General Mills "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
293 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great people, Great Benefits

    Cons

    Not a lot of creativity

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-10-12
  2. "R&D Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    I liked the fact that my contract was extended. Great people and great company to do contract work for. Liked the meal vouchers and all the new projects

    Cons

    Don't really have a down side. Only disappointed that my contract was over without any warning. Overall great company.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-09-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "COS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People. Great Opportunity. Great Company

    Cons

    Slow to change. Some stuck in the old ways

    General Mills2016-09-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It's the same...need to truly behave differently to win."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and benefits. Bringing in great people at all levels who have a passion and excitement that is contagious.

    Cons

    What made us special is not going to keep us special. Times have changed and we need to be more process oriented to allow time to truly innovate. People want "to do the right thing" often Often it's mistaken for "let's over analyze something that is good enough" or "this is how I would do it, so please adapt to my style"

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-09-26
  6. "General Mills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great people, very fun environment. Work is very challenging and reminded me a lot of consulting work. Very analytical

    Cons

    It is a big company, so naturally feels like you are not always making an impact. Work could be a little more structured.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-09-14
  7. "Great People and Development Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palatine, IL

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    General Mills recruits carefully which results in great people. Everyone is helpful and easy to work with which makes projects easy to complete. They also care about people development and work to put you in a role that is right for you and will challenge you.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are a few roadblocks with communication between corporate and the plants which can make getting a quick decision on a critical production item difficult.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-08-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, great people

    Cons

    Long hours, and less family time

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-08-16
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    General Mills2016-08-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Supply chain manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills

    Pros

    There are Many smart, great people who are very Dedicated. Benefits are also good but not as good as they used to be.

    Cons

    Low morale and extremely poor work life balance exists post restructure. Jobs were eliminated but work was not eliminated.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-08-17
  11. Helpful (5)

    "Logistics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Deephaven, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Mills for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    More interested in bottom line vs being loyal to long term employees.

    General Mills2016-04-19
Viewing 31 - 40 of 119 Reviews
Previous PageNext Page