General Mills "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Mills Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
General Mills CEO Jeff Harmening
Jeff Harmening
293 Ratings
  1. "Great People, Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and challenging work allow you to grow professionally. Highly results oriented.

    Cons

    Leadership is going often not going in the same direction and are having a hard time pulling the numbers up in a consumer driven market.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-04-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Amazing work life balance, good pay, and great people. The FLDP is second to none.

    Cons

    Title deflation, and slow to move up. Company has not been a place where bonuses are significant or meaningful as results have been below expectations for years now.

    General Mills2016-03-31
  3. "Great Company if you're willing to move around for a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, great workplace culture

    Cons

    Sometimes rough hours and a ridiculous amount of moving is expected from Sales employees

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-03-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Maintenance Mechanic in Tracy, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great place to work great people and excellent benfits. really enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    a lot of hours the lower management is write up happy, but you follow the rules and you will be ok

    General Mills2016-01-12
  5. "Great company but undergoing Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time

    Pros

    Really great people to work with (family feel) which creates an awesome, collaborative culture

    Cons

    Company in the midst of a restructure that has created a difference culture

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-01-25
  6. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to interact with on a daily basis. Always feel as if my voice is heard and is accounted for.

    Cons

    As is the case with any large company, there are always going to be office politics and that is one of the cons that I could list for any large company.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2016-01-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    excellent company culture, strong community values; summer hours (Friday afternoon off); interesting work and great people, excellent benefits; onsite gym

    Cons

    numerous layoffs have disrupted the work groups and company culture. As an administrative assistant it is important that managers communicate clearly with me about their needs and expectations.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2015-12-25

    General Mills Response

    January 6, 2016Recruiting Communication Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We share all of the comments from Glassdoor with the senior management team to continue to work on making General Mills a great place to work for everyone, your insights are very helpful!

    Continue reading
  8. "tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    long hours to work at night

    General Mills2015-12-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mills has great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer II in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and diversity of products to work on. Corporate locations are very nice with many perks. Very committed leadership to safety.

    Cons

    Performance had been tough the last few years and many rounds of layoffs as the company change. This is pretty rough on people and many choose to leave.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2015-10-01
  10. "Lab Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Mills

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Great work environment. Let's you learn and grow at your own pace. Many advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Have to work six months of contact work before you get hired directly from the company. Takes awhile to get to know your way around the plant.

    Continue reading
    General Mills2015-10-02
Found 119 reviews