Gensler Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jul 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
580 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance, too competitive at times(in 48 reviews)

  • "Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company if you're passionate about design"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Designer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High profile clients, company culture is a heavy focus, working with the best designers, all hours worked are paid for (overtime included for licensed/certified professionals)

    Cons

    Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing

    Gensler Response

    June 15, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive.

  2. Helpful (6)

    "No growth opportunity for females"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great talent and supportive peer groups. The firm supports continued learning programs.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth if you don’t have an advocate. Lots of cronyism and boys club mentality. Long hours are a given.

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    July 7, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Poorly Managed Projects but Great Opp"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great projects to add to portfolio, gained experience

    Cons

    Poorly managed projects (all-around), unbalanced client relationships, long hours, "per case basis" overtime pay

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    July 13, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive and will share your comments with leadership .

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Life in Overhead"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, Happy Hours, Events, Environment

    Cons

    Day-to-day work goes unrecognized if in overhead position, long hours, high demands/expectations outside of 8/5 work day

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    April 27, 2020

    Thanks for the feedback. We treat workplace concerns seriously and address them in accordance with our internal policies and procedures. We have multiple channels for reporting issues and we train and encourage our team members to use them. Encouraging everyone to ask questions and provide honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

  5. "Designer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gensler part-time

    Pros

    The team environment was good

    Cons

    Long hours gave me headache

    Gensler Response

    March 17, 2020Gensler Response

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall great opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Designer 

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and hard working staff. Everyone is willing to talk through design problems and help

    Cons

    Long hours and no work life balance.

    Gensler Response

    November 20, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive.

  7. "Great path for career growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic location and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Long hours and overtime, but the pay is worth it

    Gensler Response

    November 14, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Poor Senior Managment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High Salary, Good Benefits, Great co-workers

    Cons

    Long hours, terrible commute, lacks work-life balance

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    November 12, 2019Gensler Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We treat workplace concerns seriously and address them in accordance with our internal policies and procedures. We have multiple channels for reporting issues, including direct access to leadership and HR professionals within our firm, as well as by phone or webform. We train and encourage our team members to use the channel that they are most comfortable with. Encouraging everyone to ask questions and provide honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Working at Gensler"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who make it a fun environment. A lot of talented people who come here to be the best in corporate design.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours and politics rule every single aspect. Firm is extremely money driven and doesn't care about employee happiness if it means spending a few extra dollars.

    Gensler Response

    September 16, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback. We encourage all our people to ask questions and provide honest feedback. Doing so is fundamental to our firm's culture, as well as our values of integrity, trust, and mutual respect.

  10. "Great environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Architect in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Creative atmosphere Family Great events and networking opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours Quick deadlines More work for those who want it

    Gensler Response

    May 24, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback! We want our people to make their voices heard!

Found 48 reviews