Gentiva Reviews | Glassdoor

Gentiva Reviews

Updated May 14, 2017
545 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Causby
30 Ratings

545 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • I loved being able to spend time with the patients and families (in 11 reviews)

  • Many dedicated staff that did the one on one patient care (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management micromanaging every little process to suit their own likes (in 26 reviews)

  • Pay per visit model with unpredictable census (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "I love my job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, and great management in my branch

    Cons

    I dont have any negative things to say about my place of employment

    Gentiva Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. We are honored by your service.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "CM to management."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Clinical Practice in Roanoke, VA
    Former Employee - Manager of Clinical Practice in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Chances for advancement. Not stuck in an office all day. Always enough work to go around. Clinicians are really there for the patients.

    Cons

    In my case, those above didn't know how to tell the truth, & was barely in the office, yet upper management was blind to the problems this presented. Frustrating that across the board raises were given ...when obviously some didn't even do their own work on time.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention when you're being told there's a problem. Quit using everyone then throwing them to the curb when they no longer go along with your bullying.

    Gentiva Response

    May 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients. Providing your ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Clinical Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Clinical Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - RN Clinical Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great colleagues if wasn't for them wouldn't be enjoyable. No micro managing. Work to home balance not to bad. Stable company

    Cons

    Horrible computer system, creates unnecessary work, causing you to have to double document, branch director never gets back to you on vital info. A lot of nursing turn over. Processes never seem to get followed through with.

    Advice to Management

    Processes need reviewed and carried out, orientation needs major improvement

    Gentiva Response

    May 8, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We value all feedback and understand our employees are the heart of our company. Providing your contact information will ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Volunteer Services"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Volunteer Services in Florence, AL
    Current Employee - Volunteer Services in Florence, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It was a great company to work with and I loved all of patients.

    Cons

    Not really any cons to the volunteer side.

    Advice to Management

    Try to appreciate the volunteers a little more.....because we do not get paid and we still treat the patients like we are getting paid very well.

    Gentiva Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Executive Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva (More than a year)

    Pros

    Recently went through a formally name change to Kindred at Home. Large organization with several business lines of service that offers a true continuum of care. Very financially stable.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to make process changes which can cause frustrations. Large company which is very layered in management positions and

    Gentiva Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have a great experience with us. Our employees truly are at the center of our mission.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nurse"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, MS
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Wide variety of company benefits

    Cons

    Upper management micromanaging every little process to suit their own likes. One or two upper mangers enjoyed being intimidating toward office management and staff.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging the branches when they are running productively and smooth. If you want your staff to stay, be nice, stop with the demeaning and intimidating talk.

    Gentiva Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients. Providing your ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "About the bottom line"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Enterprise, AL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Enterprise, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Having the privilege of caring for patient and families at the most difficult time in life

    Cons

    company is more about the numbers and bottom line rather than quality care of patients

    Advice to Management

    Remember these patients are at the end and 1 hour is spent with them staff should not be punished because its past the 30 minute recommendation

    Gentiva Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients and residents ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in El Centro, CA
    Former Employee - Executive Director in El Centro, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work-life balance, good salary, informative and provided educational opportunities

    Cons

    poor and conflicting communication with upper managers

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, bad management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Taking care of patients is the best part of HH. Overall, the branch staff is awesome, despite poor management from top.

    Cons

    Poor communication between director and clinicians unless it's too complain or intimidate.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of intimidating staff in attempts to make them stay, find out, and fix, why they're unhappy.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Home Health Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Home Health Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The local branch clinicians are fantastic!

    Cons

    Good sales management but way too many chiefs and operations management is pathetic. There is employee jealously to the point where they sabotage you to get your position. I've seen it happen more than once in this branch.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stress about sales numbers on a daily basis. There are good, bad and fantastic sales days. The end of the month numbers is all that really matters.


Showing 545 of 557 reviews
Reset Filters