KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Gensler

Engaged Employer

Gensler

Add a Review

Gensler Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 1,459 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
744 Ratings
Pros
  • "easy going work environment for all(in 65 reviews)

  • "Working with great people and great design(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing(in 55 reviews)

  • "hard to achieve work-life balance due to heavy load on works(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Gensler and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Freelancer

      Great Corporate Culture

      Oct 28, 2020 - Interior Designer in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are very nice. Not only the work environment feels like family to me, also the people are very appreciative and supportive to coworkers that has family.

      Cons

      I cannot find any cons working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great legacy and potential, but leadership needs to evolve.

      Apr 21, 2020 - Administrative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big firm with big resources. Compensation and benefits (including overtime pay, ESOP, bonuses) are above industry standards. Opportunity for advancement, and a culture that rewards hard work, ingenuity, creativity, and a "get-it-done" attitude. Great staff full of talented, passionate people who truly care about their work. Environment can be a bit catty sometimes, with big personalities to be managed and corralled, but this is typical of creative environments, and not anything that a professional shouldn't be able to navigate. Great place to learn, grow, try new things, have fun, and challenge yourself. I sincerely hope they can rebound quickly from the current situation caused by the virus.

      Cons

      Big firms can be top heavy, and this one rewards bad behavior in a big way at the higher levels. SouthCentral is run by a regional manager who's been with the firm for almost half a century, enjoys free reign, and runs the entire region like personal pet project, all while displaying a shocking level of illiteracy about the work and the technology that powers it. Nepotism, favoritism, rudeness, unilateral decision making and credit taking are all common, well-documented, and for some reason allowed and tolerated by firmwide leadership. It's disheartening, and makes it hard to get behind the good bits of Gensler.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Providing honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic company culture

      Dec 1, 2020 - Interior Designer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very talented people and interesting projects. The company is very involved in learning and growth initiatives.

      Cons

      Upper management creates a fairly toxic work environment. There is a strong "every man for himself attitude" here. Employees may end up working close to 60 hours a week to get the project work complete but are discouraged from technically working more than 40.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive and will share your comments with leadership .

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work, but always have a backup plan.

      Aug 29, 2020 - Technical Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Team. Great Projects. Great Work Environment

      Cons

      The winds of change move fast at Gensler. Have an ally that's making projects or business calls. Otherwise, ALWAYS have a career backup. You'll be out as fast as your orientation to come work there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Encouraging our people to ask questions and share their perspectives is fundamental to our firm’s culture. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay

      Jan 13, 2021 - Project Accountant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits and Good work environment

      Cons

      too much Work and very Low pay compared to the workload

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Encouraging our people to ask questions and share their perspectives is fundamental to our firm’s culture. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company & Culture

      Apr 27, 2020 - Administrative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to develop relationships — coworkers are fun, supportive, easy going. Good opportunities for career growth, learning.

      Cons

      Work environment can be challenging, but rewarding. Leadership often times do not make decisions quickly, often delaying processes and forcing people to play catch up. Very high, if sometimes unrealistic, expectations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      great place to work

      Feb 25, 2020 - Architectural Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy going work environment for all

      Cons

      long commute to city for me

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Gensler Response

      Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

    8. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      intern

      Feb 17, 2020 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Environment is pretty nice

      Cons

      Work load is much much

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Marketing Speicalist

      Mar 6, 2019 - Markteing Specialist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gensler has an incredibly creative work environment. Every office has a slightly different level of formality, but Houston is pretty professional. I love the nature of my work (fast paced is an understatement) and the company culture. It's a pretty entrepreneurial place, which suits me, so I often get to get involved in things that interest me outside my job description. The people are downright amazing too. More than anywhere else I've ever worked, they are helpful, kind, and make me feel valued.

      Cons

      There isn't a defined path for marketers, which creates a lot of opportunity but also a lot of ambiguity. If you aren't outspoken about what you want or have a mentor to champion your growth, you can easily stall.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for sharing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people and appreciate everything you shared. Celebrating our diversity and providing every person with professional development opportunities remain priorities for our firm. We appreciate feedback on these issues and relish the chance to better understand our people and their perspectives.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Progressive!

      Nov 6, 2019 - Internship in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very collaborative, flexible work environment, inspiring and well-developed internship program

      Cons

      Expensive city to live in on intern pay with minimal support finding housing

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gensler Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gensler? Share Your Experiences

    or