General Mills "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
293 Ratings
  1. "QRO Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    great people, gave interns real projects

    Cons

    very rushed/cut throat at times

    General Mills2017-09-06
  2. "HR Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great people and salary is competitive

    Cons

    Lots of challenges to the business; not as stable as it used to be.

    General Mills2017-08-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Struggling to right the ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and brands. Fair pay.

    Cons

    Too focused on Wall Street. Froze the pension to cut costs to deliver earnings. Employees are just overhead.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-07-06
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great brands to work with

    Cons

    Lots of change recently and feels unstable

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-06-26
  6. "Challenging times, but still great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Consumer Insights in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    - Great experience. The chance to work for billion dollar brands and with iconic names like Cheerios, Nature Valley, Lucky Charms, Betty Crocker and Pillsbury is rewarding and fun. Consumer Insights at General Mills is largely considered one of the best places to get marketing research experience. - Two year rotations. Don't like your current job? Don't worry. Every two years you get to work with a new brand, a new team and do very different work ranging from internal marketing best practices, to innovation with c-stores, to advertising for a national brand. This keeps the work interesting and also provides incredible career development opportunities. - Strong work/life balance. If you are a strong performer and can manage expectations, you can usually work 40-45 hours a week. Managers actually care about your work/life balance and are willing to adjust workload accordingly. - Great people. From coworkers, to middle managers to senior leaders, I feel that the people that work at General Mills are both intelligent, hard-working and someone you'd actually be happy to hang out with. I've had over 7 managers in my career, and the managers I have met at General Mills have been the best I've experienced. - Competitive pay and benefits. Strong salaries mean that it can be hard to leave General Mills--few companies in the Twin Cities compensate as well.

    Cons

    - Challenging times. Currently the CPG industry is facing serious challenges as consumers are seeking fresh foods, unprocessed ingredients and are reducing sugar intake. Leadership is strong, but is pressured to make less-than-optimal choices to improve trends in the short-term. The company culture is not the same as it was in the past, but it is still the best company culture I have ever experienced (and haven't heard of many companies that come close).

    General Mills2017-05-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Takes care of their employees, but the company is slow moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people. General Mills takes good care of its employees. I've receieved extensive training, I have a very supportive manager, and I have a team that helps each other. I have a fair amount of responsibility considering this is my first year.

    Cons

    Minnesota nice culture. Our decisions are often made on concensus. This diffuses responsibility so that no one is accountable when something goes wrong.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-05-10
  8. "Great employer in a tough business environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Great people: smart, driven, lots of experience, truly care about each other - Work/Life balance: You will put in the hours but they are flexible how you do it - Great products: All your favorite childhood brands plus they have been adding a lot of organic/better-for-you brands: Cascadian Farms, Muir Glen, Lara Bar, Food Should Taste Good, Annie's, Epic, etc - Great benefits - Great campus: Gym, Caribou coffee, sandwich shop, company store, doctor office

    Cons

    - Business has been tough the last 5 years. Have been through 3 re-orgs/layoffs.

    General Mills2017-03-30
  9. "Associate Principle Nutrition Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, facilities and benefits.

    Cons

    Difficult times for the business.

    General Mills2017-03-03
  10. "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Independent Contractor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, fun events, numerous opportunities

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    General Mills2017-03-01
  11. Helpful (1)

    "GBS / IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company, great people, professional culture, inclusive, results oriented.

    Cons

    Packaged food is a challenging sector.

    General Mills2017-02-08
Found 119 reviews