Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 555 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Genworth CEO Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Genworth really promotes and provides an excellent work/life balance(in 55 reviews)

  • "Great people, good benefits (until China deal completes), competitve pay(in 50 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    Genworth Empowers Their Employees- Love the Vision of the Company

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genworth empowers their employees to make decisions and test new concepts. I feel very empowered everyday when I come to work. The vision of the company is also one of the things I love about Genworth. Everyone from Senior Management down understands our vision going forward. I also love collaboration of multiple teams to accomplish short-term and long-term goals. Many employees have worked at Genworth for a long time...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many cons at all. Location is great, the people are great and the empowerment is certainly a huge plus.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communciating the vision of Genworth going forward. It is extremely helpful to hear it constantly to keep us focused. Keep up the momentum we have!

    Genworth Response

    January 24, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We love that you highlighted the collaboration efforts between teams and empowerment you feel here at Genworth as pros.

  2. Great culture, really striving to be better

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Public Relations Specialist in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule; great culture; people are encouraged to be themselves; not pitted against each other; senior leaders don't act like they're above you

    Cons

    Making strides toward a more diverse workplace, but I see this as an area to keep improving

  3. Work with the best!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +LTC is a unique and challenging industry +Work with some of the brightest folks from various backgrounds +Engagement seems high, lots of extracurriculars (if that's your thing) +Great benefits

    Cons

    -Hiring process can be a bit lengthy (very friendly recruiters though) -Buildings are a little dated

  4. Really care about its people and great compensation

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Development Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary and Bonus Structure Lots of Employee Perks Lots of Community outreach opportunities 1 week of Volunteer time per year Remote Options available Very transparent company Very Approachable Sr Leadership team

    Cons

    Health Benefits are a little pricey Combined Sick and Vacation Leave Acquisition leaving some questions

    Advice to Management

    The culture is what makes the place great, please keep it up through the acquisition

    Genworth Response

    January 29, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for your review.

  5. Great & Engaging Place to Work

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel engaged every day I come to work and am made to feel like a valuable member of the team. The opportunities for learning and development are outstanding. Genworth really promotes and provides an excellent work/life balance. The commitment to giving back to the community is unlike anything I have seen. This is a very exciting time for Genworth and I am so glad to be part of the team.

    Cons

    The health benefits are a bit pricey.

    Genworth Response

    January 29, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted the learning and development opportunities here at Genworth. We're happy to have you as part of the Genworth family.

  6. Super place to work!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Management Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and work environment which is conveyed from the Executive level throughout the organization. Great people and a great place to work.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue communicating

    Genworth Response

    January 29, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to see you highlighted the culture and work environment at all levels as a pro.

  7. Overall Genworth is a great place to work!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Genworth has great values and a welcoming culture. Volunteerism is strongly encouraged and creates a sense of community within the organization. USMI also has Employee Resource Group Forums that creates an easy way to connect with others outside your department, learn about different cultures, and provides career development opportunities. Employee's are empowered to bring ideas forward and their considerations are...

    Show More

    Cons

    Over the past 5 years Genworth has made strides in cultivating a more diverse and inclusive culture, but real lasting change will not be made until senior leadership becomes more diverse and diversity becomes a business priority.

    Advice to Management

    Include diversity efforts in company goals and tie them to incentives for senior leaders and upper level management.

    Genworth Response

    January 29, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted that employees are empowered and taken seriously as pros.

  8. Great Place to Work & Progressing

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great initiatives in Diversity & Inclusion, great time to join with good strategy coming in, really investing in the employee culture, solid leaders with cutting edge ideas. Good, progressive benefits.

    Cons

    Medical benefits is a bit high compared to industry leaders. As with most insurance companies, that portion is highly regulated, though is only part of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring in progressive mindsets and diverse ways of thinking, as well as build continuity across the businesses.

    Genworth Response

    January 23, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our initiatives in Diversity & Inclusion and investment in the employee culture.

  9. Engaging Work, Great People

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Engaging Body of Work and People and the ability to build and implement processes. The people I work with are fantastic. Hard working, and incredibly down to earth regardless of level. Refreshing to be in an environment where egos and politics are largely non-existent.

    Cons

    Offices need a refresh.

    Genworth Response

    January 23, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review and for your dedication and hard work to Genworth over the past 8 years+. We love that you highlighted the hard-working and down to earth people here at Genworth. We acknowledge the con you shared and assure you we will pass the message along to the appropriate ...

    Show More
  10. Great Culture, Good Benefits

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid Benefits, flex-hours, nice culture with work-life balance. Community involvement. Company seems to be making sensible decisions moving forward.

    Cons

    Long-term care industry is a little uncertain right now.

    Advice to Management

    Workflow processes need to be more clearly codified in an accessible way.

    Genworth Response

    January 24, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We love that you highlight the culture and work-life balance as pros.

Found 555 reviews