Gengo Reviews | Glassdoor

Gengo Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Matthew Romaine
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Translator-friendly platform and support, always on time payments, grate range of subjects to work on (perfect to get experienced)(in 15 reviews)

  • "You can work from home, in my language pair they give you enough time to complete the job, pay is ok(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Few jobs (even as a standard and pro translator in a major language pair)(in 14 reviews)

  • "Little jobs available sometimes, the new rating system(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "translator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gengo part-time

      Pros

      People can translate at home

      Cons

      There are only few jobs

      Gengo2017-12-12
    • "Translator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Translator 

        I have been working at Gengo part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        * You can choose to work whenever you want at wherever you want.

        Cons

        * Nearly not enough work to be even considered to be a side-job. Only think of working for them as a translator if you are already making enough money to pay your rent.

        Gengo2017-11-10
      • Helpful (12)

        "A poorly managed company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gengo full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Motivated, smart co-workers who are passionate about what they do - Nice location in Tokyo - Good concept, easy to get behind

        Cons

        - Unfortunate management - mostly nice people, but inexperienced and not uniformly skilled to manage - COO is the single most terrible person I've ever worked with in my professional career before or since - Often there's a mismatch between the strengths of the service and customers sold, leading to operational headaches - Dev resources go to increasing sales, usually not improving core platform, leaving Operations...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your employees, and be mindful about how you treat people.

        Gengo2017-08-02
      • Helpful (4)

        "If you have good foreign language skills in a language pair they need,, it's easy to get work with them."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Translator 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gengo

        Pros

        Great flexibility, work from home, can take time off whenever you want. If you do good work consistently, customers will often choose you as a "favorite" translator, which means you get first crack at their assignments. I find their ratings system (your "grade" on your work) to be very fair on the whole. The company, of course, loves diversity: its translators work all over the world. So many languages, so many cultures!...

        Show More

        Cons

        One downside is the fact that the pay is not great. However, they do all the work getting the jobs. You may also need to keep your schedule very loose; jobs come in at all hours of the day or night. The customer who needs the quick translation could be anywhere in the world, in any time zone. I often work in the middle of the night.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good management and the upbeat work atmosphere! There have been some minor wrinkles with the Translators Operations Team regarding the new QA process which can be discouraging, but I trust they will get ironed out in short order.

        Gengo2017-05-21
      • Helpful (2)

        "graphic design"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gengo

        Pros

        The art director is very nice and professional.

        Cons

        There was no cons during the time I worked there.

        Gengo2016-02-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Flexible work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA

          I have been working at Gengo for less than a year

          Pros

          You can work anytime you have spare time from home.

          Cons

          Not enough tasks and kind of hard to grab a job on the dashboard.

          Advice to Management

          Would be better if they can improve customer service.

          Gengo2015-12-16
        • "Easy work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Gengo

            Pros

            Work from home, get to work when you want. Good system built for translating.

            Cons

            There were not a lot of jobs available. You sometimes had to wait a few days before jumping on the first thing that came up.

            Gengo2014-02-26
          • "It gets worst along the way"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Engineer 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at Gengo full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            They provide office benefits like foods and training and some colleagues are good to work with.

            Cons

            Top management sucks. Their priority is their business. Discipline is lacking. Bias is very evident.

            Advice to Management

            nahh

            Gengo2019-06-25
          • "Good company"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Gengo full-time

            Pros

            One of the best company I've worked for.

            Cons

            I can't think of any.

            Gengo2019-04-24
          • "Unprofessional company (low quality and poor rates)"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Freelance Translator in Katowice
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Gengo part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            - Can't think of any

            Cons

            - Low rates (very low) - Not too many clients - Reviewers translate for Gengo as well (while they shouldn't, they should just review) and get very little money for that. Therefore, they have a clear incentive to dismiss translators' work (the fewer translators in their language pair, the better: more jobs available for them in their translators' role). - Reviewers rule: their reviews can't be appealed.

            Advice to Management

            None: they don't care

            Gengo2019-04-07
          Found 35 reviews