Gensler Architectural Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Architectural Designer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Gensler CEO Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
19 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    Salary and bonus is low

    Gensler2015-12-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good Benefits / training. Boring Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler

    Pros

    Reasonable hours Lots of practice areas / opportunities Plenty of support from skilled peers Good benefits / perks Lots of available technology / programs / training to help get things done Provide opportunities for junior employees to work on all project phases

    Cons

    Designs can be a bit bland Very tight project schedules / sloppy drawings Can be impersonal within studios because always changing, adding or losing people Turnover

    Advice to Management

    this young employee feels a bit stifled with the designs. I think Gensler could be more ambitious aesthically, rather than pumping the same design with different finishes and materials

    Gensler2015-08-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "ARCHITECT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Big firm with a lot of resources and good working environment. The variety of projects provides a good source of knowledge.

    Cons

    The typical problems of a big corporation, plus salaries are a bit shorter than average and sometimes employees have to put in a lot of extra hours.

    Advice to Management

    spend a little bit more money on your employees paycheck and brag less about your high annual profits.

    Gensler2015-07-28
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Principals are very disengaged from staff and project managers are actually "fee managers""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Employee owned. - Benefits - They are good at making money. - If you like the corporate game, it'll be a good fit for you. - If you're just out of school they treat you well, but be warned, your professional abilities will suffer for it in the long run as learning will be very slow.

    Cons

    - If you're a seasoned professional, you will have a hard time understanding and capitulating to their management. -If you're just starting your career, you'd do better at a small firm if you're intention is to learn as the learning process will be incredibly slow here. I would say you'd learn more in one year at a smaller firm than you would in three years (or maybe four depending on the studio) here. - Commitment...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The reputation of your company comes not only from clients but also from your staff. Although I'm disgusted by how I've been treated and have no desire to help the company in any way shape or form now, I do feel bad for some people who are there and working hard and not getting a fair deal. Get your principals and managers engaged in their staff and not just money. The interesting thing is that I've spoken with one of...

    Show More
    Gensler2015-01-24
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Talented and friendly group of people. Fun projects. Great environment. Lots of support and opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    Extroverts are favored over introverts. Salaries seem skewed. Long hours and tight deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you compensate employees fairly.

    Gensler2014-12-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Architecture firm with great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler for more than a year

    Pros

    Gensler genuinely cares about its culture, employees, and community. I had a great time working here, theres room for growth in the company and they don't work you to the ground (for the most part) like other architecture firms.

    Cons

    Not the greatest pay but far better than other firms of similar nature. Available growth but can take a lot of time.

    Gensler2014-09-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on who you work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I was told that Gensler pays very well, but somehow I don't feel that way. The amount of hours and stress that I have to deal with and then I look at my check and think... Really?! If management likes you, you will have a great career here, but if not then whatever you do it will not matter.

    Cons

    Work life balance, there is none.

    Advice to Management

    I'm speechless...

    Gensler2014-03-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A small-firm culture with big-firm resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Happy people, good hours, lots of resources.

    Cons

    Less interest in pushing design.

    Advice to Management

    find us more forward-thinking clients and push the conversation toward creativity!

    Gensler2014-01-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Social office environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed how friendly and welcoming the office was, the quality of the work, different disciplines represented, and the work hard/play hard culture. Coworkers took time to teach me and took an interest in the quality of my internship.

    Cons

    As an intern, I wasn't assigned any design tasks and wasn't a full member of the design team (though I expected this).

    Gensler2013-10-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Washington, DC

      I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Resources, Structured Management, and Overhead Benefit

      Cons

      Hierarchy prevent staffs from professional growth

      Gensler2013-08-26
    Found 41 reviews