Gentiva Reviews | Glassdoor

Gentiva Reviews

Updated November 14, 2017
567 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

567 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Many dedicated staff that did the one on one patient care (in 22 reviews)

  • I loved being able to spend time with the patients and families (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management micromanaging every little process to suit their own likes (in 26 reviews)

  • No raises for years Kindred now owns it not seeing any difference (in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Autocratic Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Ability for internal transfers since there are so many locations. Hard to identify anything positive about this company since the leadership is so terrible.

    Cons

    Autocratic senior leadership. A white men's club.
    Little focus on employees. Major focus on profits.
    Communication from the top is out-of-touch and full of "corporate-speak" with no real information.

    Advice to Management

    Need new leadership.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Clinical Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Clinical Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - RN Clinical Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great colleagues if wasn't for them wouldn't be enjoyable. No micro managing. Work to home balance not to bad. Stable company

    Cons

    Horrible computer system, creates unnecessary work, causing you to have to double document, branch director never gets back to you on vital info. A lot of nursing turn over. Processes never seem to get followed through with.

    Advice to Management

    Processes need reviewed and carried out, orientation needs major improvement

    Gentiva Response

    May 8, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We value all feedback and understand our employees are the heart of our company. Providing your contact information will... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Volunteer Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer Services in Florence, AL
    Current Employee - Volunteer Services in Florence, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It was a great company to work with and I loved all of patients.

    Cons

    Not really any cons to the volunteer side.

    Advice to Management

    Try to appreciate the volunteers a little more.....because we do not get paid and we still treat the patients like we are getting paid very well.

    Gentiva Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva full-time

    Pros

    Small territory with minimal business travel

    Cons

    Meeting monthly quotas is tricky because the business you bring in is not equivalent to what you are credited for and unprofessional office staff can compromise your business daily with behaviors that affect your performance and incentive compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Value your sales people and create a stronger union between operations and sales.

    Gentiva Response

    May 13, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Executive Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gentiva (More than a year)

    Pros

    Recently went through a formally name change to Kindred at Home. Large organization with several business lines of service that offers a true continuum of care. Very financially stable.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to make process changes which can cause frustrations. Large company which is very layered in management positions and

    Gentiva Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    We’re glad you have a great experience with us. Our employees truly are at the center of our mission.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "About the bottom line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Enterprise, AL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Enterprise, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Having the privilege of caring for patient and families at the most difficult time in life

    Cons

    company is more about the numbers and bottom line rather than quality care of patients

    Advice to Management

    Remember these patients are at the end and 1 hour is spent with them staff should not be punished because its past the 30 minute recommendation

    Gentiva Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients and residents... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, MS
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Wide variety of company benefits

    Cons

    Upper management micromanaging every little process to suit their own likes. One or two upper mangers enjoyed being intimidating toward office management and staff.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging the branches when they are running productively and smooth. If you want your staff to stay, be nice, stop with the demeaning and intimidating talk.

    Gentiva Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients. Providing your... More

  8. "Bad upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great clinicians. But they are not given the proper treatment they deserve and are not listened to when it comes to office politics.

    Cons

    Bad upper management. Lower staff is never informed of important happenings. Favoritism abounds and is evidenced by who gets promoted.

    Gentiva Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Manager of Online Reputation

    Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with Gentiva. We value all feedback and utilize it to support our mission. Providing your contact information will help expedite our... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good company before buy out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Analyst
    Former Employee - Help Desk Analyst
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The patients that they serve are the best reason to work for this company and the reason they stay in business.

    Cons

    New company culture is very different from Gentiva culture. New company is impersonal and disorganized. Poor communication. Have limited benefits.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in El Centro, CA
    Former Employee - Executive Director in El Centro, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gentiva full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work-life balance, good salary, informative and provided educational opportunities

    Cons

    poor and conflicting communication with upper managers

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises


Showing 567 of 581 reviews
Reset Filters