Gensler Architect Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Architect Reviews

Updated April 17, 2019
77 reviews

Filter

Filter

Architect

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
37 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The work-life balance is really good" (in 27 reviews)

  • "Gensler has an incredibly creative work environment" (in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is so much going on, it is too easy to let work/life balance take a back seat" (in 40 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary (can be long hours, navigating politics)" (in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Architect in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    GREAT PEOPLE. SUPERVISERS THAT FOSTER INDIVIDUAL GROWTH.

    Cons

    long hours at times, definitely a very corporate structure

    Gensler Response

    Mar 12, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people!


  2. "Great Junior Level Employees and Technical Directors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Architect in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Project Architect in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A great place to start a career since there are many junior level employees

    Cons

    Project Managers and Studio Principals can be more concerned with internal politics than quality of work. Design directors and Project Managers tend to perpetuate the division between "technical" and "design" members of each team.

    Advice to Management

    Allow junior employees to explore more senior roles outside of the typical paths. Some of the most talented designers are pigeon-holed by the title of Job Captain into strictly technical roles.

    Gensler Response

    Apr 18, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback! We love to hear from our people and want everyone at Gensler to make their voice heard!

  3. "Gensler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Newport Beach, CA
    Current Employee - Architect in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Life and work balance, good benefits

    Cons

    Limited to career enhancement opportunities

    Gensler Response

    Apr 18, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback on your experience at Gensler!! We love to hear from our people!


  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern Architect
    Current Employee - Intern Architect

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Incredible intern project, such a unique opportunity. Weekly learning sessions, can be a bit dull at times but it's nice that they are building that culture. Great work environment. Good location and office as well.

    Cons

    Work was very slow some weeks. Not enough tasks. Work could have been more inspiring.

    Gensler Response

    Apr 12, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback! We love to hear from our people!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Architect in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some amazing projects if you are under the right guidance

    Cons

    Few people are working on amazing projects.

    Advice to Management

    Reward hardworking people. We are not in high school anymore

    Gensler Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our alumni!


  6. "Overall good balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    More civilized than most architecture firms. Ample opportunities. Some decent designs.

    Cons

    Political, as expected from any other corporates

    Gensler Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!


  7. "Best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Project Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive leadership, great opportunities, fun projects, work hard and play hard, all leadership is accessible, compensation is fair

    Cons

    Sometimes transparency is lacking when communicating to junior staff. More openness and candidness would go a long way.

    Gensler Response

    Dec 18, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing such tremendous feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people and our alumni!

  8. "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Architect in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Creative, innovative, collaborative and fun group of people to be working with.

    Cons

    None, please se the Pros comments

    Advice to Management

    The One-Firm Firm formula certainly works in sustaining Gensler practice for decades.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Architect in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunities for cool design work.

    Cons

    Office politics and drama can be difficult to handle

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  10. "Great projet experince"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Architect in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Technical Architect in Houston, TX

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good stepping stone. Challenging projects, Fast Pace. Knowledgeable staff.

    Cons

    A lot or competition, must give 110 percent to sustain growth. Salary

    Advice to Management

    Leave enough rope for the next aspiring leader.