Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated April 13, 2018
505 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
165 Ratings

505 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great Atmosphere, Great Work/Life Balance; depending on your manager you are able to work remotely (in 51 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people (in 16 reviews)

  • Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Case Manager/Customer Service Rep III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    I’m proficient on a computer, data entry and I type 175wpm with 94% accuracy

    Cons

    A lot of distractions being in a call center. It was hard to hear customers.

    Advice to Management

    I’m a self starter, self motivated, reliable and I would like to work from home.

    Genworth Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your time at Genworth.


  2. "Good company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    The company had a good benefit program and upward mobility was possible.

    Cons

    Nothing really bad to say about the company, if you don't like a corporate structure then this probably isn't the place for you

  3. "Investment Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Good benefit, work/life balance, nice management team, very good culture from GE but not exactly same with GE

    Cons

    It is hard to get promotion

    Genworth Response

    Apr 2, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your time at Genworth. We appreciate your review and will pass along your feedback.


  4. "Genworth has one of the most destructive, sexist, Good ol’ boy cultures of ever experienced."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Leader in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Leader in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity because the talent pool is very slim and high performers leave. Sub rolls have a ferret fairly frequent job turnover and rotation for the same reason, so you can move roles quickly and get experience.

    Cons

    Any opportunity and growth afforded there could never be worth the stress of being mistreated and lied to by incompetent and ill-prepared executive leadership team that lacks integrity. Genworth also punishes people for pursuing opportunities outside of the company and does its best to ruin the careers of people who move on. It is certainly an abusive culture that attracts folks who are Not likely to advocate effectively for themselves. It is also in financial ruin and having difficulty finding a buyer over the course of several years, so opportunity in the short term is the best you could hope for in signing on to work there.


  5. "Not a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Decent-ish wage
    Coworkers were nice
    Good community service by the company

    Cons

    Awful Management
    Very poor future company outlook
    Soul-sucking day to day

    Advice to Management

    Stop the micromanagement of your employees

    Genworth Response

    Mar 22, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your time at Genworth. We will pass along your feedback.


  6. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SharePoint Administrator in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - SharePoint Administrator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere, Great Work/Life Balance; depending on your manager you are able to work remotely

    Cons

    way to many technology platforms within the company!


  7. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Hard working employees with a desire to do the right thing for the customer.

    Cons

    Management was still getting acclimated to each other and a lot of concern around the future

    Advice to Management

    communicate more

    Genworth Response

    Feb 26, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will pass along your feedback. We love that you highlighted our hard working employees. Thank you for your time at Genworth.

  8. "Benefits, Pay, Volunteer Opps and Events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claimd Customer Service - Processing Team in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Claimd Customer Service - Processing Team in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is good, the volunteer opportunities and special events are abundent, additional education/class are offered, my daily job it is interesting! Work from home options.

    Cons

    HR and management can be disorganized. Some managers don't practice active listening. Your sick and vacation time is bundled into one and given at the first of the year. In Jan. Everyone has to "fight/bid" for their days off for the entire year. There is a weird unsaid hostility between the two locations (Lynchburg vs Richmond) maybe based on something that happened 12 years ago. Workforce Management/Command Center dont seem to have a comprehensive dependable stucture to their standard operating procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your initiative to update the HR department standards and the initiative to reinforce a unified work environment. Allow more opportunities for upward feedback. EXAMPLE: During an interview the interviewer look at the clock on her phone after each question. Was she listening to me or timing me? How can I help enhance her interviewing skills?

    Genworth Response

    Feb 8, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    We're glad to hear you find your job interesting! Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will pass along your feedback.


  9. "Benefit Analyst II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Richmond, VA

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Holidays off and holiday parties

    Cons

    Claims mill, no regard for employees and building infested with mold.

    Genworth Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your time at Genworth. We will pass along your feedback.


  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people, Great work / life balance, Excellent leadership, Collaborative environment, Great benefits, Wonderful company

    Cons

    Delays in the Oceanwide deal make the work environment stressful at times

    Genworth Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you so much for your review. We agree, our people are great. We appreciate your 3+ years of service.


Showing 505 of 547 reviews
Reset Filters