Gensler Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Designer Reviews

Updated April 2, 2019
179 reviews

Filter

Filter

Designer

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
102 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The work-life balance is really good" (in 27 reviews)

  • "Gensler has an incredibly creative work environment" (in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is so much going on, it is too easy to let work/life balance take a back seat" (in 40 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary (can be long hours, navigating politics)" (in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Design Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Open, collaborative, but most importantly ENTREPRENUERIAL environment.

    Cons

    It is not always obvious that you are able to take your own path.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on design.

    Gensler Response

    Mar 19, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the terrific feedback! We love to hear from our people and are thrilled that things are going well for you!


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work-life balance is really good. Projects are good.

    Cons

    I feel Gensler does not have cons.

    Gensler Response

    Apr 1, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the fantastic feedback! We love to hear from our people!

  3. "Gensler is tops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Junior Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Intern - Junior Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler as an intern (More than a year)

    Pros

    The best in the business. Period.

    Cons

    The usual corporate issues.. everyone is not going to like every policy

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.


  4. "As grown in size、going downhill."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Designer
    Former Employee - Technical Designer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Mostly collsborative culture. Good infrastructure.

    Cons

    Low Pay and beaurocracy. Difficult to go up the latter and relatively low pay unless you come in after ling experience.

    Advice to Management

    Depending on which office you work for、the experience can be positive or negative. I had positive in one office and extreme negative in the other. Los Angeles office serious issues. Treat your employees with dignity.

    Gensler Response

    Apr 3, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for sharing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Employment at Gensler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The ability to grow in the firm and the work life balance is pretty decent.

    Cons

    Management needs to be improved. You are sometimes treated as a number rather than a person. They use you here for the full advantage of the companies benefit. Most of the time the company thrives on you competing with your peers on projects instead of working together to come up with the solution.

    Gensler Response

    Mar 20, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for leaving feedback on your experience at Gensler. We always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our alumni.


  6. "Great Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Brand Design Team
    Former Intern - Brand Design Team
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler as an intern

    Pros

    food, alcohol, brand team people are super nice

    Cons

    encourage you to work overtime, worked on July 4


  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Designer in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Technical Designer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Comfortable working environment for most of employee. Rich learning opportunities. Good management and evaluation system. Many social activities. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Conservative design idea. Not super attractive projects. Sick and PTO are merged.

    Gensler Response

    Mar 6, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback! We love to hear from our alumni and wish you continued success in the future!

  8. "Architecture Studio - Gainfully Employeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, tons of talent, lots of opportunities, encouraged to steer your career however you see fit, very transparent system, lots of projects to be working on

    Cons

    Gensler says yes to every single project, a bit political and bureaucratic, change is slow, sometimes feels a bit corporate without the organizational benefits of a corporation, staff stretched thin

    Gensler Response

    Mar 4, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback! We love to hear from our people and want to continue supporting you in your career at Gensler.


  9. "World class organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer
    Former Employee - Designer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Design ethic, exposure to best practices and talent

    Cons

    Politics, location, lack of follow through from advisors on career objectives

    Gensler Response

    Mar 4, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Wow! Thanks for the incredible feedback! We love to hear from our alumni!


  10. "Good work place as interior designer/architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    not a typical interior/architecture firm with many over time hrs and unreasonable work load. good environment, reputation, many educational opportunities, compensation is not high but reasonable

    Cons

    really big firm, political, their promotion and compensation is much related not only individual's performance but also involvement to the other extra activities in the firm. if you are an outgoing person and motivated to participated in these activities you will fit but if not, its a little struggle.

    Advice to Management

    its big firm but treat employees as they are in the small firm..

    Gensler Response

    Feb 22, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our alumni!