Gensler Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Reviews

Updated January 18, 2019
751 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
378 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The work life balance is pretty good, if you find yourself working in a good project which most are" (in 25 reviews)

  • "is in large the great people that work there" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance is not always in balance" (in 38 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary (can be long hours, navigating politics)" (in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Collaboration work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    - Great for hybrids, coming from different kinds of educations;
    - never seen before, that all kind of creative professions work together „in room“, therefore able to deliver holistic results;
    - You always have the chance to take a peek into other departments / - and maybe work, if you are good;

    Cons

    - No clear regulations to get promoted;
    - Long processes to get hired, if through HR;

    Gensler Response

    Jan 18, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing such terrific feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    easy to work for , good benefits

    Cons

    don't have any about this place

    Gensler Response

    Jan 18, 2019 – Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing such terrific feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our alumni!

  3. "Studio Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Studio Director
    Current Employee - Studio Director
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    An excellent place to be, positive and everyone works together to have an impact on the firm, people and world.

    Cons

    Long hours, weekends, holidays... it’s your firm mentality and must always take the call.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do, thank you!

    Gensler Response

    Dec 26, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing such tremendous feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!


  4. "Best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Project Architect in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive leadership, great opportunities, fun projects, work hard and play hard, all leadership is accessible, compensation is fair

    Cons

    Sometimes transparency is lacking when communicating to junior staff. More openness and candidness would go a long way.

    Gensler Response

    Dec 18, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing such tremendous feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people and our alumni!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Celebrating 20 Years with Gensler!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    I really do feel valued and the opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    Because everyone's perspective is taken into account, decisions are slow to be made and implemented.

    Gensler Response

    Dec 13, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people and our alumni and appreciate your candor.


  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Designer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great resources, efficiency, access to wealth of knowledge, flexible, adaptive. Overall, I would definitely recommend the company. I have been so happy here since I started, and it's obvious that the company really values their employees.

    Cons

    Pay could be a bit higher in cities, need better coffee in the office

    Advice to Management

    Reviews/check ins from senior positions (even DMs/PMs) more often and more hands-on than "How are things going?" on projects could be very beneficial. This could be more in-depth internal reviews of CDs (would be extremely helpful, especially for newer people), more in-depth review of final finishes and intent.

    Gensler Response

    Dec 13, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people and our alumni and appreciate your candor.


  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Tester in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - QA Tester in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, PTO, culture, benefits

    Cons

    Technical skills not recognized or appreciated, takes time to fit in

    Gensler Response

    Dec 26, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just had 20 year milestone at Gensler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Principal in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Having recently reached my 20 year milestone at the firm, I am proud to say I work at Gensler. I have seen the firm consistently evolve during this time due to a constant dedication to improvement and being on the leading edge. The exceptional leadership and talented colleagues make coming to work a pleasure!

    Cons

    Our local competitors use our size against us, which sometimes creates challenges with potential new clients.

    Advice to Management

    Retaining talent is critical with all of the growth in the last 10 years. It's important to support our team through a strong mentoring culture. Firm initiatives would benefit from input from younger colleagues to support inclusiveness.

    Gensler Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.


  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    opportunities to challenge oneself, great culture, high-quality work

    Cons

    salaries are a bit on the low side

    Gensler Response

    Dec 21, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people and our alumni!


  10. "Awesome Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    1) Great culture
    2) Inspiring leaders
    3) Incredible retirement benefits

    Cons

    1) Mobility can be a challenge
    2) Training /Learning investments could be improved

    Advice to Management

    The Co-CEO global calls are great. Please keep doing those and perhaps even shorter video-interview updates to the global staff. Your words of encouragement and statements of purpose keep everyone focused.

    Gensler Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Gensler Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We greatly appreciate the willingness of our people and our alumni to make their voices heard.