Gensler Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
507 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes overloaded with work, so work-life balance is hard(in 47 reviews)

  • "long hours at times, definitely a very corporate structure(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    easy going work environment for all

    Cons

    long commute to city for me

    Gensler2020-02-26

    Gensler Response

    February 26, 2020Gensler Response

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  2. "The firm for all aspiring architects that take architecture seriously at the highest level"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Architect in New York, NY

    I have been working at Gensler part-time

    Pros

    Creative expresison and life in New York

    Cons

    No cons, just a greate place

    Gensler2020-06-02
  3. "When Covid-19 Hit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I've never seen leadership work as hard, care as much or strive towards success for their team as ours have in the face of these unprecedented times. Being a leader is tough no matter what challenge you face - however, in light of recent events, I've seen our leaders push themselves to protect their employees, clients and projects more than I have in the 5+ years I've been at this firm. -People care about you like you're family -Expectations are high but they've made me a better designer, employee and human being -Opportunities are endless -You're encouraged to speak your mind, have a seat at the table and make a difference in the work that you do every day. -Agility to react to today's new normal and still continue to produce great design work. The leadership and all individuals are constantly exploring new ways to collaborate virtually and maintain a deliverable of excellence.

    Cons

    -Working from home means I don't get to see my work family every day in person.

    Continue reading
    Gensler2020-05-29

    Gensler Response

    June 1, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success.

  4. "test"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    good workplace and amenities, technology focused

    Cons

    high turnover, starting to miss culture of small office

    Gensler2020-05-29

    Gensler Response

    June 1, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success.

  5. Helpful (7)

    "Only for Good Times"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of Talented People

    Cons

    Will kick you out as soon as times are rough... so much for family

    Continue reading
    Gensler2020-05-27

    Gensler Response

    June 1, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Providing honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

  6. "Company Summary"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice benefit package, and work/life balance, diversity of project type

    Cons

    Office politic, gossips, back stabbers

    Gensler2020-06-04
  7. "Great starting job"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Professional Intern in Houston, TX

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    An inspiring place to work

    Cons

    Not included in design meetings

    Gensler2020-05-18

    Gensler Response

    May 19, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  8. "Corporate Design FTW"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company, successful large design firm, many many great people.

    Cons

    Everyone knows, a machine has cogs.

    Gensler2020-05-18

    Gensler Response

    May 19, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "when you're here you're family"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bim Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    good people to work with family vibe

    Cons

    too political at times more business than architecture

    Gensler2020-05-13

    Gensler Response

    May 14, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Encouraging our people to ask questions and share their perspectives is fundamental to our firm’s culture.

  10. Helpful (13)

    "Watch Out Below!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well-run business, client-focused. Solid design. Consistent profitability, with bonuses and profit-sharing. Strong learning programs.

    Cons

    It's all about the money. During the COVID-19, layoffs at Gensler are happening quickly, the 'family' culture is quickly discarded when the economy slows and margins shrink.

    Continue reading
    Gensler2020-04-30

    Gensler Response

    May 1, 2020

    Our world and our communities have been thrust into an unprecedented crisis that changes daily. This is causing upheaval and uncertainty in our economy. Unfortunately, we are seeing an impact in our business. As a firm that values its people, these decisions are extremely difficult. We will continue to do everything we can to make our team member experience as rewarding as possible. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

Found 969 reviews