KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Genesis Healthcare

Is this your company?

Genesis Healthcare

Add a Review

Genesis Healthcare Employee Reviews about "therapists"

Updated Apr 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 2,031 reviews

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Genesis Healthcare CEO Harry Wilson
Harry Wilson
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, Time Off(in 48 reviews)

  • "Flexible, great technology, exciting work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There was also no recognition for CNA or Nurses week by the upper management(in 92 reviews)

  • "My immediate manager was great, but beyond that I felt they were out of touch with their therapists(in 78 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Genesis Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "therapists"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      physical therapist assistant

      Aug 8, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      reliable, helpful, moving help, finding work

      Cons

      changing patients, changing therapists, not enough computers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Would not recommend

      Apr 23, 2020 - Speech Language Pathologist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff and people I met in the therapy department were awesome.

      Cons

      The constant need to meet so many minutes. I felt pressured to provide therapy to patients based on meeting high RUG levels rather than use my clinical judgement. My immediate manager was great, but beyond that I felt they were out of touch with their therapists. Productivity was difficult to meet. I had to share a computer and complete notes on an iPod! They pushed for completing notes with the patient present. Hours would fluctuate horribly one way and the other. I also had to travel to two different facilities 45 minutes apart without a choice in the matter. I didn't go to grad school to sit in my car half the day.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Genesis Healthcare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your input is critical for Genesis to improve our operations. To report a concern, please contact our Compliance Department at Reachout@genesishcc.com so we can further investigate.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Low Pay, Unrealistic Productivity Expectations

      Dec 7, 2019 - PTA in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can learn a lot because the patient caseload is so diverse. Good PTO, except it is very difficult to use it. You are often asked to work a weekend to make up for a day off during the week.

      Cons

      No pay increases for the past 5 years. According to Glassdoor.com, Genesis underpays by up to 30% compared to other rehab companies. The flunky who responds to reviews has the same response: that Genesis regularly reviews salaries with other companies to remain competitive, but they are not looking at pay by regions. They also laid off a significant number of employees on October 1, and are using casual staff (at a much higher rate of pay) to cover for the laid off employees. It made no sense, and caused an even greater drop in employee morale. Upper management seems to think their silly newsletters and contests can make up for the poor salary, which proves how out of touch they are with the therapists.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a Place to Stay Forever

      May 3, 2019 - Rehab Office Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The pay was good. - Gave me an in depth look into the day in the life of a therapist - physical, occupational, speech

      Cons

      - Low moral - Toxic environment - Scheduling was my main duty and I made a great, working schedule for the next day but then the next day would come and the schedule would be changed by my manager and it would be a mess. Patient's therapy time would conflict with other Drs appts and even their lunch time. I got the brunt of the backlash from the patients and the therapists for these mistakes. This happened repeatedly and was a large reason why I left this position.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Genesis Healthcare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. To report issues of concern, please contact our Genesis Reach Out Line at 1-800-893-2094. This confidential line is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Make sure you read this if you're considering working for them

      Aug 11, 2019 - COTA in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good camaraderie with co-workers. Plenty of opportunities to bond over being treated unethically by management.

      Cons

      To start, our nursing home residents would be put on therapy (PT, OT and/or ST) with one thing in mind, and one only. If there was revenue to squeeze out of their insurance policy then they would be picked up and scheduled for as many minutes of treatment as their insurance would pay for. Likewise, patients would be limited in how much therapy they would get based on how little their insurance would pay for. We were under pressure from management to keep residents on therapy as long as they were revenue generating and to discontinue therapy as quickly as possible for, say, Medicaid residents who there was no revenue to get out of. This problem is industry-wide to a large degree but at Genesis this pressure to generate revenue is all communicated to staff through bullying. The department managers I worked under were all bullied by their boss. That boss was bullied by her boss and I'm sure it went right up to the top although, thankfully, that's as far up the ladder as I ever was privy to. The bullying would take the form of poor performance reviews for employees not meeting their goals for productivity (revenue), "performance improvement plans" (which was a write-up for low productivity), and hostile emails/texts from management about low productivity. My co-workers (including my various bosses) were frequently placed on performance improvement plans which were nothing more than a thinly veiled threat of firing. The entire large therapy staff at my building informed management on more occasions than I can count that it was impossible to meet their assembly line productivity requirements for a number of reasons. Instead of saying that they would lower productivity requirements they would continually "educate" us on how to bill for treatment from the time you walk in to a patient's room until the time you returned them to their room. We had no patient transporter because they would not add an employee to our staff for that purpose. So patient transport was a large portion of our day and they wanted us to bill our transport time as part of our therapy session. I had a co-worker who joked, "from now on, whenever I think about one of my patients I'm going to bill for it." One of two things invariably happened under this constant revenue-related berating from management: either therapists would work off the clock so that they could get their work done or therapists would commit fraud so that they could leave work on time. When it was reported anonymously to HR that several people in the department were working off the clock daily, we were told to sign a document that said "working off the clock is grounds for immediate dismissal." The staff was hoping HR would come in and address the root problem but they just came with the apparent agenda of insulating the company against a potential lawsuit. We were given a competitive package of PTO benefits when we were hired. Then we learned about the Genesis "PTO calculator" This was a formula used to determine how much PTO each department was permitted to take each month. The result was that we were declined PTO requests significantly more often than they were approved. In a short period of time, this led to the staff accumulating masses of unused PTO because we were accruing it at a much greater rate than we were permitted to use it. This was complained about to management and HR endlessly but to no avail. They would tell us that the industry was in such dire straits that we were lucky to have jobs. We were required to work almost every holiday, including Christmas and Thanksgiving. My second-to-last year of my employment with the company, management made a dramatic announcement to all staff that they would now allow us to take off those two holidays if we wished. The other shoe dropped immediately when they told us that if we took off on Christmas and/or Thanksgiving that we would have to make up our shift on the weekend during the week of the holiday. I hope you're sitting down for this one: no extra pay for working holidays. If your rate was, say, $20/hour, that's exactly what you would get for working holidays. Please remain seated, it's about to get worse: Genesis sold the building where I worked to another nursing home company and payed us $0 for our unused PTO. To re-state, in case it wasn't totally clear, they declined most PTO requests for years then payed us nothing when they pulled out of all their contracts in the area. Turns out, that six months before selling all their buildings in the area as well as pulling out of almost all of their therapy contracts in the area, they put a policy in place that in the event of an employment separation, unused PTO would not be payed out unless you had been with the company for 13.5 years. These thieves owed me a couple thousand dollars in PTO that they would not let me use while I was an employee. A co-worker of mine had over $10,000 of unused PTO that she had to eat. (This is legal in my state, by the way. Several of us consulted with attorneys about this matter). This company is well on their way to self-destruction due to their concern for their bottom line at the exclusion of all else. Genesis is circling the drain; soon they will go down the drain and our world will be better for it.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Profit-Oriented

      Jan 22, 2019 - Physical Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are usually very helpful and friendly.

      Cons

      Genesis is increasingly focused on profits, with declining focus on quality patient care or employee satisfaction. Increased use of group/concurrent sessions with assistants, with use of PT/OT mainly for documentation and to maintain compliance with therapist visits. Length of stay/episode of care is usually way too short or way too long, and not based on therapist recommendations; it is now increasingly dictated by DOR or nursing staff to maximize profits at the facility. Genesis-owned facilities are usually dirty and understaffed, while outside facilities with Genesis-contracted therapy departments are usually cleaner and provide better care to residents. Poor PTO amounts, with difficulty taking multiple days off for a vacation. Usually asked to work weekends to make up for days off (who needs PTO then?!)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Don't work for this company

      Oct 30, 2019 - LPTA 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely no pros for this company

      Cons

      Degrading and demeaning to all therapists. First to be let go whenever Medicare changes.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Genesis Healthcare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      We thank you for your feedback. To report issues of concern, please contact our Genesis Reach Out Line at 1-800-893-2094. This confidential line is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Concerns are investigated and addressed by our compliance department.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Run Away.....And Run Fast.

      Jan 19, 2019 - COTA/L in Phillipsburg, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The nursing staff was always willing to assist the therapists.

      Cons

      No holidays off. Straight time when working holidays. Difficult to take vacation time. Productivity expectations too high. Management creates hostile work environment. Health insurance very expensive. No raises in the past 5 years, however, the CEO was happy to take away vacation hours from long time employees. Very unethical company. Therapists are expected to get minutes, even if patient is dying.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a fan

      Feb 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free CEUs, competitive pay, hard working therapists

      Cons

      This company does not seem to support therapists. They are completely profit driven at the expense of their therapist's physical and mental well-being.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      low pay im so done

      Jan 30, 2019 - Physical Therapist Assistant in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible vacation ok managemnt

      Cons

      low pay new therapists get more

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Genesis Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Genesis Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or