General Mills "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
287 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in our digital age(in 97 reviews)

  • "The only con I can think of is that decision making company wide takes a long time for things to be implemented(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great development program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Program in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, laid back environment, not micro-managed, great pay. Huge opportunities for professional and career growth.

    Cons

    No MBA reimbursement. Structured. Few opportunities for Sales to go other places in the org. Location.

    General Mills2019-10-04
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, great people, great opportunities for growth

    Cons

    long hours, everything else is great

    General Mills2019-07-29
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, highly ethical company, availability resources needed to do work

    Cons

    Challenging time as the company is not growing, trying to meet quarterly numbers when the changes need will take longer. Uses supply chain consultants versus leveraging or building internal supply chain expertise.

    General Mills2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Still a good company to work for but not as great as it was."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements Good pay Great people

    Cons

    Less focused on the people than they used to be. Business struggles force them to make short term decisions to meet investors’ expectations.

    General Mills2019-01-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Mfg. Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Really great people. Building relationships is strongly encouraged as part of the culture and focus on your personal development is really important. Awesome diversity and opportunities.

    Cons

    Business results have not been good the last several years. Sales and stock price declines.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2018-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, sometimes there are exciting projects to work on, strong teamwork, development opportunities, real focus on diversity and inclusion - if sales pick back up this would be a great place to work. Pay and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Sales are not doing well right now, so working in supply chain is especially hard. It's difficult to stay engaged and inspired when volume is so low. The company is trying to cut costs everywhere to avoid getting bought out, so morale is pretty low.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2018-03-06
  7. "Logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, lots of great people.

    Cons

    Business climate is tough and uncertain.

    General Mills2018-02-21
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great people, need to be more agile, falling behind on benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    General Mills has great people, and is a great place to show up for work every day. I most appreciate the values, and inclusive culture across the organization. Balance and flexibility are encouraged, and supported.

    Cons

    General Mills has fallen far behind on their support for working moms, specifically the paid maternity leave policy. Combined with short term disability pay, women receive 6 weeks paid leave IF they have 5 years with the company. If not, they receive less. This is becoming an increasingly non-competitive in the local market and certainly in the global landscape, and starting to significantly impact morale among working moms. It is quickly becoming a deterrent to anyone planning to start a family, and a retention issue for those already at Mills.

    General Mills2017-12-04
  9. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Despite recent changes, the organization is working hard to make it a great place to work. If you want to work hard, work with great people, and learn from strong leaders I would recommend General Mills.

    Cons

    The CPG industry is a challenging place to be.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-10-16
  10. "DZ Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Love my job! Great People and AWESOME opportunities. I look forward in advancing in this Career job!

    Cons

    Need for some good people to be trainers in all areas.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-10-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 119 reviews