Geneva Woods Pharmacy Reviews | Glassdoor

Geneva Woods Pharmacy Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Geneva Woods Pharmacy CEO Dan Afrasiabi
Dan Afrasiabi
15 Ratings
  1. "GWP Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Geneva Woods will recognize employee strengths and place people in jobs they will succeed in. This can mean transferring into other departments, advancing into other roles, or even creating a new position. The open door policy allows for frustrations to be voiced, and employees are given opportunities to review their managers and provide feedback as well. Management is always looking to provide stellar service... and recognizes the employees that do so. Our 6 senses values and the our mission to create a culture of excellence, drive managers and departments to make every client experience, a memorable one. While some employees may have a high title or rank within the company, ultimately they will band together to do what needs to get done. I have seen the VP of Pharmacy taking out garbage, work on plumbing, and take on whatever role is needed in order to assist his staff.

    Show More

    Cons

    The training periods are somewhat non-existent and the majority of the job is trial by fire. While we are in the same building, we utilize different systems so we aren't able to answer all of client's questions without transferring. Deliveries are also unable to be consolidated for the most part, and the communication between departments is minimal.

    Advice to Management

    Working Managers will always earn the respect of their employees; some managers should be reminded that it is best to lead by example and never ask your employees to do something that you yourself would not do. Some managers should not so blatantly display their favoritism within their staff, or take advantage of new employee lack of knowledge. Managers must also be sure to give credit where credit is due, in... incidences when their staff members have presented great ideas or suggestions.

    Show More
    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2017-10-07
  2. "Not any more!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well established high volume.

    Cons

    Bought out by big box pharmacy so everything changed. All about metrics, not patient care

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating pharmacists, who have doctorate level degrees, as if they are just pill counters

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2019-08-27
  3. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My coworkers were mostly all team players and cared about their job and the people being served. A work schedule that is Monday through Friday mostly day shift is awesome. Good cross training in pharmacist positions.

    Cons

    Administration duties such as electronic training often had to be done on your own time. Duties continuously increased with less staff for assistance. Corporate seemed to make decisions without input from "frontline" staff.

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2019-05-29
  4. "Started out amazing until it was bought by big chain pharmacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist in Wasilla, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers Wonderful independent, small town atmosphere Happy, wonderful customers

    Cons

    Salary too low for the high cost of living No raises or bonuses the whole time I was there PTO instead of paid vacations and actual sick days. This meant we had to use days we would have used for vacation as sick days.

    Advice to Management

    none as the original management isn't there

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2019-01-31
  5. "Collection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time

    Pros

    PTO, vacation pay, people are nice

    Cons

    You are a number not a person.

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2018-08-16
  6. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Documentation Specialist in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    constantly increasing accrument rate of paid time off.

    Cons

    has minimal room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work.

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2018-07-10
  7. "i like it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a sense of family and community in Client Services. They always have positive attitudes considering the work they do. Management goes out of their way to appreciate their employees. There are growth opportunities within the company and cross training if asked for or is needed.

    Cons

    These values don't run through the rest of the pharmacy. Employees complain management doesn't show their appreciation. Training is lacking in every department. I am very happy in my dept but have had no training.

    Advice to Management

    Please show some appreciation outside of a monthly potluck. If you care about the work and attitude of the employees thats all it takes.

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2018-05-30
  8. "Staff Pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, closed door pharmacy, friendly management, fulfilling career

    Cons

    Honestly can not think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    N/A management was friendly and great!

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2018-05-30
  9. "Billing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geneva Woods Pharmacy full-time

    Pros

    I am not really sure

    Cons

    Favoritism among upper management. Sometimes it was an uncomfortable place to work

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the office manager have the run of the office. There was no one to approach if there were issues in the building

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2018-05-17
  10. "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geneva Woods Pharmacy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with schedule within reason, friendly coworkers, nice work environment.

    Cons

    They overwork employees that do their jobs well when they are behind schedule, and there is not much opportunity for advancement. They tend to put a lot of pressure on their employees, but for a good reason.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees more.

    Geneva Woods Pharmacy2018-03-29
Found 23 reviews