George P. Johnson Reviews | Glassdoor

George P. Johnson Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 189 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
George P. Johnson CEO Chris Meyer
Chris Meyer
76 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Agency Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at George P. Johnson full-time

    Pros

    Creative culture. The people in the trenches with you are supportive.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance. Not enough tools or resources to get job done effectively.

    George P. Johnson2017-03-24
  2. Helpful (6)

    "NOT WORTH IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design in Torrance, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at George P. Johnson

    Pros

    Pretty obvious how this company actually runs. Look at all of the other poor reviews they have received.

    Cons

    Politics and favoritism Long Hours No time to breathe No guidance or training High turnover rate

    George P. Johnson2017-04-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Too Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at George P. Johnson full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    No day is ever the same, its always new. Even project or events I've done before, each year presented new and different challenges.

    Cons

    They have not figured out how to staff correctly and what the appropriate trajectory and/or appreciation is for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Don't overload people, its burns them out quickly before they can grasp all that there is to learn about the company or the industry.

    George P. Johnson2017-03-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at George P. Johnson full-time

      Pros

      Employees are great and encouraging.

      Cons

      Not much of a work life balance unless you are used to the industry.

      George P. Johnson2017-03-06
    • Helpful (5)

      "Love this job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at George P. Johnson full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      GPJ has incredible energy and really great people. Everyone from top to bottom in the company exudes positivity and seems to really like what they are doing. Having dogs in the office is awesome and so is the flexible hours.

      Cons

      The work is stressful when you don't feel like you have enough time to do your best work. Clients have unrealistic demands and budgets to create the end result they want.

      George P. Johnson2017-01-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great experience, but depends on role"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Special Events Coordinator in San Carlos, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at George P. Johnson full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I've learned a lot at GPJ, but I've also been very grateful to be in a role and be able to work on accounts that allow me to grow. But the hours are flexible especially when it's not show season. I like the people I work with.

      Cons

      It's difficult to move up and be promoted. You don't make enough for the amount of time you put into the job. I know others who were stuck, unable to get on new accounts/projects and that was a big reason as to why they left.

      George P. Johnson2017-01-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "3d designer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - 3D Designer 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at George P. Johnson

      Pros

      good comunity, good people, flexible time

      Cons

      nothing to say about Cons.

      George P. Johnson2017-01-11
    • Helpful (4)

      ""Engineering""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Picture Drawer in Torrance, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at George P. Johnson full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Not one single thing. Dark offices like a closet. Weird management. Oh, it's right off the freeway. Some people are nice.

      Cons

      They'll use you up and toss you out. Company this large can't seem to break the work culture they're stuck in and the old timers just milk it for everything they can get from it. Not worth it.

      Advice to Management

      Retire

      George P. Johnson2017-02-17
    • Helpful (7)

      "DO NOT WORK HERE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at George P. Johnson

      Pros

      They advertise unlimited vacation at the office. You most likely will never be able to take one based on the work load.

      Cons

      If you are looking to have a work/life balance or any time for yourself including sleep DO NOT WORK HERE. Long hours & unmanageable expectations. Unorganized chaos and poor communication in office. Egos run high.

      Advice to Management

      Take responsibility

      George P. Johnson2017-01-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "GPJ Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at George P. Johnson

        Pros

        Exciting work, excellent people, flexibility

        Cons

        lack of training practices, take too much work

        George P. Johnson2016-11-07
      Found 189 reviews