Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated December 10, 2018
540 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
186 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great Atmosphere, Great Work/Life Balance; depending on your manager you are able to work remotely" (in 52 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and working environment" (in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people" (in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way" (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Poor team environment between management and associates


  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great management, always willing to teach

    Cons

    None off the top of my head

  3. "No longer the company that I started with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    We provide long-term care reimbursement for people typically in the latter years of their lives, which helps reduce the financial burden of our policy holders and their families.

    Cons

    The workload is too much leading to mediocre results and unhappy customers. Furthermore, outsourcing has only served to make the matter worse

    Advice to Management

    You need to reduce the outsourcing of jobs and reduce the volume of work we have. Doing so will reduce leakage and our customers will be more happy with our product.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including your advice for Genworth leadership. We actively monitor this page and will make sure to pass along your feedback.


  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Market leader in the long term care space!

    Cons

    Could be more innovative with policy development

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Company's future bright but no guarantees for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Tremendous values - supports volunteerism in community. Good pay; decent benefits - health, vacation. Most roles have work from home on occasion option.

    Cons

    Seriously lacking female leadership despite lip service about diversity. Growth in roles very minimal unless you're already in management. Long tenured employees are in same lower rung roles they've been in for years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen when employees give feedback in these employee surveys. Take the hint and work on employee satisfaction; stop telling yourselves it's due to company purchase transaction uneasiness and realize it's due to day to day issues. Your employees want to feel valued.

    Genworth Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including your advice for Genworth leadership. We actively monitor this page and will make sure to pass along your feedback.


  6. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of great team building activities.

    Cons

    Company went down hill with layoffs and Bankrupcy.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Individual Contributor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Fair compensation at most levels, Higher than average benefit package, high caliber people

    Cons

    More about what you say than what you do,
    Male dominated and many leaders and managers have no respect for women
    Very little room for growth and development, particularly for those over the age of 35

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Company Struggling to Survive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people. Good work-life balance. Some interesting risk work. Actuaries are paid well. Firm will pay for you to become an actuary.

    Cons

    Company struggling to survive.
    A bit slow-paced.
    Being sold to a Chinese company.
    Talent leaving the company.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  9. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to spend time

    Cons

    unorganized and needs to develop a plan

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  10. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stamford, CT
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    You can pretend to work and people won't bother you too much.

    Cons

    Investments is run by a corpulent individual that doesn't seem to realize how quickly the company is sinking.

    No growth opportunities.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 6, 2018 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.