Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated December 13, 2017
292 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
105 Ratings

292 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people (in 16 reviews)

  • Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Dallas, TX
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Genworth as a contractor (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The ability to work virtually. Work/life balance. Technology is amazing.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons at this time

    Genworth Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you highlighted work/life balance. Thank you for your time at Genworth.


  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - great atmosphere
    - interactive bosses
    - service opportunities
    - occasional fun events

    Cons

    - Possibly questionable company outlook (at the moment). The senior leaders are staying positive. So, I think it will be alright, but can't say 100% for sure at this point.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 24, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We really appreciate that you highlighted a great atmosphere! Thank you for your review and your time at Genworth.

  3. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Contractor - Mortgage Underwriter
    Current Contractor - Mortgage Underwriter

    I have been working at Genworth as a contractor (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They're very supportive of family work life balance.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    can't think of anything at the moment

    Genworth Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We love that you highlighted the support of family work life balance as a pro. Your hard work and dedication to the company is greatly appreciated.


  4. "Legacy of Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Compensation package is very competitive
    Lots of opportunities to improve systems and processes
    Flexible work schedules
    Good work stations (2 monitors / cell phones, tools, etc)
    High percentage of nice people
    Experienced staff especially in Operations
    Great focus on customer
    Opportunity to help customers at a time when they need it most
    Recent executive level hires are driving change and value

    Cons

    Old systems and processes.
    Culture with aversion to change and lack of initiative to improve
    Culture with idea generated top down
    Challenging financial situation due to long ago business decisions

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize according to value. Avoid the cheap fix.
    Document "tribal knowledge"
    Change the culture to drive innovation, manage risk, and deliver right level of value
    Simplify products, processes, and systems

    Genworth Response

    Oct 26, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your service at Genworth. We will share your feedback with management.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Actuarial Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    the ADP program at genworth is very good. They give good bonuses for passing exams, good raises for passin exams, lots of study hours, and it is a collaborative atmosphere. Additionally, I feel like the people are very friendly and easy to talk to/ask questions of if you need help. ADP participants rotate every 2 years which I feel like is a good amount of time to learn your role. Good work/life balance as well.

    Cons

    Attitudes are currently someone doubtful because of the undergoing merger with China Oceanwide. People seem like they were worried at this time last year, and now it is better but as the merger continues to get delayed there is some angst. Otherwise, Genworth is a happy place to work.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work.


  6. "HR Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great career development opportunities
    - Friendly culture
    - Openness to new ideas

    Cons

    - More team cohesiveness; better communication

    Advice to Management

    Communication between groups could be better

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our friendly culture and the career development opportunities as pros.


  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Face time with top level management, commitment to giving back, great benefits, growing company, active and fun work environment.

    Cons

    Older population (working on bringing in younger generations)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Genworth Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our commitment to giving back as a pro.

  8. "Weak Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    relaxed environment, decent benefits, casual dress

    Cons

    poor decisions by senior leadership, lack of strategy

    Advice to Management

    come up with a plan and actually follow-through

    Genworth Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.


  9. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    The company as a whole is a good place to work. Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people. They are in it for themselves and not the departments they oversee.

    Genworth Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you’ll stay along... More


  10. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    20 days off for vacation and personal/ sick time

    Cons

    Low pay, too many metrics goals,

    Advice to Management

    A better support system for call staff will benefit both customers as well as staff

    Genworth Response

    Aug 15, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We acknowledge the cons you listed, and are always looking for ways to make improvements.


Showing 292 of 536 reviews
Reset Filters