Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated September 19, 2017
480 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
153 Ratings

480 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is preached but when it is needed (in 17 reviews)

  • Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Excellent well run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Easy to navigate, very engaging Sr Management team

    Cons

    Limited by product - not a reflection on the company

    Genworth Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your dedication and hard work over the past +5 years at Genworth.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Modeling analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and willing to help. Steady workflow for most of the teams. Because of the relatively small company size, employees have a bigger chance to interact with and learn from senior leaders.

    Cons

    Like most insurance companies, technology could be relatively outdated. However, company is willing to change.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review and for your dedication and hard work to Genworth.

  3. "very tense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    salaries are above average, people are generally friendly and easy commutability

    Cons

    the environment in very tense, people all worried about their jobs, as ongoing quiet layoffs continue and morale slipping

    Advice to Management

    focus on your people and not your hype

    Genworth Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity


  4. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    The company as a whole is a good place to work. Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people. They are in it for themselves and not the departments they oversee.

    Genworth Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you’ll stay along... More


  5. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Products are important to customers who need it most: long term care and mortgage insurance

    Cons

    Management are clueless when it comes to motivation or employee recognition. We spent 2/3 of our days in meetings and then started our own work at the end of the day when the meetings ceased.

    Advice to Management

    Read a book on management and how to motivate and appreciate staff.

    Genworth Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  6. "Sr. Claims Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    I worked with great people who loved what they did for our long term care clients.

    Cons

    Mass Lay Offs over the last couple of years and restructuring. Company has been purchased by another company.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Genworth Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  7. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    20 days off for vacation and personal/ sick time

    Cons

    Low pay, too many metrics goals,

    Advice to Management

    A better support system for call staff will benefit both customers as well as staff

    Genworth Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We acknowledge the cons you listed, and are always looking for ways to make improvements.

  8. "Sr Reprensative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good, co workers are like family

    Cons

    No growth real growth opportunity certain people.
    Favoritism.

    Genworth Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your service at Genworth. We agree, it's like family. We will share your feedback with leadership.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of change expected over the next year . . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    -supportive co workers
    -volunteer efforts are encouraged
    -great benefits

    Cons

    multiple layoffs over the last several years

    Genworth Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your 10+ years of service.


  10. "Not as good as they used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    none any more, they used to take care of their employees.

    Cons

    no job growth, no performance raises, cut hours and expect people to still give 100%. Make promises that will never happen.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of contract employees and hire the full time employees you need and take care of them.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you’ll stay along for the ride.


Showing 480 of 520 reviews
Reset Filters