Gensler "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gensler Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 807 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Gensler CEO Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
406 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is so much going on, it is too easy to let work/life balance take a back seat(in 40 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary (can be long hours, navigating politics)(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The work-life balance is really good. Projects are good.

    Cons

    I feel Gensler does not have cons.

    Gensler2019-03-31

    Gensler Response

    April 1, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the fantastic feedback! We love to hear from our people!

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Employment at Gensler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The ability to grow in the firm and the work life balance is pretty decent.

    Cons

    Management needs to be improved. You are sometimes treated as a number rather than a person. They use you here for the full advantage of the companies benefit. Most of the time the company thrives on you competing with your peers on projects instead of working together to come up with the solution.

    Gensler2019-03-19

    Gensler Response

    March 20, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for leaving feedback on your experience at Gensler. We always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our alumni.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Gensler is a great place for people who are ready to build a "career" in Architecture, not just a "job". Lots of support for pursuing passions around architecture. Incredible talent and diversity. Strong culture around design.

    Cons

    There is so much going on, it is too easy to let work/life balance take a back seat.

    Gensler2019-02-04

    Gensler Response

    February 5, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing such terrific feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!

  4. "Massive machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Provides resources for learning (on your own time), bonuses.

    Cons

    No respect for work life balance - managers think it’s fine to over work people since they do pay overtime. Favoritism directly influences promotions, star project staffing and leadership roles. Non-competitive salaries, and once you are hired don’t ever expect any significant raises.

    Advice to Management

    Overhaul and retrain project managers. Unconscious (or maybe even calling out conscious) bias training could do wonders.

    Gensler2019-02-28

    Gensler Response

    February 28, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  5. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Tester in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, PTO, culture, benefits

    Cons

    Technical skills not recognized or appreciated, takes time to fit in

    Gensler2018-12-22

    Gensler Response

    December 26, 2018Gensler Response

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!

  6. "Warm and Welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Although we are a larger firm, I never feel like a small part here. It feels as though a warm sense of welcome exudes from the top down. I genuinely feel as though the company has my best interests at heart, not only professionally but from a work-life balance perspective as well. All this contributes to my drive to succeed here at Gensler because I know they have my back!

    Cons

    slight improvement for growth opportunity withing firm may help

    Gensler2018-09-17

    Gensler Response

    May 20, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great firm with amazing opportunities for young designer like myself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Gensler possesses the talent, resources and standing of a world class firm yet the studio environment has the intimacy of a small office. I have been able to pursue my own interests and tie them to my work life, for example being able to participate in and create my own mentor programs within the firm. The people are generally amazing and very nice. The work life balance is pretty good, if you find yourself working...

    Show More

    Cons

    Although we have a strong vision as firm, it can sometimes feel fabricated and forced upon us. The culture at our particular office has changed and evolved over my first four years. Some projects can be tedious, long and repetitive with long hours and if you find yourself stuck on them it is very hard to get out and stay motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in mentoring the younger employees as it can be the reason they stay motivated, continue to grow and ultimately stay with the firm. In my case I've had very good opportunities and strong mentor relationships but I know of some coworkers at my level who have not had the same fortune as me.

    Gensler2018-08-28

    Gensler Response

    May 20, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people!

  8. "great office culture and endless opportunties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    great office culture that promotes creative thinking; opportunity to pursue work in areas of your choosing; competitive benefits and compensation; approachable leadership; all around a great place to work- at the top of the industry

    Cons

    specific to office location- resources are not always allocated appropriately, there is a lot of talking and not enough action; internal communication is not a strong suit; you have to put in long hours before work/life balance becomes a reality (not necessarily a bad thing)

    Advice to Management

    make clear decisions and communicate well

    Gensler2018-08-14

    Gensler Response

    May 20, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback! We want every person at our firm to make their voice heard.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Entrepreneurial Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to carve out your own role, wonderful projects, work-life balance, great colleagues and stand-out benefits. The network is strong!

    Cons

    At this time, no cons.

    Gensler2018-08-01

    Gensler Response

    May 20, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people!

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Overall Amazing, But Low Salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance is amazing. They take staffing and planning very seriously to ensure everyone works exactly 40 hours. And there's paid overtime in the rare event you work more than 40. There is a ton of collaboration across offices. It's pretty amazing how well they do this. Decent bonuses twice a year based on how well Gensler is doing. The caliber of client and overall opportunities are fantastic. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary is lower than average and not very competitive. There are a ton of mandatory internal meetings that are always scheduled during lunch. And they consider all to be "donated time" and therefore unbillable. Plus 9/10 times lunch is not provided. Parking is not free and this is was not disclosed during the interview process. Surprise! $100 per month you didn't consider while negotiating salary! Not dog...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate what a competitive salary is across the board. In particular, graphic designers and digital designers are being lowballed — marketing and ad agencies will continue to swoop all your talent up if you do not adjust your pay scale.

    Gensler2018-05-20

    Gensler Response

    May 22, 2018Gensler Response

    Thanks for sharing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your mention of the work-life balance we seek to help all our people achieve and the collaboration that’s such an integral component of our “we” family culture. We carefully consider all feedback we receive and ...

    Show More
Found 807 reviews