Gensler Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Reviews

Updated November 13, 2018
727 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Gensler Executive Directors Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
362 Ratings

727 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great career support and work/life balance" (in 24 reviews)

  • "is in large the great people that work there" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance is not always in balance" (in 38 reviews)

  • "High pressure deadlines, long hours (varies on project to project basis)" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Company Culture & Inspiring People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    One thing that really stands out to me is the company culture and how Gensler makes people the #1 priority. I go to work excited every day knowing that I have a chance to make a difference in peoples lives.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work and dedication to finding incredible talent!

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  2. "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Architect in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Creative, innovative, collaborative and fun group of people to be working with.

    Cons

    None, please se the Pros comments

    Advice to Management

    The One-Firm Firm formula certainly works in sustaining Gensler practice for decades.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate but progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    +Work with clients with budgets
    +Have all the resources you need
    +Overall positive people
    +Lots of free drinks
    +Great learning experience for young designers

    Cons

    -A lot of talk about innovation, but not a lot of proof. More interested in pleasing the client which is good for business, but lacking in design.
    -Very political - it's exhausting
    -If you want to get anything changed, or switch studios you have to jump through a lot of hoops. (They tell you its easy to switch studios but it's not)

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  4. "Great Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work for. Good round of people.

    Cons

    Management needs to hear out there employees more and get more help from them when following up on issues around the office.

    Advice to Management

    Give more responsibility to your staff members. Trust your staff members more.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  5. "Changed my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal & Managing Director in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Principal & Managing Director in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    More than an employer- a lifestyle, a family, a way to learn, to apply design excellence to tough client challenges, and grow long term friendships.

    Cons

    So much to offer that without direction and conviction, one can get bogged down.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote Gensler's unique culture to those new to the firm- it is the secret for sustaining a career in th face of change.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worth it, until it’s not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Strategist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Exposure to great design thinking, interesting projects for cool clients.

    Cons

    Same exposure is exclusive. Favoritism is rampant. Growth can be limited and hyper competitive. It’s a worthwhile skill and resume builder, but know when to move on.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn, fast-paced, collaborative.

    Cons

    Very political, do not frequently promote from the inside, long-hours and demanding clients/principals can contribute to quick "burn-out"

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your lower level employees' concerns and show your appreciation for their hard work over time.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.

  8. "Good times and bad ones too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Company culture, office environment and compensation

    Cons

    Not enough interesting work, many people persistently underemployed

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  9. "Great Firm to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Lotta great work to go around

    Cons

    Lack of transparency in certain studios

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  10. "Exciting workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gensler full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Exciting workplace with something always happening!

    Cons

    Easy to get lost in the weeds. Difficult to get promoted.

    Gensler Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


Showing 727 of 808 reviews
Reset Filters