Genghis Grill Reviews | Glassdoor

Genghis Grill Reviews

Updated 27 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Genghis Grill CEO Al Bhakta (no image)
Al Bhakta
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "there are really no other cons besides you don't have to memorize a menu(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great food, some opportunity for advancement to the right people, flexible schedules(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Plus they started giving ALL of the side work to the person with the least number of upsales which wasn't fair(in 7 reviews)

  • "Bowls were burnt several times during rush, drinks were made slowly by the bartender, etc(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Jackson Heights, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genghis Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Pros of this restaurant is that they had a wonderful staff that really takes you in and treats you like family.

    Cons

    The cons were that sometimes there was a problem with the organization of the management team in regards to schedules and availability

    Advice to Management

    My advise to the management would be to just keep what they are doing and just to be more on top of the scheduling but other then that I loved my experience

    Genghis Grill2016-12-15
  2. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Genghis Grill part-time

    Pros

    the coworkers are fun and the job is easy

    Cons

    it's slow a lot so you don't make much money

    Genghis Grill2019-08-28
  3. "Genghis server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Gambrills, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genghis Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *customers tip very well *flexible hours *easy servering job *easy side work *pretty casual laid back atmosphere *usually pretty good money *management tried to have team meetings and get together

    Cons

    *management. The management sucks. They really don't care about the employees. They have their 'favorites' and they are phony acting. We always ran out of everything. Silverware, alcohol,napkins, syrups, like everything and it's embarrassing as a server to have to go to guests and tell them we are out of the simpliest things *no free meals. When I first started working at Genghis we had employee meals until the... lastest manager came in and I believe we were able to get 20 or 25% discount. He said only managers could get those employee meals but then changed it to only he and the assistant manger got free meals, but he put his favorites in management position( people who hadn't been working their long and didn't really know what they were doing) and they got there free meals still. One of those managers was stealing money amd everyone new about it, but somehow she still has a job. *Bartenders that can't handle the pressure. *no benefits

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to do seating rotation Stay on top of restaurants needs Be more professional

    Genghis Grill2019-06-28
  4. "fe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Mesquite, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genghis Grill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay, flexible schedule, easy going

    Cons

    lack of professionalism, unorganized, time management issues

    Advice to Management

    need to be more strict on company policy

    Genghis Grill2019-05-30
  5. "Former employee, here are my thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Hostess in Dallas, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genghis Grill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, room to grow and good food

    Cons

    Big turnover, too many servers at 1 time.

    Genghis Grill2019-05-28
  6. "Could be much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate/Cook in Smyrna, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genghis Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent people and can be a decent location

    Cons

    Terrible management and some nasty conditions

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so rude to your employees

    Genghis Grill2019-06-03
  7. "Would not recommend to anyone!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member/Grill Cook in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genghis Grill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, friendly team for the most part. co-workers are what made the job fun to work at sometimes. It felt like a big family in the restaurant.

    Cons

    -pay -poor working conditions -managers/ management -would hire literally anyone that applied.

    Advice to Management

    They should do a better job hiring people. While I worked there, the managers would hire anyone that applied there and people always walked out because the work was too much for them to handle. Another thing that was annoying was that one of the managers would constantly mess up my work schedule whenever I told him that I needed a certain day off in advance. He would get mad at me when I didn't show up on those days.... this wasn't even my fault.

    Show More
    Genghis Grill2019-06-03
  8. "A learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genghis Grill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff and costumers are friendly

    Cons

    Management does not listen much

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more

    Genghis Grill2019-01-31
  9. "Waiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Genghis Grill part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Really like my store manager

    Cons

    Money fluctuates up and down

    Genghis Grill2018-10-09
  10. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genghis Grill full-time

    Pros

    Great money and works with schedule

    Cons

    Really everything is beyond great

    Advice to Management

    Keep It up

    Genghis Grill2018-07-28
Found 150 reviews