Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated April 17, 2017
463 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

463 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work life balance, competitive compensation (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 45 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Customer Service Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hercules, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hercules, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, benefits were good and talking with and helping elderly customers was great. Management was not the greatest.

    Cons

    Hours were not flexible, very stressful, micro managed.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We love that you highlighted the people and experience of helping our customers as Pros. We appreciate your service during your time at Genworth and wish ... More


  2. "Senior Claims Examiner"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Examiner in San Rafael, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Examiner in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Co-Workers are the heart of the company. Helping those in need that had the fore sight to purchase an LTC policy is very fulfilling

    Cons

    With all of the transformation, there is uncertainty and an increased workload. The grey areas and the unknown can be a little scary

    Advice to Management

    Be as transparent and positive as possible. It is a great way to keep teams motivated and excited about the current direction of the company

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We love that you highlighted co-workers and helping others as pros. Your time and service at Genworth is greatly appreciated.


  3. "Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - IT in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Intern - IT in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work/life balance
    People are phenomenal to be around
    Mike McGarry is a great leader for IT
    Soccer games at lunch

    Cons

    Company has been struggling to make a profit the last few years making it difficult to know if it'll be around long term

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how the company is looking for the future. Determine if it will be split into separate entities or maintained as a single company.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. We love that you included our people and soccer games during lunch on your list of pros. We appreciate your time and service here at Genworth, and wish you all the best in your ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Diversity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company is trying to change and create cultural awareness arount the topic of Diversity

    Cons

    Company needs to change lower management mentality

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  6. "Floundering Leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Best volunteer-oriented company I've ever heard experienced
    -Employees want to make a difference but don't have good leadership
    -Good work-life balance
    -Focused on ensuring the policyholder is the number one priority

    Cons

    -Horrendous corporate communication, from all levels of management
    -Floundering strategic vision and leadership to go with it
    -Management likes to willfully hide news about key developments (e.g. org announcements, corporate ratings, strategies, etc.) from their employees
    -Recent HR initiative to retitle and adjust employees' salaries was unfair and inequitable for current and any new employees
    -Laughable severance package

    Advice to Management

    Come down off your ivory tower and experience the company (or what's left) you're supposed to be leading from the front lines. Manage by walking around, not by leadership sequestration.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including your advice to leadership. We are now actively monitoring this page and will make sure they hear from employees.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forest, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Forest, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Genworth (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    - Associates care about other associates
    - Ability to self-educate as well as observe and learn
    - Learning and Development team worked hard to determine the immediate needs as well as upcoming needs, materials and platforms used to train associates improved significantly over the years
    - A lot of areas that provide platforms for learning, as well as being able to provide input

    Cons

    Areas of the business that fell short were upper management ability to stay connected to the associates, this could have been due to upper managmeent being immersed in developing an execution plan for strategy.

    The lack of retention abilities to retain talented individuals

    Disconnection between the Lynchburg and Richmond sites, operated separately and hard to bridge the gaps

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the strategy but DO NOT forget about the people that help those strategies come to fruition.

    Not to underestimate what employees are doing, management that lives in Richmond to stay connected to associates in Lynchburg.

    Hard decision have had to be made, but the hardest is employees recognizing the inability for management to make decisions, as well as employees observing infighting.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review, including advice to management. We are actively monitoring this page now and will be sure to share your advice with leadership.


  8. "Sales Leader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Leader in Mechanicsville, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Leader in Mechanicsville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Genworth (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team and leadership support. Competitive pay and benefits. Positively challenging work environment.

    Cons

    Frequently changes business focus/strategy. Must have an agile, positive mindset to work efficiently through change.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and wish you the best in your career.


  9. "Happily employed."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Specialist in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Resolution Specialist in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Company truly cares about employees and the community. Decent benefits, great vacation time, and paid volunteer time. Lots of paid holidays. Most customers are fantastic to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management needs restructuring. Some departments are clique-y. Annual review process is a headache, but bonuses and raises are decent. Cafeteria is very expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Management should shadow with employees from time to time to get a true understanding of what we do everyday. This would also give management a first hand experience of our customers compliments and complaints.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review, including your advice to management. We've started actively monitoring this page and will make sure they hear from employees. Your dedication and hard work to ... More


  10. "Application Development Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Development Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Applications Development Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement up to 7500 was 15K.
    Great location and campus
    Large company
    Many technologies used
    Pay is Ok

    Cons

    No clear direction
    Cut backs and layoffs
    Formal training is not always encouraged
    Career development lacking
    Bad moral currently due to lack of direction
    Overloaded workloads

    Advice to Management

    Take interest in employee growth
    Manage employees not only functions

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for your review, including the advice to management. We have begin actively monitoring this page and will be sure to share your advice.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Update"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingston, MA

    I worked at Genworth (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very strong personnel and a willingness to work together

    Cons

    Management lacks transparency and connection with employees; poor communication

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review. We love that you highlight a willingness to work together as a pro.



Showing 463 of 499 reviews
Reset Filters