Genesys Reviews | Glassdoor

Genesys Reviews

Updated August 16, 2018
863 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genesys Chief Executive Officer Paul Segre
Paul Segre
606 Ratings

863 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Perfect work life balance i should say" (in 80 reviews)

  • "Being a mother, i choose to work from home everytime my child is sick" (in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no work/life balance in my department" (in 14 reviews)

  • "I saw somebody else was complaining about restaurants around Daly City office" (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "One of the best company to work for in the area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Markham, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Manager in Markham, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    - Conveniently locate at the heart of Markham
    - Strong market position + Financially healthy and stable
    - Significant bonus pay out year after year
        - Performance based allocation
        - descend overall compensation to low performer
        - very well treated to high performer
    - Open time off system (management team enforcing no decline to time off request policy)
    - Invest on employees (approval on most if not all work and health related requests)
        - computer hardware
        - standing desk
        - books and literature
        - training
    - Competitive benefit

    Cons

    - insufficient meeting room
    - vision care benefit can be better

    Advice to Management

    Keep up on communicating with employees. Understand what they need and making sure they know what's available to them.

    It's a pity to hear employees got up set about the lack of resource/support simply because they are not aware of what's available to them.

    Genesys Response

    Apr 18, 2018 – Genesys Leadership Team

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your overwhelmingly positive feedback. I acknowledge that due to our local recent explosive growth, meeting room space is starting to become a challenge. We will... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome culture and company values which seem to filter down through all levels of management from the top. Genuine concern for employee well being and making sure we get what we need to succeed.

    Cons

    None that I can see so far.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you're doing!

    Genesys Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to see that you are getting what you need to succeed in your role. We want our employees to be successful and happy! Greg (Greg Buck, Global Talen Brand... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Extremely Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Velocity Account Executive in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Velocity Account Executive in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have found Genesys to be an extremely collaborative working environment where others are invested in your success. Combining this with the great vision of PureCloud, I really could not be happier with my decision to work here. Our team is full of great people that in excel in their roles, and are great to be around outside of work. I don't think I could be in a better place in my career then I am here at Genesys.

    Cons

    The only possible negative feedback I could have is the location of the Indianapolis office. But with that said, the facilities and buildings are still great with new coffee machines, a great cafe lunch, and multiple on-site gyms.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and please scale your successes as we continue to grow!

    Genesys Response

    Aug 16, 2018 – Genesys Leadership Team

    Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you're enjoying Genesys. We have worked hard to build a collaborative and strong culture of high performance and we want to continue to scale that. Having... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "There's a lot of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Daly City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Daly City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Genesys is great! I've never worked at a company of this size with such accessible leaders. I feel completely comfortable sending an email to Paul or giving a suggestion to Tom. And the amazing thing is, they respond. I truly believe they think about the employees and are willing to listen, act, and improve.

    Cons

    Genesys is going through a time of change. There is a lot of building happening, and that's not comfortable for a lot of people. Not everything is easy, in fact, it can be difficult to get the basics of your job done, post-integration. However, all of this change is a great opportunity for people if they are willing to roll up their sleeves.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep the employees as part of the conversation. They're the ones delivering on your vision.

    Genesys Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback. I agree with you Genesys is a great place to work. Our leadership team is committed to an open door policy. I am glad to hear you have had that experience with... More


  5. "Interaction Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesys full-time

    Pros

    Solid, stable, friendly, open, relaxed

    Cons

    You can be kicked out at any moment


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Innovative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Channel Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesys full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Ahead of the industry, continued investments, recognized product in the Enterprise space with tons of potential for green field accounts.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced

    Advice to Management

    Continue what your doing to grow the business and hire great talent. Your Dublin leadership program is top notch.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genesys full-time

    Pros

    Genesys was a great place to work prior to the acquisition of Interactive Intelligence. Prior Genesys had a good strategy and everyone worked as a team.

    Cons

    The caliber of the employees changed after the acquisition.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Bloated management, distracted focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genesys full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Easy to work remotely, good salary, interesting work (until last 6 months). Given lots of latitude to do your job, no micromanaging.

    Cons

    Extremely bloated management. Every other day you get a company-wide email announcing yet another new VP of some new made-up department. Company also can't decide on a focus. You don't have time to get used to one goal-setting system or team structure before it's changed 2 weeks later. Don't get comfortable on your team because you'll have 3 different managers in 4 months.

    Advice to Management

    There's too many of you. Also decide on a corporate structure and stick with it!

    Genesys Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review. I’m glad you found the work here compelling during (most of) your tenure here. As with any growing company with many mergers and acquisitions, org changes will happen and... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Changing to the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Promising technology based on prior acquisition.

    Cons

    Management is playing just the financial angle. Even if still well positioned in the Gartner quadrant, the executives have little understanding of the technological aspects.


  10. Helpful (8)

    "Genesys follows the next shiny new ball"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genesys full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Burlington Engineering was part of the old SoundBite company that was bought by Genesys 5 years ago. we held onto a lot of the same culture and day to day as it was before.

    Genesys buys new companies and whatever the buzzword of that company sells (for SoundBite it was outbound calling).. that's the next big thing and they follow it with their budget... right now its AI..

    Most of the interaction with other groups within Genesys are hard to talk to and political. it's very hard to ingratiate yourself into the Russian upper levels in Engineering..

    The Burlington crew were like family. but honestly.. I'd much rather be gone then left behind. Genesys has laid off over half the staff in the Burlington office in the past year. it's become desolate and not a happy place to go anymore. I hear the Chennai office expanding to another floor

    Cons

    Read the pros. I combined the answers

    Advice to Management

    When you buy a company. Make it a priority to actually merge with them.. not move onto the next company. You left employees wondering for too long about what the roadmap was going to be.. and how we fit into the bigger company

    Genesys Response

    Aug 15, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review and for your many years of service. We were and remain proud of all of our acquisitions, including Soundbite. Sometimes, as businesses grow and change, reorganizations are... More


Showing 863 of 933 reviews
Reset Filters