Gensler "large firm" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Employee Reviews about "large firm"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 809 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Gensler CEO Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
406 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is so much going on, it is too easy to let work/life balance take a back seat(in 40 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary (can be long hours, navigating politics)(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "large firm"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Balanced work environment and good culture that encourages people to help each other

      Cons

      Large firm, sometimes people need to speak louder to be heard and work harder to stand out

      Gensler2018-01-13

      Gensler Response

      January 16, 2018Gensler Response

      Wow! Thanks for sharing such terrific feedback! We certainly agree that our people are our firm’s greatest asset and appreciate your mention of our balanced work environment and culture of sharing and teamwork. Thanks again for the feedback and for everything you do on behalf of our ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good environment & people, but relentless pace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good projects, lots of resources, generally good work environment and people. Firm is fairly open with the finances, but only up to a certain point.

      Cons

      Strong push for high profitability means nicer than average bonuses, but also leads to people being stretched very thin. No one has time to teach others, let alone mentor. Most training done on personal time, which is not what I expected for such a large firm.

      Advice to Management

      Maybe a slightly lower profit margin is ok. Although management says it's about "people, projects, profit", the day-to-day translates into profit, projects, people.

      Gensler2017-11-14

      Gensler Response

      November 14, 2017Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking a moment to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our colleagues throughout the world and appreciate your endorsement of our work environment and people. Our firm remains committed to helping our practitioners design rewarding career ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      -amazing company culture with lunch and learns and happy hours once a week and tons of events going on -working with a lot of very talented, creative people with a ton of valuable experience who are willing to be hands on -working on some of the largest, most well known projects in the world -great employee stock program, retirement plan, benefits and bonuses -room for growth

      Cons

      -working for a large firm which can sometimes make you feel like you don't have a say and you're just another employee -which can also cause a lot of politics within each studio

      Gensler2017-02-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Interior Designer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time

      Pros

      Care a lot about employee growth. Good benefits and bonus packages.

      Cons

      Large firm, so tend to specialize employees into project types quickly.

      Gensler2017-01-17
    • "Senior Executive Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gensler

      Pros

      Lots of different groups to join socially, Your voice counts - all ideas are welcome! If you like to collaborate with many different people - Gensler is the place to be! Family oriented firm.

      Cons

      Don't be scared by a large firm - you are not just a number at Gensler - everyone counts! -

      Gensler2016-10-03
    • "Project Architect"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Architect in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gensler for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Culture Culture Culture. They work hard to take care of the employees with benefits, make it a fun place to work with events after hours, and keep you inspired with informal design and socializing opportunities. It is the upside of what a big firm can be- they leverage their resources to hire and retain top talent.

      Cons

      Of course at a large firm, it is easy to get pigeon-holed or stuck in a rut, if you don't take charge of your own fate. There simply isn't the time for leadership to micro-manage enough to ensure that everyone is happy, doing what and headed where they want. That said, they are always supportive if you take the initiative to have those conversations and pursue your passions....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Perhaps we should find better ways to reach out to the quiet ones, the ones that don't take ahold of their own vectors or don't know how to take initiative. Good talent can get lost in the shuffle and may end up at smaller firms where they feel more comfortable or more valued.

      Gensler2016-10-03
    • Helpful (8)

      "Designer - Interiors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Interior Designer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You will learn new skills and add the biggest name in design to your CV. It will open many doors to you. Stay for the name then jump to more fun and inclusive firms.

      Cons

      Bureaucratic, governed by office politics. If you believe in your own design skills and views this is not the place for you. At gensler you are, like in any large firm of this size, just a number in a money making machine. Its like joining a scientology cult. Not suitable for designers who enjoy having a voice. Everyone is there fighting for the next round of promotions or bonuses....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat employees as people not numbers. Many awards and events dont make 'teams' cohesive.

      Gensler2016-06-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      It's a large company but most people treat each other very well regardless titles. Potential to work on a wide range of project types in different locations. Great benefit compare to other architecture firm, pays overtime. Profit share plan adds up nicely and bonus can be very good.

      Cons

      Base salary is not great compare to other large firm. Quality of design may vary among different studios.

      Gensler2015-12-17
    • "Wonderful Place to Gain Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Technical Designer in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Fast paced atmosphere with wonderful people who are eager to help teach younger staff. The benefits are great and you have access to a variety of great resources (technology, knowledge, materials, etc). Since the firm does work in every practice area imaginable, you also have the opportunity to work on a variety of project types and sizes.

        Cons

        It is a large firm with some very large offices which can be a bit overwhelming at times.

        Advice to Management

        Keeping the studios on the smaller side helps with the culture and not making it seem like you are working at a 5000 person firm.

        Gensler2015-12-10
      • "Student Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

        I worked at Gensler

        Pros

        up beat staff, access to software,access to Revit training and lots of IDP hours

        Cons

        Large firm, not too much one on one time with supervisors. Repetitive tasks.

        Gensler2015-08-17
      Found 809 reviews