Genworth Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
210 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, Supportive environment. They invest in their employees

    Cons

    Concerns due to acquisition in question.

    Genworth2020-02-11

    Genworth Response

    February 25, 2020Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.

  2. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, everyone is friendly and helpful. Nobody is just looking out for themselves, or competitive. Lots of vacation & volunteer time. Some social & work events. Good management.

    Cons

    Deal needs to close for people to feel secure.

    Genworth2019-07-27

    Genworth Response

    August 9, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our culture and employees as pros. We appreciate your dedication and hard work over the past 5+ years. We're happy to have you as part of the Genworth family.

  3. "Kind of a Mess"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High visibility role, chance to work with really smart people.

    Cons

    Organization is paralyzed by their LTC division's liabilities and lack of innovation in the MI space.

    Genworth2020-05-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    - decent pay and bonus structure - management is generally nice and understanding - SLT management is actively trying to improve employees’ satisfaction - Encouraged to learn

    Cons

    - Depending on projects, things can get intense at times.

    Genworth2020-03-26

    Genworth Response

    May 6, 2020Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted SLT actively trying to improve employee satisfaction as a pro.

  5. "Great company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, team members, work load

    Cons

    Very corporate. Some politics

    Genworth2019-12-21

    Genworth Response

    January 3, 2020Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nearly-Perfect Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Competitive pay -Excellent benefits package -Excellent bonus structure -Large number of community outreach opportunities -Depending on the manager, flexible remote work options -Company is very transparent (mandated by law, but still a Pro) -Large majority of senior leadership is extremely helpful, knowledgeable, likable, and approachable.

    Cons

    The Chinese acquisition seems to be marking the "end of the General Electric era". The footing now seems less sure, but there is a high level of confidence in our leadership to carry us through.

    Continue reading
    Genworth2019-11-25

    Genworth Response

    December 18, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted the community outreach opportunities and benefits as a pro.

  7. "Great experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Genworth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    While my experience might not be universal, I had a great experience as an intern. Manager paid attention, let me code at my own pace, casual environment. Good dev. program as well

    Cons

    unstable future, but can also be an opportunity for those wishing to jumpstart and get ahead to management positions.

    Genworth2019-11-05

    Genworth Response

    December 18, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging environment"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people who care about the mission of helping people manage their financial well-being

    Cons

    Unstable environment due to the shadow of the deal

    Continue reading
    Genworth2019-11-04

    Genworth Response

    December 18, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love that you highlight the people and mission as a pro.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Authorization Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good pay, friendly environment

    Cons

    Politics and bad management

    Genworth2019-11-03

    Genworth Response

    December 18, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Tough transition tions"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay fair Richmond, projects before crisis

    Cons

    Identity crisis, poor management, horrible leadership, hierarchical

    Genworth2019-10-15

    Genworth Response

    December 18, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

Found 586 reviews