Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated April 11, 2017
274 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

3.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
98 Ratings

274 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work life balance, competitive compensation (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 45 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent well run company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Easy to navigate, very engaging Sr Management team

    Cons

    Limited by product - not a reflection on the company

    Genworth Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your dedication and hard work over the past +5 years at Genworth.


  2. "Great"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people doing important work. Lots of opportunities for growth and development. Business is turning around nicely. Fast pace environment with lots of challenges

    Cons

    Business has been in turnaround for the past several years. This has provided some uncertainty for employees. With the purchase by China Oceanwide, there is a great opportunity for growth

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love your focus on the great people doing important work. We appreciate your dedication and commitment to growth here at Genworth.


  3. "No Future"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Claims Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It's a job - you get pay and average benefits.

    Cons

    Management doesn't listen to employees. They act like they do, but they're unreceptive to ideas to make the place better - in one ear and out the other. The company's slow to change and has no vision. Some of your coworkers are unprofessional to the point of unlawfulness. It's truly sad.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to your employees and take action (and don't be slow about it). Hire better, pay better. Use some of that China money to do it.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including advice to leadership. We have begun actively monitoring this page and will make sure they hear from employees. We appreciate your dedication and hard work here at ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Genworth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Benefits Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Management ad extremely high workloads.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We know we're not perfect, but we're working to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you'll stay along for the ride. ... More


  6. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    USMI is small company so opportunity to shine

    Cons

    acquisition in process so some unknowns until completion

    Advice to Management

    USMI well run

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  7. "Actuarial Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very interesting work, highly competitive compensation, lots of opportunities for career advancement, great coworkers, and an amazing work/life balance!

    Cons

    The financial issues and instability that the company is going through can be depressing at times.

    Senior Management tends to change directions very often as well rather than focusing on a long term plan.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO Tom McInerney is very out of touch with employees. Employee meetings consist of listening to him brag about his 1% experiences such as getting box seats at the Super Bowl or riding on a boat in China that only "Kings" ride on.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review, including your advice to management. We actively monitor from this page and make sure they hear from employees.


  8. "Above average culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Analyst in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people are great. 40hrs/year of volunteer time off. Lots of opportunities to get involved with the community and other employees. Good access to senior leadership.

    Cons

    Very tenured workforce that values expertise. The building can have trouble embarrassing innovated ideas.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We love that you highlighted the great people and our commitment to volunteering in our communities.


  9. "Long Term Care Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great products, very team oriented, good benefits

    Cons

    Company going through a lot of changes and cutbacks

    Advice to Management

    Think long term

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We acknowledge the cons you shared. We're not perfect, but we're working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you'll stay along for the ride.


  10. "Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virginia in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Virginia in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    You get to volunteer 40 hours a year and the company will pay you for that time.

    Cons

    Recently cut 401k benefits and placed salary caps on all non upper management positions.

    Advice to Management

    No advice at this time.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our volunteer time off as a pro.


  11. "Operations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operation/ in Raleigh, NC
    Current Contractor - Operation/ in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good people, the company is very good to employees. Good benefits and working environment. A lot of perks for employees. I really enjoy working at Genworth.

    Cons

    Really none. None none none. Great Company. One of the last good ones. Best experience. Only wonderful comments. Good experiences. Thank you!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.


Showing 274 of 499 reviews
Reset Filters