Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated September 1, 2017
98 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
35 Ratings

98 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Some members of upper management are more focused on numbers than people (in 16 reviews)

  • Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Products are important to customers who need it most: long term care and mortgage insurance

    Cons

    Management are clueless when it comes to motivation or employee recognition. We spent 2/3 of our days in meetings and then started our own work at the end of the day when the meetings ceased.

    Advice to Management

    Read a book on management and how to motivate and appreciate staff.

    Genworth Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  2. "Sr. Claims Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    I worked with great people who loved what they did for our long term care clients.

    Cons

    Mass Lay Offs over the last couple of years and restructuring. Company has been purchased by another company.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Genworth Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  3. "Not as good as they used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    none any more, they used to take care of their employees.

    Cons

    no job growth, no performance raises, cut hours and expect people to still give 100%. Make promises that will never happen.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of contract employees and hire the full time employees you need and take care of them.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you’ll stay along for the ride.


  4. "To gain back trust, admit your mistakes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At one time they had the best LTC shop in the business

    Cons

    No culture
    No loyalty to their employees
    Awful management

    Advice to Management

    Who knows what will happen with the China buyout of Genworth, but if you want agents to present your products you must own up to the many mistakes you made from the end of the AARP relationship to the destruction of the Retail Sales team.

    Genworth Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  5. "Uneasy the whole time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good people, nice office, good benefits

    Cons

    Mass lay offs every 6 months; old tech

    Advice to Management

    just quit

    Genworth Response

    Jun 6, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for providing a review. We agree, we have good people!


  6. "Regional Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Management team puts people first

    Cons

    Management does poor job of product development and marketing

    Genworth Response

    May 10, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  7. "No Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Claims Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    It's a job - you get pay and average benefits.

    Cons

    Management doesn't listen to employees. They act like they do, but they're unreceptive to ideas to make the place better - in one ear and out the other. The company's slow to change and has no vision. Some of your coworkers are unprofessional to the point of unlawfulness. It's truly sad.

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to your employees and take action (and don't be slow about it). Hire better, pay better. Use some of that China money to do it.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including advice to leadership. We have begun actively monitoring this page and will make sure they hear from employees. We appreciate your dedication and hard work here at... More

  8. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Very intelligent people to work with. Lots of opportunities to learn new things.

    Cons

    Organization was changed too frequently.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    decent pay
    benefits
    possible full time position
    flexible schedule
    great location
    growth potential
    helping other people with their accounts

    Cons

    constantly laying employees off
    bad management
    if you want to work for less than a year and have to worry about not having a job and your family not being provided for this is the job for you if not beware of this company

    Advice to Management

    stop laying off

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  10. "RVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RVP Long Term Care in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - RVP Long Term Care in Richmond, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    People who were very professional
    Prior reputation pre-2008
    Community involvement
    Benefits particularly 401K and workout facility

    Cons

    Financial instability due to rating downgrades which made it extremely difficult to approach clients. Transparency to investors as well as employees could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    At this point I really don't have any advice to management as it will be a difficult road to travel down. I do wish them the best.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth and we wish you the best in your next opportunity.


Showing 98 of 528 reviews
Reset Filters