General Motors (GM) "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

General Motors (GM) Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
2,170 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent career and company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team Lead in Spring Hill, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Health Care, Paid Vacation, Decent Salary

    Cons

    Depending if you are union or local management there may be litle opportunity to advance. Work life balance not great, recently 3rd shift was forced to work 12 hours until 10:10am Thanksgiving morning effectively ruining the holiday for families.

    General Motors (GM)2019-12-04
  2. "Overall good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work , life balance; flexible schedule

    Cons

    some political drama in some groups or divisions

    Advice to Management

    Listen to all of your people not only your favorites, or the folks that work at your office. Listen to all of your team.

    General Motors (GM)2019-12-06
  3. "Progress toward their company initiatives, but not a lot of job progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, excellent vacation time, feeling of community

    Cons

    We are still dealing with "old GM" politics. Bureaucracy gets in the way of innovation. The IT org has very little job progression. Plenty of ways to get more responsibility and extra work but little in the way of job progression.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to IT management is to look for ways to radically innovate. We need more OPEX and POCs. We are spinning our wheels in perpetual micro innovation and not driving enough revenue generation and cost savings. We are eating the elephant without utensils. Also, team size impacts output. There is still fluff in IT. We could do a lot more with smaller cross functional teams. We don't have time for dealing with... lackluster effort with the negative externalities (trade war, strike, etc) impacting us. We need to do more. We could be more.

    Show More
    General Motors (GM)2019-12-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No promotional opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Validation Engineer in Milford, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, good work life balance

    Cons

    If you are a level 7A it is very hard to reach level 8. It's who you know at GM.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair. Don't just put out a req if you have someone picked out to fill the spot already. It's a waste of everyone's time.

    General Motors (GM)2019-11-25
  5. "Great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Release Engineer in Warren, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance. Has plenty of challenges and room to grow. Salary is great too.

    Cons

    No major cons, position I was in did not have much travel to explore other facilities.

    General Motors (GM)2019-11-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Benefits make it worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20 days paid vacation plus 17 corporate holidays Inexpensive Health Care Amazing work-life balance

    Cons

    IT Leadership is a major disappointment Most projects involve outdated tech, and boring requirements, FreeLoader coworkers are rarely punished

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to open their eyes

    General Motors (GM)2019-10-30
  7. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, company, pto, work life balance

    Cons

    not any that I can think of directly

    General Motors (GM)2019-10-30
  8. "Aggressive Work environment, along with Bad Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Wentzville, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great stepping stone for someone just getting into the work force, Great experience, as well as a great opportunity for growth

    Cons

    -Hostile Work environment (Both ends, Management and Employees) - Terrible Culture from top to bottom -7 day work weeks - Management Targets employees - 0 work Life balance - Many Safety Hazards - Overall Bade environment

    General Motors (GM)2019-12-03
  9. "Stable & decently paid company witg great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Embedded Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Work from home

    Cons

    Could be little more aggressive

    General Motors (GM)2019-10-24
  10. "Overall good but still long road to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Mechanical Engineer 

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Some staff are really nice and helpful Interesting and innovative project

    Cons

    Not so good management Less opportunities

    General Motors (GM)2019-10-24
Found 517 reviews