Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated June 22, 2017
175 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
64 Ratings

175 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work life balance, competitive compensation (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 46 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative Claims in Lynchburg, VA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative Claims in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment and co workers. Management does not micro manage but are there to help when needed. Great benefits. Great training

    Cons

    It is a call center and can be stressful at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work


  2. "Genworth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Company is rebounding after several hard years. Ocean Wide deal is changing the game

    Cons

    Nothing worth noting. at this time.

    Genworth Response

    Jun 2, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your review and for your service at Genworth.

  3. "Senior Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Genworth has great people and culture

    Cons

    Lot of uncertainty due to an ongoing acquisition.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, and your service at Genworth. We love that you highlighted our amazing employees!


  4. "Business and Quality Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst, Quality Analyst in Lynchburg, VA
    Former Employee - Business Analyst, Quality Analyst in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work culture is good. Organized. Peers and seniors are available for feedback and guidance.
    It is bit conservative to try new technologies or work from home options, but overall the team I worked with was very supportive.

    Cons

    payscale is lower than market. Conservative approach.
    Growth is slow.

    Advice to Management

    Need better communication

    Genworth Response

    Apr 21, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience and advice to management.


  5. "Great"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great people doing important work. Lots of opportunities for growth and development. Business is turning around nicely. Fast pace environment with lots of challenges

    Cons

    Business has been in turnaround for the past several years. This has provided some uncertainty for employees. With the purchase by China Oceanwide, there is a great opportunity for growth

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love your focus on the great people doing important work. We appreciate your dedication and commitment to growth here at Genworth.


  6. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    USMI is small company so opportunity to shine

    Cons

    acquisition in process so some unknowns until completion

    Advice to Management

    USMI well run

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  7. "Actuarial Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very interesting work, highly competitive compensation, lots of opportunities for career advancement, great coworkers, and an amazing work/life balance!

    Cons

    The financial issues and instability that the company is going through can be depressing at times.

    Senior Management tends to change directions very often as well rather than focusing on a long term plan.

    Advice to Management

    The CEO Tom McInerney is very out of touch with employees. Employee meetings consist of listening to him brag about his 1% experiences such as getting box seats at the Super Bowl or riding on a boat in China that only "Kings" ride on.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review, including your advice to management. We actively monitor from this page and make sure they hear from employees.

  8. "Above average culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Analyst in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people are great. 40hrs/year of volunteer time off. Lots of opportunities to get involved with the community and other employees. Good access to senior leadership.

    Cons

    Very tenured workforce that values expertise. The building can have trouble embarrassing innovated ideas.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We love that you highlighted the great people and our commitment to volunteering in our communities.


  9. "Great Finance Internship"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Lynchburg, VA
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Genworth as an intern (More than a year)

    Pros

    From GE Financial Assurance. Great path similar to GE FMP Program!

    Cons

    None! Great overall experience in all!


  10. "Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virginia in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Virginia in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    You get to volunteer 40 hours a year and the company will pay you for that time.

    Cons

    Recently cut 401k benefits and placed salary caps on all non upper management positions.

    Advice to Management

    No advice at this time.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you highlighted our volunteer time off as a pro.


Showing 175 of 507 reviews
Reset Filters