General Mills "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
293 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "GMI is Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech III in West Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People and great pay

    Cons

    Some mandatory weekends and forced overtime

    Continue reading
    General Mills2017-02-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great people, enjoyable work, a great place to learn and strengthen your skills

    Cons

    Poor people management by managers and leaders

    General Mills2017-02-18
  3. "Great place to work but in declining product categories"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, wonderful environment, great businesses, great to have on resume

    Cons

    Business performance isn't great, just undergone another restructuring/layoffs, 3rd in 6 years

    General Mills2017-02-03
  4. "Logistics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, great benefits, good bonus, career advancement, great people, and great brands to work on

    Cons

    Reactive speed is not quick enough to market

    General Mills2017-01-17
  5. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator At Yoplait in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, great people. Management works with us and is very responsive to our needs both on and off the production floor. I never feel like I am just another number or a warm body to fill a position. Our plant manager schedules regular meetings with small randomly chosen groups of team members to sit down and have no holds barred, open and honest conversation about our day to day operations. This company cares.

    Cons

    Because of the very low turnover, it is difficult to get a first shift position. It usually takes 3-5 years of working an off shift before having the opportunity to get day shift. And we do work a lot of overtime, but we also make a lot of money, so that's a positive negative. :)

    General Mills2016-12-02
  6. "Great company in a challenging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Marketing Manager in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, awesome compensation, and working at General Mills is a very low risk decision. Even if you don't like it here, you can go almost anywhere.

    Cons

    Ability of management to react to the changing food climate

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-11-17
  7. "GMI Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Associate in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Work Schedule - Great People - Wonderful Facility (WHQ)

    Cons

    - Big business moves slower than we all would like - Big business = more politics

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-10-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "General Mills moving away from its status as best employer to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great brands and great people

    Cons

    Has moved away from its roots and employee friendly culture

    General Mills2016-10-19
  9. "Maintenance Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Great people, good development opportunities

    Cons

    Troubling industry at the moment, lots of churn among the big players to compete against smaller, more nimble competitors

    General Mills2016-10-07
  10. "Logistics Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    The great people are what makes you stay

    Cons

    Increase the need for people to be accountable for their actions

    General Mills2016-10-01
Found 119 reviews