Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated April 11, 2017
144 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
38 Ratings

144 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work life balance, competitive compensation (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 46 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Genworth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Benefits Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Management ad extremely high workloads.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We acknowledge the cons you shared. We know we're not perfect, but we're working to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you'll stay along for the ride.... More


  2. "Long Term Care Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great products, very team oriented, good benefits

    Cons

    Company going through a lot of changes and cutbacks

    Advice to Management

    Think long term

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    We acknowledge the cons you shared. We're not perfect, but we're working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you'll stay along for the ride.

  3. "Claim Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Good Benefits and flexible with work hours.

    Cons

    They closed the California site.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.


  4. "Ok. FT employees seem to like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Richmond, VA
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Richmond, VA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Genworth as a contractor

    Pros

    Culture: relaxed, people are fun and nice.

    Cons

    I found it super irritating to have to badge out (tracking). Do not wish to return because at a certain point in your career you aren't expected to have your time tracked heavily. After all you are on vpn working from home but i had to have a discussion about my time when my car broke down and i was 1.5 hours late. There were lots of layoffs but its 2015 so that is pretty common now days.


  5. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hercules, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hercules, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, benefits were good and talking with and helping elderly customers was great. Management was not the greatest.

    Cons

    Hours were not flexible, very stressful, micro managed.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We love that you highlighted the people and experience of helping our customers as Pros. We appreciate your service during your time at Genworth and wish... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forest, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forest, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Genworth (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    - Associates care about other associates
    - Ability to self-educate as well as observe and learn
    - Learning and Development team worked hard to determine the immediate needs as well as upcoming needs, materials and platforms used to train associates improved significantly over the years
    - A lot of areas that provide platforms for learning, as well as being able to provide input

    Cons

    Areas of the business that fell short were upper management ability to stay connected to the associates, this could have been due to upper managmeent being immersed in developing an execution plan for strategy.

    The lack of retention abilities to retain talented individuals

    Disconnection between the Lynchburg and Richmond sites, operated separately and hard to bridge the gaps

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the strategy but DO NOT forget about the people that help those strategies come to fruition.

    Not to underestimate what employees are doing, management that lives in Richmond to stay connected to associates in Lynchburg.

    Hard decision have had to be made, but the hardest is employees recognizing the inability for management to make decisions, as well as employees observing infighting.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including advice to management. We are actively monitoring this page now and will be sure to share your advice with leadership.


  7. "Application Development Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Development Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Applications Development Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement up to 7500 was 15K.
    Great location and campus
    Large company
    Many technologies used
    Pay is Ok

    Cons

    No clear direction
    Cut backs and layoffs
    Formal training is not always encouraged
    Career development lacking
    Bad moral currently due to lack of direction
    Overloaded workloads

    Advice to Management

    Take interest in employee growth
    Manage employees not only functions

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for your review, including the advice to management. We have begin actively monitoring this page and will be sure to share your advice.

  8. "Sr. Benefit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good team work, relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Company doing poorly. Layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Less emphasis on so many rules and complicated procedures.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Genworth Struggles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Fabulous people! Good salary and benefits. Valuable products.

    Cons

    Lack of direction from leadership, uncertain future, lack of employee engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Fix it or find a new role so WE can fix it.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pockets of good leadership-senior leadership has lost its compass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Operational leadership solid
    Great frontline teams
    Customer focused culture

    Cons

    Senior Leadership (Richmond) has lost its way
    Layoffs of frontline personnel while C-suite makes millions annually
    Leadership constantly chasing the next shiny object

    Advice to Management

    Follow the Lee Iacoca model. Focus on valuing your employees not your bank account and drive the company to meeting the needs of our customer.
    Praying for a by out.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We will share your feedback with the leadership team.


Showing 144 of 509 reviews
Reset Filters