Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Genworth Reviews

Updated February 15, 2018
499 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
162 Ratings

499 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great Atmosphere, Great Work/Life Balance; depending on your manager you are able to work remotely (in 50 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people (in 16 reviews)

  • Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Actuarial Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    the ADP program at genworth is very good. They give good bonuses for passing exams, good raises for passin exams, lots of study hours, and it is a collaborative atmosphere. Additionally, I feel like the people are very friendly and easy to talk to/ask questions of if you need help. ADP participants rotate every 2 years which I feel like is a good amount of time to learn your role. Good work/life balance as well.

    Cons

    Attitudes are currently someone doubtful because of the undergoing merger with China Oceanwide. People seem like they were worried at this time last year, and now it is better but as the merger continues to get delayed there is some angst. Otherwise, Genworth is a happy place to work.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work.


  2. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SharePoint Administrator in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - SharePoint Administrator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere, Great Work/Life Balance; depending on your manager you are able to work remotely

    Cons

    way to many technology platforms within the company!

  3. "Benefits, Pay, Volunteer Opps and Events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claimd Customer Service - Processing Team in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Claimd Customer Service - Processing Team in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is good, the volunteer opportunities and special events are abundent, additional education/class are offered, my daily job it is interesting! Work from home options.

    Cons

    HR and management can be disorganized. Some managers don't practice active listening. Your sick and vacation time is bundled into one and given at the first of the year. In Jan. Everyone has to "fight/bid" for their days off for the entire year. There is a weird unsaid hostility between the two locations (Lynchburg vs Richmond) maybe based on something that happened 12 years ago. Workforce Management/Command Center dont seem to have a comprehensive dependable stucture to their standard operating procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your initiative to update the HR department standards and the initiative to reinforce a unified work environment. Allow more opportunities for upward feedback. EXAMPLE: During an interview the interviewer look at the clock on her phone after each question. Was she listening to me or timing me? How can I help enhance her interviewing skills?

    Genworth Response

    Feb 8, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    We're glad to hear you find your job interesting! Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will pass along your feedback.


  4. "Case Manager/Customer Service Rep III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    I’m proficient on a computer, data entry and I type 175wpm with 94% accuracy

    Cons

    A lot of distractions being in a call center. It was hard to hear customers.

    Advice to Management

    I’m a self starter, self motivated, reliable and I would like to work from home.

    Genworth Response

    Feb 5, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your time at Genworth.


  5. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people, Great work / life balance, Excellent leadership, Collaborative environment, Great benefits, Wonderful company

    Cons

    Delays in the Oceanwide deal make the work environment stressful at times

    Genworth Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you so much for your review. We agree, our people are great. We appreciate your 3+ years of service.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Start with 4 weeks compensated time off. Some managers are flexible about start times. Positive work life balance.

    Cons

    Long term employees tend to be complacent, not a positive attitude or outlook about the company.

    Genworth Response

    Jan 25, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will pass along your feedback. Thank you for your 3+ years of service.


  7. "Senior Finance Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Leader in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Leader in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Well established insurer with excellent systems, policies and procedures.

    Cons

    Uncertainty about the viability of the continued operation of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with your employees.

    Genworth Response

    Jan 9, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass along your feedback. Thank you for your 10+ years of service.

  8. "Facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and working environment. Great hours.

    Cons

    Pay can be a little low but the benefits make up the difference most of the time.

    Genworth Response

    Jan 9, 2018 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you highlighted a great working environment.


  9. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Great people and environment to work

    Cons

    No upward mobility with in lower posituons

    Advice to Management

    Learn your own job

    Genworth Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your time at Genworth. We appreciate that you highlighted our great people and environment!


  10. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The work environment is great and the work life bakance is perfect. Everyone is very friendly whether you know them or not.

    Cons

    There were no cons of working here, during my time here. Management should keep up the good work, and the company as a whole attributes to the great work environment.

    Genworth Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you so much for your review, and your time at Genworth. We appreciate you highlighting work/life balance and our friendly employees.


Showing 499 of 541 reviews
Reset Filters