Gensler Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 807 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Gensler CEO Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
406 Ratings
  1. "Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Projects are awesome and people talented, def a place to work to learn and understand a different vision, strategy and simply perspective on design.

    Cons

    Hours are long, life balance difficult, and the turn over ends up being very high.

    Gensler2019-05-20
  2. "Ok place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Accountant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I liked my PM's a good bit

    Cons

    did not like my manager

    Gensler2019-05-20
  3. "People-First Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      As someone who has developed their career at Gensler, I can say without hesitation that this firm is one-of-a-kind. There is a clear focus on developing people, and growing people that is evidenced by philanthropic initiatives, collaborative leadership opportunities, career development opportunities, global & local work, and many planned professional events. What’s more, the work that we do and the caliber of clients...

      Show More

      Cons

      None in my experience.

      Gensler2019-05-17

      Gensler Response

      May 20, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people.

    • "Creative and Supportive Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Regional Counsel in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Gensler is exactly the exciting and creative company it appears to be. It is a large company that does world class international projects, but still manages to create a family feel amongst its people. Everyone is respectful and makes an effort to support each other and give you the opportunity to grow and advance your career.

      Cons

      Maternity leave benefits may be comparable to other similar architecture firms, but are not on par with what other professions provide.

      Gensler2019-05-07

      Gensler Response

      May 8, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the terrific feedback! We love to hear from our people!

    • Helpful (1)

      "HR Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time

      Pros

      Fun employee events, cool office space

      Cons

      Equity, focus on people and culture

      Advice to Management

      Be transparent and communicative

      Gensler2019-05-07

      Gensler Response

      May 8, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We want our people to make their voices heard.

    • "Truly an International work culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Design Manager in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Terrific leadership at the top (Andy Cohen, Diane Hoskins & Dan Winey to name a few). Good work culture, Best employee benefits , best industry standards , Good opportunities to learn across different verticals at firmwide level.

      Cons

      It gets too political at times especially when it comes to internal promotions. Too many undeserving candidates at Associates & senior associates level (especially in Abu Dhabi - Dubai office). Low Salaries compared to market standards but decent employee benefits like bonuses and Profit sharing covers up to some extent.

      Advice to Management

      Change in management at local level ( Middle East) will help in improving the local work culture and employee turnover issues . Good employees have moved out because of incompetent local management in past couple of years. And the true potential of Gensler work culture hasn’t been realized and thus effected the market capitalization and visibility in the Middle East of a great company like Gensler. I hope the top management...

      Show More
      Gensler2019-05-07

      Gensler Response

      May 9, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the feedback. We love to hear from our people and appreciate your willingness to share your thoughts.

    • Helpful (9)

      "Underneath its shiny, smiling exterior, lies a greedy and toxic corporate culture."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Many people there start out as really good. Some even stay that way. There are some really talented and intelligent people at Gensler. Others are even experienced and skilled. However none of these pros are what the place is about.

      Cons

      Gensler is anything but a meritocracy. It’s a political shark tank, with principals swarming one another for power. Cozy up to the wrong person or fail to cozy up to the right one and your career goes down the drain. A belief that doing good work is a path to success will get you nowhere at Gensler. Instead you must avoid work and spend all of your time and energy self promoting and building relationships which you can...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I have one word for you and it’s decency. A huge dose of decency would help this place a lot. Some authentic leadership would help a lot too but the fish rots from the head so I can’t imagine anyone caring enough to bother. There’s too much power to be gained and too much money to be made.

      Gensler2019-05-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Interior Designer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Gensler

        Pros

        Learned about the business side of design and worked with world-class clients and talented people. Beautiful offices and competitive benefits.

        Cons

        The design process is mostly business driven, so true design excellence and treating team members professionally is often not part of this process. Projects are mostly structured so managers can present ‘efficiency and high profit margins’ to upper leadership, this is not always conducive to a healthy team culture.

        Advice to Management

        Evolve to keep up with the new economy. Encourage leaders to invest in their people providing true mentorship.

        Gensler2019-05-03

        Gensler Response

        May 6, 2019Gensler Response

        Thanks for the feedback! We love to hear from our alumni!

      • Helpful (2)

        "Great people, but too much going on"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Architect in Houston, TX

        I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        The people are really smart, engaging and supportive Interesting projects and a lot of variety if you want to change what you work on Lots of opportunities to advance and to pursue your passions

        Cons

        Too many non-work related distractions, happy hours and meetings. You have to actively disengage in order to be productive Everyone at mid to senior level experience seems like they are spread too thin which sets an unhealthy example and burns out teams. Doesn't make sense because there are so many perks and overhead staff here that smaller offices don't have It is harder to work here if you are an introvert

        Advice to Management

        Set boundaries and a good example of work-life balance

        Gensler2019-05-01

        Gensler Response

        May 1, 2019Gensler Response

        Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We want our people to make their voices heard.

      • Helpful (1)

        "Toxic Work Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Interior Designer in Austin, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        ESOP and Profit-Sharing can be lucrative.

        Cons

        Gensler Austin has a stiflingly oppressive work culture where teams and individuals are pitted against each other for projects; no collaboration. Leadership plays favorites and those in middle management are self-serving. Must be willing to play heavy politics.

        Gensler2019-04-30

        Gensler Response

        May 1, 2019Gensler Response

        Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We want our people to make their voices heard.

      Found 807 reviews