not receptive to critical feedback. For being a relationship-based organization, actual employee struggles are disregarded and employees are astrocized and subject to Midwestern-style reprisal by management and HR for speaking up. Organization launched a Great Manager initiative which is only window dressing on the underlying problem. Performance – The Organization due to the culture, size, and lock-in processes is unable to move fast enough to respond to the changing business environment. 90% of innovation the last few years has occurred via acquisition and in many cases we have overpaid per Wall Street. The organization will sustain itself through the strength of its historical brands and balance sheet but will continue to fade and struggle for growth. Work/Life Balance in certain roles can be atrocious especially with Mumbai-facing roles. To that end quality of work is not valued as much as who has or doesn’t have your back.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2019-09-27
  4. "Fantastic company, must work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    General Mills is embodies an environment for learning, growth, and success. One of my favorite companies to work for hands down. A true work / life balance and plenty of opportunities for growth and personal development.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that decision making company wide takes a long time for things to be implemented.

    General Mills2019-03-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Development Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with, you get a high level of support from your network, development programs, stretch assignments to grow your capabilities

    Cons

    Lack of decision making ability, movement is very slow, industry is not doing well, challenging to bring new ways of thinking to the table, pretty hierarchical reporting structure, lack of autonomy on your business

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-04-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good, but Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent talent Good not great perks Work life balance

    Cons

    Slow and conservative decision making Risk adverse

    General Mills2017-02-11
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Once Proud Company Struggles to Make Needed Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Large company with a broad range of products offers the potential for a variety of experiences. -Making sustainability strides including aggressive external commitments on sourcing and emissions.

    Cons

    -Business first, not people first. It once felt like the opposite here, but once the business struggled the emphasis became "winning," not empowering people to do their best. -A change averse culture that prevents us from really being successful as a company. As we have gone through several restructures and layoffs, we have made attempts to improve decision making and prioritization. But they have all fallen flat because there is a fair amount of leadership in denial of the change needed or actively resistant to it. So it only leads to broken promises and disengagement in the workforce. -Candor and authenticity is not embraced. Leadership pays lip-service to these behaviors, but doesn't model them. So if you have a dissenting opinion, or are seen as not "falling in line" behind decisions, it can have negative impacts on your career. -Slow pace of advancement within R&D. This is implicitly acknowledged here, and the tacit understanding is you would have job security in exchange. With regular layoffs, there is no longer the job security, but the pace of advancement is still slow. -Siloed organizations prioritize their own objectives over those of the company at large.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-01-16
  8. "Research & Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Excellent training and mentoring programs

    Cons

    Corporate hierarchy limits quick decision making

    General Mills2017-01-14
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Challenging Times at GMI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    Great brands that still matter for many consumers Employees who volunteer to make their community better - very high volunteerism rate. Genuine people who truly want to make a difference and drive positive change

    Cons

    Lack of enough external focus and acceptance of the reality of changing consumer food values Self preservation behavior vs, verbalizing and mobilizing around what is needed to succeed Personal relationships that may cloud decision making on talent

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-01-19
  10. "Company that Truely Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel very cared for by General Mills - from their benefits packages to the individual development plan that employees are responsible for. I feel responsible for my own career, and am allowed independence and freedom in crafting my career path strategy. Management cares and wants to find places that will not only grow you, but stretch you to become a higher quality contributor to success. I appreciate my highly competent peers, the collaborative environment, and the emphasis on winning together.

    Cons

    Because the company is so large and highly collaborative, sometimes decision making can be slow. I would also encourage a more effective transition process when employees are off/on-boarded onto desks to minimize job disruptions.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-11-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 54 reviews