George Mason University Reviews | Glassdoor

George Mason University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 759 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ángel Cabrera
283 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay with minimal overall raises(in 32 reviews)

  • "There are no cons to working here(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GTA at GMU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Mason University part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -> flexible work schedule

    Cons

    -> pay is low when compared to other universities

    George Mason University2019-04-30
  2. "Needs Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at George Mason University full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free part time education Hours are pretty straight forward Good amount of time off

    Cons

    different departments can be clique-y for my taste Almost no chance for advancement or raise No real work from home available

    Advice to Management

    Upper Management needs to check on their middle management. Middle Management has a different idea on how Mason works and they run it that way. Upper Management has lofty ideas that only work if they force middle management to implement them.

    George Mason University2019-05-23
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at George Mason University part-time

      Pros

      Chill environment and they work with yu

      Cons

      no pay raise due to being a part time job

      George Mason University2019-05-22
    • "Diverse and Overall Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Fairfax, VA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at George Mason University part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Diverse Community, Division Support, Close to DC, Safe campus

      Cons

      While the pay is comparable to other schools, it could be higher for an actual living wage. There is a lot of construction happening on campus which makes navigating it hard. A surprising amount of conservative ideals for such a diverse community.

      George Mason University2019-05-17
    • "Flexible working time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Fairfax, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at George Mason University part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Very flexible working time and cool professors

      Cons

      Not a great health insurance. Also The university health center charges you for some procedures which I would expect should be free for students.

      Advice to Management

      Improve the health insurance plan. Adding dental health plans

      George Mason University2019-05-16
    • Helpful (1)

      ""But we've always done it this way.""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at George Mason University full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The benefits are solid, there's a state retirement (after 5 years) and there are no long/weekend hours.

      Cons

      The experience of working at Mason can vary greatly from department to department, but there are a number of constants regardless of department... paralysis by analysis, salary limitations causing under-hiring of less experienced staff etc. In the Office of Communications and Marketing, for example, there is a great deal of duplicitous behavior, passive-aggressive behavior, bullying, and if you're a creative, a complete...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire experience. Don't overthink every trivial decision.

      George Mason University2019-05-06
    • "Excellent Opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor for Python 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at George Mason University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Sorted life, understanding upper management.

      Cons

      No cons that I can think of

      George Mason University2019-04-18
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at George Mason University part-time

        Pros

        Great bosses and supervisors

        Cons

        Minimal hours sometimes but flexible schedule

        George Mason University2019-04-16
      • "Great working place for students"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - IT Support Specialist in Fairfax, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at George Mason University part-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Salary is not as low as what others think

        Cons

        No benefits for part-time employees

        George Mason University2019-04-17
      • "Relaxing office work for students"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        Former Employee - Library Student Office Assistant in Fairfax, VA
        Recommends

        I worked at George Mason University part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Really enjoyed my time working at the Fenwick library as an office assistant. Fairly easy work for student and got to work a lot with MS suite, tracking electronic resources and data usage on various platforms. No micromanaging and a fun, positive working environment.

        Cons

        None. Great to start gaining some work experience.

        George Mason University2019-04-15
      Found 759 reviews