Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor

Genworth Reviews

Updated April 17, 2017
463 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

463 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work life balance, competitive compensation (in 41 reviews)

  • Good benefits and working environment (in 45 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Marketing Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Marketing Forms Design Coordinator in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Marketing Forms Design Coordinator in Richmond, VA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Restructuring and cost cutting expenses led to a huge workforce reduction.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  2. "Sr. Benefit Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good team work, relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Company doing poorly. Layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Less emphasis on so many rules and complicated procedures.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  3. "Benefit analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Novato, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Novato, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Management care. Flexible hours. Casual dress. Lots of training. Some remote positions.

    Cons

    Closing company in California. All future jobs will be in Virginia.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for your review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Claims Authorization Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Claims Authorization Specialist in Lynchburg, VA
    Current Employee - Associate Claims Authorization Specialist in Lynchburg, VA

    I have been working at Genworth (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very customer focused and goes the extra mile for the customer.

    Cons

    Raises are insufficient. Career advancement is insufficient.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Glass Door"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Clean safe environment and welcoming to all.

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review! No cons? We love it! Thank you for your time and service at Genworth!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Rating of company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Associate in Appomattox, VA
    Former Employee - Accounting Associate in Appomattox, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Company has no thought for employees

    Advice to Management

    Tray the employees like real people

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time at Genworth.


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Test Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tester in Lynchburg, VA
    Former Employee - Tester in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Pay check, benefit package not too bad

    Cons

    No leadership, no financial plan, don't care about their employees, lack of communication, poor business sense, lack of accountability, money hunary executives

    Advice to Management

    Need to clean house and check your current leaders, attitude, skills and knowledge of there job and background. Communication or lack thereof of

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will share with leadership. Thank you for your time and service at Genworth.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Benefit Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Benefit Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Benefit Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Full time employment is offered

    Cons

    Communication form Higher Ups is not always transparent, and is often conflicting

    Advice to Management

    Honesty is the best policy

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  10. "Senior Case manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA

    I worked at Genworth (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great team environment to work in

    Cons

    some of management needed management training

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best in your career. We appreciate your service at Genworth.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Richmond, VA
    Former Employee - Intern in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Their HQ in Richmond was huge, and they had all kinds of amenities such as a gym w/ trainers, basketball courts, food made to order with a decent sized cafeteria, etc. HR did pretty well on trying to get us interns involved and showing us different aspects of the company.

    Cons

    My assigned supervisor sort of pawned me off to another manager in the tax department. There was never enough work for me to do, so I resorted to building boxes and filling them with previous years folders. The work was menial and unfulfilling.

    Advice to Management

    Interns want to be challenged and be given work that will give them experience.

    Genworth Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We will share your feedback with our leadership team.



Showing 463 of 499 reviews
Reset Filters