Gentex (Michigan) Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Gentex (Michigan) Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Gentex (Michigan) CEO Steve Downing
Steve Downing
3 Ratings
  1. "Great First Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Manufacturing Engineering in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of internship events People help you connect with others very easily Laid back atmosphere while being focused Most of the employees are very friendly Pay is standard

    Cons

    Finding projects to do can sometimes be difficult General system of how things work can be hard to understand at first

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-05-28
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Compensation is behind the industry

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-09-19
  3. "cool company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Support Engineer in Holland, MI

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good training and nice informative people

    Cons

    have yet to find any cons

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many great people work for Gentex.

    Cons

    Politics is rampant, gossip is everywhere.

    Advice to Management

    promotions should be merit based and not a popularity contest.

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-06-12
  5. "Decent Benefits - overall good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineering Technician in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Most people are very easy to get along with and happy to work there.

    Cons

    Largely depends on where you work, but it can be tough to deal with under educated TMS's who don't care. Underwhelming pay. Would much rather my bonus be a built in portion of my salary.

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay = better talent.

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-05-06
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer Tech in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, Decent pay, Easy going

    Cons

    Average raises, Working Weekends, Inconsistent Hours

    Advice to Management

    Give better raises to those who deserve it

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-02-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not really rosy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Zeeland, MI

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros.

    Cons

    A lot comments were saying things like air, clean, free soft drinks, etc ... well, sugar drinks are not good way to keep yourself healthy. Most hourly workers do appreciate the air conditioned buildings, but for professional like me, it's not something I would brag about. Salary is low, do you really want to base your future on the bonus line, do you? 401k needs to be a year to be eligible. Stock options is a joke... with a lot of restrictions. Some of the 'pros' comments were saying good health care package, give me a break. High deductible plan is not something I'd call 'good'

    Show More
    Gentex (Michigan)2018-10-25
  8. "Fast Pace Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Inter in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of room for career development Many different roles available Expanding company Stock options for employees

    Cons

    Long Hours, Often Weekends Often first job is third or second shift work even for engineers

    Gentex (Michigan)2018-10-03
  9. "Production Support Engineer - 3rd shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gentex provides very well for their company. They take care of their employees, and have great bonuses. They emphasize learning how to do things on your own, and encourage networking. If you ask them, most people are very good about meeting with you to talk about their work, and give you advice. Work life balance is very important. Sometimes I have to work 6 days in a week, but my group leader will let me take off... days here and there without using my vacation.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working 3rd shift makes it hard to network with a lot of engineers that typically work on 1st shift. The management varies greatly from person to person, so you don't always know what to expect.

    Gentex (Michigan)2018-01-30
  10. "Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineer Intern in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) for less than a year

    Pros

    -they give you real projects that help the company and trust that you can bring something new to the table -great hands on experience -fantastic opportunities to network

    Cons

    -depending what area you work, you may have to work weekends or during some holidays (although it was optional for interns)

    Gentex (Michigan)2017-10-09
Found 45 reviews