Gensler Intern - Hourly Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 809 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Gensler CEO Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
406 Ratings
  1. "People-First Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      As someone who has developed their career at Gensler, I can say without hesitation that this firm is one-of-a-kind. There is a clear focus on developing people, and growing people that is evidenced by philanthropic initiatives, collaborative leadership opportunities, career development opportunities, global & local work, and many planned professional events. What’s more, the work that we do and the caliber of clients...

      Show More

      Cons

      None in my experience.

      Gensler2019-05-17

      Gensler Response

      May 20, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people.

    • "Great environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Architect in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Creative atmosphere Family Great events and networking opportunities

      Cons

      Long hours Quick deadlines More work for those who want it

      Gensler2019-05-24
    • "Great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      For its industry, the firm is remarkably forward-thinking and innovation focused. Great benefits. PTO and compensation are good, but not during your first few years. Gensler cares about their employees, the experience of working at Gensler, and about engaging its employees.

      Cons

      If you're a marketing professional at a design firm in an administrative function, you will not experience the full range of professional development opportunities that the firm is able to offer design professionals.

      Advice to Management

      The firm needs to invest even more in technology, and after doing so needs to support its workers in utilizing these technologies for greater efficiency and outcomes.

      Gensler2019-05-24
    • "Long hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Designer in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Projects are awesome and people talented, def a place to work to learn and understand a different vision, strategy and simply perspective on design.

      Cons

      Hours are long, life balance difficult, and the turn over ends up being very high.

      Gensler2019-05-20

      Gensler Response

      May 23, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the feedback. We love to hear from our people and want everyone to make their voice heard.

    • "Creative and Supportive Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Regional Counsel in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Gensler is exactly the exciting and creative company it appears to be. It is a large company that does world class international projects, but still manages to create a family feel amongst its people. Everyone is respectful and makes an effort to support each other and give you the opportunity to grow and advance your career.

      Cons

      Maternity leave benefits may be comparable to other similar architecture firms, but are not on par with what other professions provide.

      Gensler2019-05-07

      Gensler Response

      May 8, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the terrific feedback! We love to hear from our people!

    • "Ok place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Accountant in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I liked my PM's a good bit

      Cons

      did not like my manager

      Gensler2019-05-20

      Gensler Response

      May 23, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your time with Gensler!

    • "Interior Design Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Interior Design Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Work culture is fantastic, and everyone is willing to help you / want to see you grow.

      Cons

      None, besides overtime but you get paid for the hours.

      Gensler2019-04-27

      Gensler Response

      April 29, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for such fantastic feedback! We love to hear from our alumni!

    • Helpful (1)

      "HR Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time

      Pros

      Fun employee events, cool office space

      Cons

      Equity, focus on people and culture

      Advice to Management

      Be transparent and communicative

      Gensler2019-05-07

      Gensler Response

      May 8, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We want our people to make their voices heard.

    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Gensler full-time

        Pros

        Been at Gensler for 3 years! There is a reason they are the top in design industry

        Cons

        Haven’t found one yet.

        Gensler2019-04-23

        Gensler Response

        May 1, 2019Gensler Response

        Thanks for the fantastic feedback! We love to hear from our people!

      • Helpful (1)

        "Interior Designer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Gensler

          Pros

          Learned about the business side of design and worked with world-class clients and talented people. Beautiful offices and competitive benefits.

          Cons

          The design process is mostly business driven, so true design excellence and treating team members professionally is often not part of this process. Projects are mostly structured so managers can present ‘efficiency and high profit margins’ to upper leadership, this is not always conducive to a healthy team culture.

          Advice to Management

          Evolve to keep up with the new economy. Encourage leaders to invest in their people providing true mentorship.

          Gensler2019-05-03

          Gensler Response

          May 6, 2019Gensler Response

          Thanks for the feedback! We love to hear from our alumni!

        Found 809 reviews