Genesis HealthCare Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Genesis HealthCare CEO Harry Wilson
Harry Wilson
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, Time Off(in 48 reviews)

  • "Flexible, great technology, exciting work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There was also no recognition for CNA or Nurses week by the upper management(in 92 reviews)

  • "My immediate manager was great, but beyond that I felt they were out of touch with their therapists(in 78 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Genesis HealthCare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      May 11, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Owensboro, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great great place to work

      Cons

      No cons at all. None

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience at Genesis.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay

      May 9, 2021 - PSR I in Silver Spring, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours you work during the week

      Cons

      Tiring from all the hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Genesis employees are the vital link between our patients and residents. We appreciate your review.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      sold bldg

      May 14, 2021 - Nurse Practitioner in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flex schedule to work with

      Cons

      no 401k match bad salary

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent

      May 14, 2021 - GPS in Elizabeth, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      coworkers are nice and pleasant

      Cons

      schedule is weekends and holidays

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Genesis employees are the vital link between our patients and residents. We appreciate your kind review.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice

      May 4, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money to be made good pay

      Cons

      Lots of hard work n patience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst professional experience

      May 5, 2021 - Vice President of Operations in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No direction from corporate so you can really just do everything how you want

      Cons

      Zero corporate support Genesis owns 50% of the company and a joint venture partner (who actually operates the buildings) makes all of the decisions You never know who to follow and they would routinely give conflicting and opposite direction The policies and training are so outdated that your competitors are crushing you and your team The joint venture operator is a disaster and they never want to assist you If you ask for assistance, they will push you aside, take over your facilities, and look to push you out They do not care about the employees or the residents. During Covid a lot of staff got sick. They told the employees they would not approve unemployment, they needed to apply through workers comp insurance first. They did this knowing their work comp carrier was not going to even look at the claims for 120 to 150 days after application. So the employees, many of which that live paycheck to paycheck, simply got zero assistance from unemployment or workers comp. The company attitude was “we will bleed them out until they have to come back to work because they can’t afford not to”. They also cut all of the floor staffing during the pandemic to avoid using agency. This left the floors working with one nurse to 35-50 residents and 1 CNA per 20-30 patients regularly. I have run facilities for 20 plus years and never seen staffing that low. It’s not only unsafe but unethical and immoral. Did not get a single day of vacation in a year and a half and they refused to pay my vacation out. I worked 7 days a week for 18 months and could not get a day off The company is likely going bankrupt as they were delisted to the pink sheets and their stock has plummeted to .25 and as low as .15 cents a share. Their CEO took a 6.2 million dollar “retention bonus” and then retired anyway...but kept his money. They are now on their 3rd CEO in as many months. They had to sell their 9 most profitable facilities and walked away from 51 facilities. Their previous CEO gave a “going forward” statement warning of bankruptcy and things have gotten worse, not better, since he issued that statement. They chose to delist to avoid releasing their financial statements. And still have not released their 4th quarter statements.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Needs a little improvement

      May 5, 2021 - Restorative Director in Dunbar, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was decent. Working with the elderly was a major plus. Loved my residents.

      Cons

      Work and Family~home life balance wasn’t good. I spent many long days there and wasn’t reimbursed. Some of the administrators are difficult !!! They let some of the best ones get away

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a good place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Administrative Support in Wakefield, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was close to where I live and the job I had were the hours I wanted.

      Cons

      Insufficient training and no written training materials, it was a full time job they were trying to fit into part time hours, getting pulled off your own job to do someone else’s job on a regular basis, lots of wasted time because issues need to be addressed multiple times before they can be completed, antiquated management practices, my direct boss did not really know what my job entailed, the staff turnover is huge.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Boop

      Apr 28, 2021 - CNA in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staffing get paid more than facility workers

      Cons

      Short staff , heavy work loads , unfairness

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Place to Start

      May 10, 2021 - Dietary Aide 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, good atmosphere and building

      Cons

      Short staffed, under paid for odd hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Genesis HealthCare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      We value your input and appreciate the time you took to share your experience. At Genesis, we review our compensation and benefit offerings on a regular basis.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,881 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Genesis HealthCare Job Seekers

    Director of Rehabilitation
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)
    Learn About the Job
    Physical Therapist Assistant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Genesis HealthCare? Share Your Experiences

    or