Gentex (Michigan) Production Support Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Production Support Engineer

Gentex (Michigan) Production Support Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Gentex (Michigan) CEO Steve Downing
Steve Downing
0 Ratings
  1. "Production Support Engineer - 3rd shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gentex provides very well for their company. They take care of their employees, and have great bonuses. They emphasize learning how to do things on your own, and encourage networking. If you ask them, most people are very good about meeting with you to talk about their work, and give you advice. Work life balance is very important. Sometimes I have to work 6 days in a week, but my group leader will let me take off days here and there without using my vacation.

    Cons

    Working 3rd shift makes it hard to network with a lot of engineers that typically work on 1st shift. The management varies greatly from person to person, so you don't always know what to expect.

    Gentex (Michigan)2018-01-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good starter, out of college Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company had very large bonuses averaging from 16-22% quarterly (taxed a ton as all bonuses are). Many different areas doing vastly different things and using different technology. There is a lot of different jobs you can move in to and advancing technology you can learn. However,......

    Cons

    Pay was and still is to my knowledge WELL below industry standard. Production Support Engineers start out around $40k a year, that's with a shift premium and working on an off shift. It's hard to get from an off shift to days. Do your research, you can easily make $15-20k a year more in this area. The jobs that are available too you are vast, however there is quite the sense of brother-hood and commaraderie that makes a lot of them difficult to obtain. They tend to lead you in the direction of where they need you, not what's best for you long term. A lot of demand, and poorly planned resources means you work a ton of overtime and weekends.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2016-08-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Production Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Support Engineer in Holland, MI

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment and culture to work in! The work areas are always clean and in good working condition. Quarterly bonuses, stock options are available. There is room for growth.

    Cons

    Salaries are low. The bonuses and stock options can compensate for some of it, but it still comes out as a low annual salary in comparison to other companies.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2016-05-25
  4. "A Great Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Support Engineer in Grandville, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Coming out of college this was a great place to start, great culture and room to grow. -Bonus structure is great (however this is partially a con as well) -Management is committed to making you as successful as possible in your position. -The PSE role is a fantastic look into the product that made this company successful.

    Cons

    -If you are coming out of school, you are essentially forced into the PSE role regardless of aptitude for managing people. This may have changed since I was hired back in 2011. -Base salary is far lower that competitive companies, they make up for it with quarterly bonuses... which would be great if a recent grad only had expenses coming once a quarter. That's why I say this is a pro and con. -Just before I moved positions, the PSE role was stripped of the hands on and really technical duties. Which for me that didn't jive because of my desire to be hands on.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2016-02-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a very relaxed atmosphere. This makes it easy to get work done at a comfortable pace.

    Cons

    They have lower salaries than other companies around the area and in turn reward employees with stock options and bonuses. This is all well and good but if they have a rough year these things that level out salaries could go away.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2016-01-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for young engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place for young engineers to start, great core values, opportunities for growth, quarterly bonuses.

    Cons

    Engineers can put in long hours during busy seasons- depending on the department 50-60 hour workweeks are not uncommon. No overtime pay for production engineers.

    Gentex (Michigan)2014-09-23
  7. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of flexibility in hours worked as well as what your responsibilities or can be. it is up to you to go out and find a project to work on

    Cons

    pay isn't very significant and there aren't a ton of "intern" related events throughout the summer.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2014-07-04
  8. "love my work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    management actively works to develop you in the company.

    Cons

    communication between all the moving parts in a medium size company.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2014-04-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Highly technological company in a niche market with a focus on innovation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time

    Pros

    This place is an engineers playground. The company is so vertically integrated that as an engineer, you will have no problem finding something that suits your interest. The company has clear goals and vision and communicates well from management to employees. Everyone enjoys coming into work and there are a lot of young professionals within the company that are outgoing and enjoy happy hours and whatnot. Also, the location is absolutely beautiful in Western Mi, with something to always do. The company is also VERY big on promoting from within.

    Cons

    Most new engineers will have to work an off shift for the first 6-12 months. However will be able to go pretty much anywhere they want within the company after that.

    Gentex (Michigan)2012-10-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A good place to start and learn, which allowed me to move on to a bigger and better job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Support Engineer in Zeeland, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free soft drinks; new, modern, and clean facilities; innovative technology and products; quarterly bonuses; most of the people are friendly and nice. Gentex provides great training for new engineers: TWI, TPS, TPS Workshop, Leadership Launch Pad, DiSC Workplace Profile, etc.

    Cons

    Worked 55-60+ hours each week for a $40,000 salary, due to the company's overly lean mentality in which they are over focused on cost cutting and are always lacking in obtaining appropriate capital/equipment and staffing to meet customer demand. Many of my operators made more per year than I did since I didn't get paid overtime. Salary is based too heavily on stocks and quarterly bonuses. Work demand was too heavy for the amount they are willing to compensate. High turnover due to "burn out" (typically working 9 to 10 hour days and at least two weekends a month for the same $40,000 salary). Management often micro-manages, and there is a lack of communication from the top down (a lot of gossip and rumors) and suffers from the "in crowd" plague.

    Continue reading
    Gentex (Michigan)2012-07-29
Found 10 reviews