KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Genesis Healthcare

Is this your company?

Genesis Healthcare

Add a Review

Genesis Healthcare Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 of over 2,031 reviews

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Genesis Healthcare CEO Harry Wilson
Harry Wilson
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, Time Off(in 48 reviews)

  • "Flexible, great technology, exciting work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There was also no recognition for CNA or Nurses week by the upper management(in 92 reviews)

  • "My immediate manager was great, but beyond that I felt they were out of touch with their therapists(in 78 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Genesis Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Awesome

      Oct 12, 2016 - CNA in Greenville, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great place to work for I worked for this company for 5 years and everyone was like family even the residents become your family. I loved coming to work every day and I never had a job like that in my life. They treat all residents like their own one of the greatest nursing homes in RI.

      Cons

      The management and pay they don't take to many things seriously some things were out of line at times I was being harassed by one employee and they did nothing not one thing grievance after grievance and nothing was done . I was treated like total poo by this one upper management this one particular management even treat at the residence like poop and not one thing was done so I had to resign my position and go to another facility.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Stressful, under appreciated

      Nov 9, 2020 - Licensed Practical Nurse in Sarasota, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most co workers are great

      Cons

      It’s expected to have some stress in the healthcare field but environment in this facility is toxic. Going through a buy out in this building. It’s been pushed back 3 or4 times now. No one seems to know what’s going on or if they, they are telling us. We will all be starting as new hires which in itself is crushing if you’ve been at the facility for many years. Then they don’t acknowledge it by taking your accumulative sick time, (some in access of up to 300 hours) away. Give you 50% of your vacation. There was also no recognition for CNA or Nurses week by the upper management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Horrible worst place I have ever worked

      Aug 29, 2020 - GNA - Geriatric Nurse Aide in Severna Park, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with the residents and your fellow coworkers that were non management

      Cons

      Upper management shows definite signs of racism, they play favoritsm, they bully and knit pick on staff that are hard working while staff that are less that desirable get a free pass.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      not good

      Oct 6, 2020 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great teammates, office hours are flexible

      Cons

      low pay, uncaring management, multiple positions added to 1 person, no advancement, upper management belittles lower management staff, hours depend on census

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fine place to work

      Jun 7, 2020 - Bookkeeper in Parkville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of opportunities to advance

      Cons

      Wages aren't great, upper management can be a pain

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Low Pay, Unrealistic Productivity Expectations

      Dec 7, 2019 - PTA in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can learn a lot because the patient caseload is so diverse. Good PTO, except it is very difficult to use it. You are often asked to work a weekend to make up for a day off during the week.

      Cons

      No pay increases for the past 5 years. According to Glassdoor.com, Genesis underpays by up to 30% compared to other rehab companies. The flunky who responds to reviews has the same response: that Genesis regularly reviews salaries with other companies to remain competitive, but they are not looking at pay by regions. They also laid off a significant number of employees on October 1, and are using casual staff (at a much higher rate of pay) to cover for the laid off employees. It made no sense, and caused an even greater drop in employee morale. Upper management seems to think their silly newsletters and contests can make up for the poor salary, which proves how out of touch they are with the therapists.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Run

      Jul 29, 2020 - Certified Nursing Assistant in Fairmont, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You know you’ll get hours

      Cons

      Upper management play favorites, they don’t fire the people that don’t do their job and work you twice as hard if you do your job well. Pay isn’t great.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      It is a paycheck

      Sep 10, 2019 - Medicaid Eligibility Specialist in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a paycheck.

      Cons

      I have worked for this company for 12 years. To see how radically it has changed, in a negative way, over the last 5 years is heartbreaking. When I joined the company in 2007, I for sure thought I found a company I could devote my years too. They truly cared for our patients and the employees and you felt the appreciation from upper management. You felt supported by corporate support and wanted to go above and beyond in your role. Ever since the company expanded and purchased more facilities, the care they provided and the benefits they offered have suffered. Genesis has expanded and continues to expand with no regard of how this affects there employees . For the last 3 years they have slashed benefits in half. They have frozen raises for the last 3 years, no longer match 401K benefits, cancelled disability/ maternity benefits, offer the worst insurance plan options, cancelled Christmas parties, no bonuses, etc. Genesis has also eliminated so many positions over the years. In doing this, they have overwhelmed the current staff, who now have to pick up those extra task from the eliminated positions, with no increase of wage or bonus. Corporate support now refer to themselves as "Consultants". They have their own agendas; it like you guys do not work for the same company. I use to be happy at work and feel appreciated by Genesis. Unfortunately, that has changed to feeling stressed, over whelmed, over worked, discouraged and unappreciated.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Horrific!

      Sep 4, 2019 - Irrelevant in Springfield, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are none... just when you think there is something to look forward to, it's gone.

      Cons

      Where to start... The management team is horrible!! The staff turnover is gigantic and mostly because upper management likes to play favorites and does not follow any of the company's mission and vision statements. Nothing is done fairly within the staff. Employees are treated differently depending on who they're friends with. Their culture and values are in the toilet and have no regard for anyone but themselves... including patients and patient care.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Genesis Healthcare Response

      Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your input is critical for Genesis to improve our operations. To report a concern, please contact our Compliance Department at Reachout@genesishcc.com so we can further investigate.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Run, don't walk, away from this company!

      Mar 2, 2019 - Management in Hampton, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has many locations in the state of NH

      Cons

      Severly and dangerously understaffed, upper management does nothing about very violent residents resulting in staff assaults almost daily, many many medication errors, targeted terminations, and bad staff go undisciplined. Pay rates are on the lower spectrum and the benefits are not the greatest.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Genesis Healthcare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Genesis Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or