Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated November 3, 2017
492 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
157 Ratings

492 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people (in 16 reviews)

  • Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The work environment is great and the work life bakance is perfect. Everyone is very friendly whether you know them or not.

    Cons

    There were no cons of working here, during my time here. Management should keep up the good work, and the company as a whole attributes to the great work environment.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you so much for your review, and your time at Genworth. We appreciate you highlighting work/life balance and our friendly employees.


  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - great atmosphere
    - interactive bosses
    - service opportunities
    - occasional fun events

    Cons

    - Possibly questionable company outlook (at the moment). The senior leaders are staying positive. So, I think it will be alright, but can't say 100% for sure at this point.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 24, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We really appreciate that you highlighted a great atmosphere! Thank you for your review and your time at Genworth.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, competitive benefits and a commitment to community service.

    Cons

    Unwilling to innovate, be open to new ideas, or promote a diverse workforce.

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate employee feedback in a real and meaningful way.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time at Genworth, and will pass along your feedback to management.


  4. "Legacy of Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Compensation package is very competitive
    Lots of opportunities to improve systems and processes
    Flexible work schedules
    Good work stations (2 monitors / cell phones, tools, etc)
    High percentage of nice people
    Experienced staff especially in Operations
    Great focus on customer
    Opportunity to help customers at a time when they need it most
    Recent executive level hires are driving change and value

    Cons

    Old systems and processes.
    Culture with aversion to change and lack of initiative to improve
    Culture with idea generated top down
    Challenging financial situation due to long ago business decisions

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize according to value. Avoid the cheap fix.
    Document "tribal knowledge"
    Change the culture to drive innovation, manage risk, and deliver right level of value
    Simplify products, processes, and systems

    Genworth Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your service at Genworth. We will share your feedback with management.


  5. "Genworth 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    excellent benefits and pay package, 401K, Insurance etc.

    Cons

    The Micromanagement within the company is it's biggest downfall as well as layoffs; broken promises

    Genworth Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We will share your feedback. We appreciate your service at Genworth.


  6. "IT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    - Great environment to work at
    - People are very kind and helpful, and work-life balance is great

    Cons

    - Nothing I can think of as an intern

    Genworth Response

    Oct 3, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love that you highlighted our environment and people as pros.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Actuarial Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    the ADP program at genworth is very good. They give good bonuses for passing exams, good raises for passin exams, lots of study hours, and it is a collaborative atmosphere. Additionally, I feel like the people are very friendly and easy to talk to/ask questions of if you need help. ADP participants rotate every 2 years which I feel like is a good amount of time to learn your role. Good work/life balance as well.

    Cons

    Attitudes are currently someone doubtful because of the undergoing merger with China Oceanwide. People seem like they were worried at this time last year, and now it is better but as the merger continues to get delayed there is some angst. Otherwise, Genworth is a happy place to work.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work.

  8. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation. Higher than other similar companies. Nice relocation package.

    Cons

    Rare career advancement potential

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to employees who actually want to stay in the company

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  9. "HR Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great career development opportunities
    - Friendly culture
    - Openness to new ideas

    Cons

    - More team cohesiveness; better communication

    Advice to Management

    Communication between groups could be better

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our friendly culture and the career development opportunities as pros.


  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Face time with top level management, commitment to giving back, great benefits, growing company, active and fun work environment.

    Cons

    Older population (working on bringing in younger generations)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our commitment to giving back as a pro.


Showing 492 of 534 reviews
Reset Filters