Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated August 13, 2017
475 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
152 Ratings

475 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work life balance, competitive compensation (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 46 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Excellent well run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Easy to navigate, very engaging Sr Management team

    Cons

    Limited by product - not a reflection on the company

    Genworth Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your dedication and hard work over the past +5 years at Genworth.


  2. "Modeling analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and willing to help. Steady workflow for most of the teams. Because of the relatively small company size, employees have a bigger chance to interact with and learn from senior leaders.

    Cons

    Like most insurance companies, technology could be relatively outdated. However, company is willing to change.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review and for your dedication and hard work to Genworth.

  3. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    20 days off for vacation and personal/ sick time

    Cons

    Low pay, too many metrics goals,

    Advice to Management

    A better support system for call staff will benefit both customers as well as staff

    Genworth Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We acknowledge the cons you listed, and are always looking for ways to make improvements.


  4. "Sr Reprensative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good, co workers are like family

    Cons

    No growth real growth opportunity certain people.
    Favoritism.

    Genworth Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your service at Genworth. We agree, it's like family. We will share your feedback with leadership.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of change expected over the next year . . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    -supportive co workers
    -volunteer efforts are encouraged
    -great benefits

    Cons

    multiple layoffs over the last several years

    Genworth Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your 10+ years of service.


  6. "Not as good as they used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    none any more, they used to take care of their employees.

    Cons

    no job growth, no performance raises, cut hours and expect people to still give 100%. Make promises that will never happen.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of contract employees and hire the full time employees you need and take care of them.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you’ll stay along for the ride.


  7. "Benefit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Benefits Analyst
    Former Employee - Benefits Analyst
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Overall company works like a team to make a difference to our customers and there is cooperation between team members

    Cons

    Never Ending claims and not enough people to handle the l;oad

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love that you highlighted the company working as a team and the importance of making a difference to our customers. We acknowledge the cons you... More

  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative Claims in Lynchburg, VA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative Claims in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment and co workers. Management does not micro manage but are there to help when needed. Great benefits. Great training

    Cons

    It is a call center and can be stressful at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  9. "To gain back trust, admit your mistakes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At one time they had the best LTC shop in the business

    Cons

    No culture
    No loyalty to their employees
    Awful management

    Advice to Management

    Who knows what will happen with the China buyout of Genworth, but if you want agents to present your products you must own up to the many mistakes you made from the end of the AARP relationship to the destruction of the Retail Sales team.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  10. "Genworth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Company is rebounding after several hard years. Ocean Wide deal is changing the game

    Cons

    Nothing worth noting. at this time.

    Genworth Response

    Jun 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your review and for your service at Genworth.


Showing 475 of 512 reviews
Reset Filters