Gentex (Michigan) Reviews | Glassdoor

Gentex (Michigan) Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Gentex (Michigan) CEO Steve Downing
Steve Downing
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As long as the company is doing really well then profit sharing bonuses can help to alleviate this to some extent(in 7 reviews)

  • "On the lower end with the base salary(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent Benefits - overall good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineering Technician in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Most people are very easy to get along with and happy to work there.

    Cons

    Largely depends on where you work, but it can be tough to deal with under educated TMS's who don't care. Underwhelming pay. Would much rather my bonus be a built in portion of my salary.

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay = better talent.

    Gentex (Michigan)2019-05-06
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Wish the pay was more competitive

      Gentex (Michigan)2019-05-17
    • "Great place to work for with ample advancement opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      They have an incredibly employee focused approach to providing opportunities for advancement. A lot of onsite training programs give their employees a great route to prep themselves for management positions, or to seek out work in other departments. Tuition reimbursement is also provided to help you with gaining additional opportunities.

      Cons

      Not so much of a con, but it is an incredibly competitive environment. So it can make it difficult to advance if you are in a heavily populated department.

      Gentex (Michigan)2019-04-18
    • "Better than a lot of jobs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Production Team Member 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Quarterly bonus Tuition reimbursement Not customer service

      Cons

      The company is pretty big and sometimes it is hard to reach out to people in the company for help. Also sometimes you might get over-time dropped on you with too little notice.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees. I know you care about your workers but listening is important too. For example I have reached out to HR to learn about career advancement and I never heard back.

      Gentex (Michigan)2019-04-05
    • "Lab Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, profit sharing is nice Flexible schedule, work my own hours Steady work, only one layoff in many years Stock options, paid sick time

      Cons

      Harsh chemicals, hard on the skin Slow pay increases Hire degrees, not experience

      Advice to Management

      Hiring experience is not a bad thing.

      Gentex (Michigan)2019-04-04
    • "Excellent Company to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Treat people like people. Good culture of respect. Empower the workers. Cafeteria have free pop and coffee. Good benefits. Quarterly bonuses

      Cons

      no room to grow beyond assembly line

      Gentex (Michigan)2019-03-02
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Machine Operator in Zeeland, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Bonuses -Plenty of OT if you wanted -Great management -Air conditioned

      Cons

      -Free, unhealthy pop -Catty culture with some cliques

      Gentex (Michigan)2019-02-21
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Runner/Float/Line Production 

        I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time

        Pros

        Great health care 4 bonuses a yr an 2 raises a yr. People are cool an laid back. Plenty of room to grow.

        Cons

        Bosses dont have really great communication

        Gentex (Michigan)2019-02-17
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Engineer Tech in Holland, MI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good environment, Decent pay, Easy going

        Cons

        Average raises, Working Weekends, Inconsistent Hours

        Advice to Management

        Give better raises to those who deserve it

        Gentex (Michigan)2019-02-10
      • "Fine"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - ICS in Zeeland, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gentex (Michigan) full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Quarterly bonus and health insurance

        Cons

        No room for advancement unless you know the right people

        Advice to Management

        None

        Gentex (Michigan)2019-02-21
      Found 160 reviews