KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Gensler

Engaged Employer

Gensler

Add a Review

Gensler Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 of over 1,459 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
744 Ratings
Pros
  • "easy going work environment for all(in 65 reviews)

  • "Working with great people and great design(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing(in 55 reviews)

  • "hard to achieve work-life balance due to heavy load on works(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Gensler and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Dec 16, 2020 - Design Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Entrepreneurial, horizontal structure that allows you to grow and pursue your interests.

      Cons

      Long hours, sometimes ambiguous roles and hard to find your way.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      No room for growth

      Jan 23, 2021 - Job Captain in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looks great on a resume and exit opportunities but you won’t advance much. Learn what you can for a few years and then leave for better pay

      Cons

      Long hours, terrible leadership, self centered team members

      1 person found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Encouraging our people to ask questions and share their perspectives is fundamental to our firm’s culture. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Community!

      Nov 23, 2020 - Interior Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you work with really bring Gensler alive, along with the amazing culture and shared strive to make incredible design.

      Cons

      Long hours but you get overtime.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      No growth opportunity for females

      Jul 6, 2020 - Senior Associate in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great talent and supportive peer groups. The firm supports continued learning programs.

      Cons

      Not much opportunity for growth if you don’t have an advocate. Lots of cronyism and boys club mentality. Long hours are a given.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Technical Designer

      Sep 30, 2020 - Technical Designer in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of resources, mentor ship, research and grant opportunities, effective leadership

      Cons

      Long hours and fast paced

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate our alumni and value their perspectives.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Life in Overhead

      Apr 21, 2020 - Marketing Coordinator in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, Happy Hours, Events, Environment

      Cons

      Day-to-day work goes unrecognized if in overhead position, long hours, high demands/expectations outside of 8/5 work day

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for the feedback. We treat workplace concerns seriously and address them in accordance with our internal policies and procedures. We have multiple channels for reporting issues and we train and encourage our team members to use them. Encouraging everyone to ask questions and provide honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company if you're passionate about design

      Jun 10, 2020 - Interior Designer in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High profile clients, company culture is a heavy focus, working with the best designers, all hours worked are paid for (overtime included for licensed/certified professionals)

      Cons

      Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sleepless in Manhattan

      Nov 1, 2020 - Junior Architect in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The firm carries a reputation from its earlier days that looks good on your resume

      Cons

      Lack of leadership Long hours Too many options Lack of experience

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive and will share your comments with leadership .

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      N/A

      Oct 13, 2020 - Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Promoting employees within the company

      Cons

      Hard work life balance, long hours

      1 person found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      ok

      Sep 29, 2020 - Project Architect in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      different fields of architecture to try.

      Cons

      long hours, hard to grow.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate our alumni and value their perspectives.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gensler Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gensler? Share Your Experiences

    or