Genuine Parts Reviews | Glassdoor

Genuine Parts Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Genuine Parts CEO Paul Donahue
Paul Donahue
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Heavy on interpersonal politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Genuine Parts

    Pros

    Industry leading pay and benefits package. Unlimited advancement opportunities. Free ASE training/certification.

    Cons

    Inter-office politics seem to be more important than performance. Company will provide training, but then punish you for putting the training to task and doing what was asked of you. HR doesn’t take many store level employee concerns seriously.....if you can even get them to call you back.

    Advice to Management

    Senior leadership needs to practice what they preach.

    Genuine Parts2019-04-26
  2. "Genuine Parts Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere and they take care of their employees. Opportunity to get involved with numerous departments, if you want, so that you become more rounded within the company.

    Cons

    IT is a little behind the times, company and industry itself is changing right now. You can just sit in your silo and ignore the rest of the business.

    Genuine Parts2019-04-11
  3. "Know How"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - COUNTER SALES in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are fairly decent

    Cons

    I'm a ASE parts specialist. I've been stuck in the same position for 9yrs. Management promises a performance review every year in april. We haven't received any reviews. Only received two $.30 cent raises. Communication is very poor. The only permotions given have been to two young high school grads.

    Advice to Management

    Make more effort to communicate and follow through with promises. No one is happy to have ageism as thier work culture.

    Genuine Parts2019-02-10
  4. "Okay for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Data Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team/manager, Improvements in the company with work from home options/hoteling

    Cons

    Culture- traditional/conservative, not very friendly staff

    Advice to Management

    Interact more with your team, do some team-building

    Genuine Parts2019-02-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time

    Pros

    Pro's are the people you work with are great and there's stability in the company.

    Cons

    Large publicly held company. Communication can be challenging.

    Genuine Parts2018-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work. Tight knit family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Altoona, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and rewards for hard work. Lots of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    You must be relocated to get promotions for the most part. Tough on family life. Our jobs can sometimes be in jeopardy because of the market conditions, even if we work our tails off.

    Advice to Management

    I know we lose a lot of good people due to moving.

    Genuine Parts2018-11-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Genuine Parts

    Pros

    Environment was nice always clean . Really nice people who work there. And they work with you as far a schedules, they know life happens.

    Cons

    Management is horrible, the employees are nice but those managers are snakes, they will lie too keep themselves out of trouble. And talk bad about you. And they make you do more in your position then you should and will not compensate you. But keep you at a low salary title. But make you do higher level salary things... it’s not right but that’s the Corporate life for u

    Advice to Management

    There should be boundaries and there is a policy put in place. And just because someone has worked for the company for a long time. Does not mean they should get away with harassment no manger should talk bad about there staff too other team members.

    Genuine Parts2018-10-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "IT PROJECT MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time

    Pros

    1. Good pay 2. Flexible management

    Cons

    1. Culture 2. Building 3. Dress code

    Genuine Parts2018-10-10
  9. "Reception"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great work ethic.

    Cons

    None within my department or that affects me.

    Genuine Parts2018-08-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genuine Parts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people. I consider the team I work with daily family. They are the most amazing people I've ever had the opportunity to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours- you give up your personal life to work at NAPA.

    Advice to Management

    The only thing that would make the job better would be having a life outside of work too. I love what I do and it doesn't feel like work every day.

    Genuine Parts2018-08-15

    Genuine Parts Response

    August 16, 2018VP, HR Operations

    Thanks for being a part of the GPC team! It truly is a family here.

Found 162 reviews